We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (936)
Filter reviews
936 results
Traveller rating
490
368
54
10
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
490
368
54
10
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews apple tv convention center bagels continental breakfast desktop computer hard boiled eggs great location free wifi old town hardwood floors the congress exposed concrete palais de congres modern hotel key card within walking distance glass shower
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 936 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2018

We stayed at this hotel for three nights and loved the space and comfort of our room. The hotel is very well appointed and well priced. There is a building site opposite the hotel at the moment but we were not bothered by the noise at all.
We loved the fact that we had an easy walk to the old part of the city and like wise, an easy walk to Rue de Catherine and shopping areas, restaurants and the Chinese area of the city. Montreal is a good walking city.
Breakfasts are basic and that's okay because you have many, many French/Canadian restaurants and cafes to choose from close by for your lunch and dinner.
Staff at the hotel were very helpful and extremely obliging. We were very happy first time visitors to Montreal.

Room tip: there is a washing machine and dryer on site and its free to hotel guests - how very civilised.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank pointopoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

I spent four nights at Le Dauphin in connection with a conference at the nearby "Palais de Congres," Montreal's convention center. My stay was thoroughly enjoyable from the first moment to the last. I can be a pretty demanding reviewer of hotels but Le Dauphin passed with flying colors on all counts.

The hotel has a small, non-descript facade facing the street that does not lead one to expect the excellence within. As soon as you step through the doors, however, you are in a clean, modern and tasteful interior that embodies simplicity, comfort and efficiency.

Both check-in and check-out went smoothly. Hotel staff were friendly and courteous throughout.

My room was spacious, well-appointed and comfortable. The large king-sized bed provided a relaxing and quiet sleep every night of my stay. This is notable because a large construction project was under way directly across the street from my room but it never disturbed me. The modern bathroom was also spacious and functional. High-speed wireless internet is free and connects with no password or up-charges for higher speeds. The desk in the room was right-sized for the business traveler.

The hotel offers a complimentary European-style breakfast in a large dining room that never seems crowded. Americans expecting hot eggs, waffles and sausages will be disappointed, but if you are looking for a nice mix of cereals, breads, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs and beverages you will be pleased with the offerings.

The hotel has a small but functional fitness center - four machines for aerobic workout and a small weight and stretching area.

There are a number of restaurants near the hotel, but if you are willing to walk about half a mile down to the waterfront along the St. Lawrence River there is a wider selection of bars and restaurants there. The walk will take you through one of the more historic districts in town. Montreal has a well-developed bike share system with kiosks within minutes of the hotel.

Should I return to Montreal the Hotel Le Dauphin will be my first choice again.

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank JCTfromDEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxime A, Gérant at Hotel Le Dauphin Montreal Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear JCTfromDEN,

Thank you for taking your time to write this excellent review of our hotel.

We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed staying at our hotel.

Hope seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

This hotel has everything we want when visiting Montreal: excellent location, a 5 minute walk to rue St.Paul and the old city; underground parking across the street at the Convention Centre, and the front desk has a system that guarantees you won't pay more than $22/day; modern rooms with attractive minimalist decor in new section of the hotel;
nutritious continental breakfast, 'til 10a.m. on weekdays, and 11 on weekend; friendly, helpful staff; reasonable rates considering the location.

Room tip: Ask for room in renovated part of hotel - modern, spacious
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MBD48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxime A, Gérant at Hotel Le Dauphin Montreal Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear MBD48,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We are happy to see that we are now your favorite hotel in Montreal! We work hard everyday to make our guests feel like home.

We hope seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

Boutique style hotel with spacious rooms. Large walk-in shower in a large bathroom. Comfortable bed. Loved the rocking chair in the sitting area near the large windows (had a corner room). Included Mac computer in every room. Continental breakfast included. Fairly well equipped fitness area. Very friendly, extremely helpful staff.
Walking distance to Old Montreal, Notre Dame and Bell Centre. A number of good restaurants nearby. Close to the Montreal Convention Centre (Palais de congres de Montreal) which has access to the Metro and a large number of retail shops.
Very impressed with the Hotel Le Dauphin Montreal Centre-Ville. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room tip: Corner room has two windows.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank laraluvsU2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxime A, Gérant at Hotel Le Dauphin Montreal Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear laraluvsU2,


Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel.

We are happy to see that you staying at Le Dauphin. We are constantly working very hard to make our guest's feel like home.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

This review is a year late but from the sounds of it, it hasn't changed. Stayed her June 2017. At the time here are the highlights:
- Clean, clean and clean. One of the cleanest hotels I've ever stayed in
- service was amazing from the minute of check in to the minute we left. They even held our bags since we arrived from Toronto at 8 a.m. and had a great system to ensure your bags were safe
- you can't get a better location. You're at the halfway point between Old Montreal and Montreal. It's also close walking distance to China Town. Close walking to everything. We only used uber to get to the casino!
- continental breakfast was great. Selection was good and was so nice to have it right in the hotel
- the room and bed was super comfy (at least for my liking)
- bathroom was clean and the upkeep was great
- love that they have the laminate floors and not carpet

Cons:
- a year later and I can't think of one

Bottom line: if you're visiting Montreal, want to be in walking distance to pretty much everything, stay here. You won't be disappointed. Great value for the money and then some.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kimmie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxime A, Gérant at Hotel Le Dauphin Montreal Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear Kimmie G,

Thank you for taking your time to write this detailled review of our hotel.

We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed staying at Le Dauphin.

We hope seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews