We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Neighborhood Stay”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Montreal, Quebec

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
toomuchsn...
cleveland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood Stay”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My family which included me, one teen, one 7 year-old, my brother (40s), and my 75ish year-old parents stayed here for five nights at the end of July.
I must say that prior to my signing the contract, after I signed the contract and after our stay, the connection and help that we received from the owners (Freddie and Joanna) of the cottage was excellent. They guided me in staying when rates could be lowest possible for me, answered questions very soon after I asked them via e-mail, and were very considerate in asking about my youngest daughter's allergies as we did sign up for the breakfast option offered. Although they did help me schedule my trip to economize as best as possible, I did feel it was a little expensive. But it seemed to be the consensus for all of Montreal during the high season.
Breakfast is brought in (your choice of time) through a common door shared by the next door apartment by a woman named Mimi. She is Québequoise, is warm, helpful and generous. She offered a cart to take to the local supermarket and helped us whenever we had questions regarding the apartment. She created lovely fruit displays for breakfast as well.
We had three meals in the neighborhood (all on Laurier St.) and they were all very good. We ate at Byblos, a Middle Eastern restaurant, a cafe (name forgotten but next to Byblos) and Tri Express (Japanese/Sushi). We were very satisfied with all of our meals there. It was nice to know that after touring the sites of the city, we could return to the neighborhood and have a great meal.
The best part of the neighborhood to us, was the boulangerie just around the corner. Breads of all kinds, baguettes, fisselles, crossants, chocolatines, and all kinds of delicious pastries and a deli part to make sandwiches and quiches. Delicious. We did visit daily.
The apartment itself was well furnished. There were 6 of us, and we all slept well in comfortable beds. There were 4 queen beds and a futon and two bathrooms with shower/bath (one upstairs and one downstairs by the kitchen). There was a spacious kitchen and dining area to seat at least 8. There were also washer/dryer available downstairs in the basement.
Montreal is not terribly big, but I would say that for our group, had we not had our car, the walk to the metro would have been too long for us. I think that it would really be about a 15 minute walk, and after touring all day, it would have been too much for our group. Keep in mind that the youngest was 7 and the oldest about 76.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Service
Liked least: it was a little far for us to get to the metro
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby P
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Comfortable, convenient apartment”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

the apartment was clean and very conveniently located, close to shops and plenty of restaurants and bars. it was a bit tight for our group of nine, but everybody had a place to sleep and the second bathroom was absolutely necessary. the roof deck is a nice plus, and the layout generally makes it such that you don't all need to be on top of one another all the time. recommended for sure.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2014
Please note that this review was done by mistake for the wrong apartment. both those apartments are in the same area but this review pertains to a 2 bedroom-2 bath on 3 levels that we have also listed on Trip Advisor. Thank you for leaving a review nevertheless.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdemott
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
“Le Laurier Cottage is comfortable, clean, roomy and conveniently located.”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I recently stayed at Le Laurier Cottage with my wife, our four children and our adult friend. We were there for seven nights. The house was perfect for our needs.

We made good use of the four bedrooms and two bathrooms. We were glad to have a full kitchen, which allowed us to dine in some of the time to save expenses. The adjoining living rooms had ample seating for us. We were pleased to have laundry facilities in the basement. The window-unit air conditioners were useful on the warm days. The sheets and towels provided were ample and appreciated. We should have brought wash cloths, but forgot.

We opted to pay a little extra to have continental breakfast provided by our neighbor Mimi, which was well worth it. We enjoyed the plentiful food and Mimi was very pleasant and helpful.

The notable challenge was parking. Due to our group size, we rented a large Ford Expedition. Rue Garnier is a residential street with parking on both sides. Most cars are small. Finding an open spot for our beast of a vehicle was a concern. The first night we arrived, I circled for roughly 45 minutes to get a spot. But, we were able to park nearby on our street each day.

With many things in walking distance, as well as the buses, bikes and metro, a car is not necessary, although we preferred having the convenience with children in our group. We walked to the park, nearby restaurants and stores, the ice cream shop and the metro station.

Freddie and Joanna were a delight to work with. They answered many questions as I planned our trip. They were always prompt and thorough with responses. Le Laurier Cottage helped make our stay in Montreal a great one. If we were to return, I would certainly contact them again for accommodations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, space, amenities
Liked least: Parking
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this and help our future guests. We have been so grateful to have had you and your family stay in our home. You will be welcome back anytime with open arms and hopefully we can secure parking for you ahead of time! Thanks again!

Freddie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva H
1 review
“Fabulous Location in a Great Neighbourhood!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We found the Cottage on le Plateau to be perfect for the six of us. (2 couples & 2 singles) Visiting Montreal for the Formula 1 Grand Prix; it was great to escape the crowds at the track and return to this lovely neighborhood in the early evening. Nice bistros & small restaurants at the end of our street. Metro station was a pleasant 12 minute stroll away. Groceries and wine also very close by. Loved the backyard with good bbq - and the kitchen had everything we needed. Continental breakfast brought by the charming Mimi from next door, all we had to do was turn on the coffee maker! Beds were comfortable and the whole cottage has a charming feel to it.
Dealing with Freddie was a pleasure - from initial contact, to payment process and final information package, he was excellent and very informative. The lockbox for the key makes check in and out so easy for everyone. We hope to come back next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location & neighborhood
Liked least: A/C units quite noisy - turned ours off & opened window instead.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2014
Thanks guys! We cant wait to have you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca J
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Our two families with small children stayed for the weekend. It was wonderful to be so close to a park, grocery store and within walking distance of the Metro. We appreciated having two bathrooms, the outdoor patio and green space as well. The large kitchen and dining area were fantastic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2014
It was wonderful to have you. Come back soon!

Freddie and Joanna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$238
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing