We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 512)
Filter reviews
2 512 results
Traveller rating
1 695
721
70
16
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 695
721
70
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full kitchen family suite bagels high ceilings continental breakfast old montreal top floor valet parking rooftop pool laundry room dining table rooms are huge within walking distance downtown montreal minute walk one bedroom suite underground city
Filter
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 2 512 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Even though this hotel came highly recommended to us it still managed to far exceed expectations!

The location couldn’t have been better. It is right in downtown and a quick 10-15 min walk to Old Town. It gives you a ton of dining, shopping and entertainment options close to the hotel. Plus Old town had a LOT of construction happening as they are restoring quite a few buildings for the big anniversary so It was nice to leave that all behind at the end of the day.

The rooms themselves were HUGE and well appointed. It was also incredibly clean. I did find the mattress to be really firm and as a result I didn’t have the best sleep but my husband had no such problems so I can’t dock them too much on that as it is personal preference.

The staff we encountered were all helpful, friendly and easy to communicate with plus someone is always around to answer questions or give directions.

There is also complimentary breakfast which was a nice start to the day. It was a good selection of bread/bagels/muffins as well as cereals, yogurt and fruit. The breakfast room itself is huge and there were always plenty of places to sit. Tables were promptly cleaned and there was always coffee!

If I ever come back I would definitely stay here again. It was one of my favourite hotels! Highly recommend!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Janesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Fully agree with previous 5* Reviews. Hotel is in a fantastic central location so you can walk almost everywhere (we love walking). Spotlessly clean throughout and unbelievably quiet - you forget your bang in the centre. Fantastic big bedroom - probably the best out of the 8 hotels we stayed in during our extended trip across Canada - we had not expected to have a fully fitted kitchen: cooker, fridge/ freezer,dining table etc. We stayed 4 nights and, like others, we used the valet parking and never moved the car. Staff very friendly and we enjoyed taking a couple of hours in the afternoon to rest and relax at the pool on the roof (very peaceful). Nothing to do with the Hotel, but we'd horrible experience driving into Montreal - the Motorway exit was closed off and our GPS Sat Nav redirected us around some pretty horrible 'manic' Motorways etc - but no matter where the Sat Nav re-directed us and many miles of driving around... any exit it brought is to was also temporarily closed off, We were completely stressed and were close to giving up and just driving on to Quebec City when, luckily for us, we came across an accident. So we stopped and asked the Police. The Officer guy very patiently gave us directions to get to Sherbrook Street & he assured us our GPS would then pick directions up - and it did. We've driven everywhere virtually - Washington DC, New York, Boston, Toronto, London and across Europe - but never anything as stressful as Montreal. ( I only wish I'd noted the Officer's name as we'd have liked to now record our thanks - and let his bosses know).

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nornironal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

In the center of Montreal, awesome staff, amazing pool (which is in the top floor and is perfect for kids) and very nice rooms. There was good valet service for car and just by walking you are able to access multiple good sight and enjoy the city restaurants.

Only small minus comes from the breakfast, there should be a little more wider selection and the logistics (seating etc.) in the area rethought.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MahonenTravellingFIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We stayed at the Phillips Square Hotel for 6 nights. I was impressed from the start when the front desk acknowledged the type of room I requested when I made my online reservation.

We had a loft suite which was very spacious! In addition to the bedroom area with a king size bed, there was a large sitting area and a spacious bathroom. The bed was very, very firm. Be aware if you do not like a firm bed. The full kitchen was a very welcome addition. It included a full size refrigerator, coffee pot, microwave, dishwasher and stove, plus dishes and utensils for 4 people.

Our suite was immaculate when we arrived and was kept clean throughout our stay by Nynon, the housekeeper. All of the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Felix at the concierge desk was helpful in explaining sites and how to get around the city.

The location is close to the McGill Metro stop, which we used often, and a 10-15 minute walk to Old Montreal.

There is an additional fee for parking, which is by valet. We parked our car and never moved it until it was time to leave. The extensive Metro system allowed us to get to all of the places we were interested in safely and efficiently.

The only negative was the included continental breakfast. It was not of very good quality. The physical arrangement of the breakfast room made it difficult to get through the line.

We would definitely stay here again!

Room tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor to avoid some of the street noise.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cmb72015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Stayed for 5 nights. Location was very good. Central location made it an easy walk to the Old Town, Waterfront, Chinatown and shopping. Hotel was excellent. Good sized room, comfy bed and suitable sized ensuite. Very basic breakfast, but was OK. Would stay again.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews