We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (576)
Filter reviews
576 results
Traveller rating
291
227
41
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
291
227
41
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peel street great location peel metro station full kitchen breakfast staff free breakfast waffle maker mcgill university small kitchen breakfast room mount royal montreal downtown parking garage good size the sofa bed walking distance bell centre
Filter
Updating list...
345 - 350 of 576 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2016

This Marriott is one of the best for guest relations, location, and amenities. Renovated with care and dedication by their long-time employees, the staff is caring and detailed. The front desk took care of a women traveling alone, the breakfast staff is welcoming and full of ideas for what to see, and the manager appreciative of my gratitude. Everyone should be applauded!

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schmis04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontrealRI, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2016

Dear Schmis04, thank you so much for your review about your stay at our hotel. We are thrilled to learn that our entire team made your stay an enjoyable experience. Our goal is to give you the best customer service and your satisfaction is our greatest reward. Your kind words were shared with the entire team and we hope that we will have the chance to host you once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016

The Residence Inn Montreal has just reopened from its remodel: new lobby, upgraded rooms, and renovated breakfast room. The staff is still warm and friendly and, of course, the location is excellent, near shopping and Metro (Subway) stations. Unfortunately, they still have VERY small, very slow elevators. So if you plan to stay here, I would recommend staying either on a low floor or right at the top, so that if you want to check out when people are going down for the free breakfast (which is better than in most hotels), you either can get in the elevator, or are low enough to carry your bags down to the lobby.

Room tip: During the morning the elevators tend to be full, so either ask for a very high floor (so you are on first) or a low floor, and walk down.
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sjbenoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontrealRI, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2016

Dear Sjbenoit, we want to thank you very much for your comments about your stay with us. We did reopened in February last year from 16 month renovation and we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our bran new hotel. Our staff is the only thing that did not change. Our team is always available and happy to help you with anything you will need during your stay on what to do, what to see, where to go and where to eat. We do offer complementary breakfast for all our guest with hot and cold items. Whether you prefer a full breakfast, with eggs, potatoes, sausages, bagels or just a fruit, a yoghurt and a coffee, we try to please each of our guests. If you want to request a higher or a lower floor, our team is always trying to fulfill your demands. Please request it when making your reservation and we will do our best to give you the best room. We hope that we will see you again on your next visit to Montreal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016

Just finished a four-night stay here and would gladly return. This hotel is in a terrific location in the western part of the downtown area, just steps from the Peel Metro Station, which makes reaching most of Montreal by Metro and/or bus a breeze. Our room was a spacious studio with a functional kitchenette that was well-equipped with basic appliances and utensils. The bed was extremely comfortable.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We arrived several hours before check-in, and though our room was not ready, by the time we returned from grabbing an early lunch, they had expedited housekeeping and our bags were waiting in the room.

The lack of sufficient elevators is a drawback. There are only three for the entire building and no service elevators, and they can get somewhat overwhelmed at peak times. So, be sure to budget an extra 10 minutes during the "rush hours" if you have to be anywhere at a set time.

The breakfast, while certainly adequate, was uninspiring, and the set-up of the breakfast room leads to some chaos at busy times when the staff are falling all over the guests to restock the rapidly-disappearing food and beverage. Another minor ding is that they never addressed a maintenance issue (no power in the sockets above the counter in the kitchenette) that I complained about after the first night.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jackosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontrealRI, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2016

Dear jackosan, thank you very much for your comments about your last stay with us. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your four-night stay with us. Our goal is to give you the best service and we are always looking from feedback from our guests. We are located downtown close to many sight seeing, restaurants, park, museums, university and the metro is right in the corner of the street for you to access any places in Montreal. As part of the Residence Inn brand, all our room have a full equipped kitchen, the only thing missing is the food to cook. Our check in time is at 4pm, however if the room is ready before 4pm, we will be delighted to give you an early check in, otherwise we do have a luggage room available to store your luggage until your room gets ready. We do offer for each of our guest a full hot and cold complementary breakfast. Our breakfast strictly follows Marriott standards and we try to please everyone with diverse items. As it is included for everyone, it can get busy in certain hours of the morning. We are really sorry to learn that no one came to your room to fix the power, it is not up to our standards. We are happy that regardless to that inconvenience, we were able to make your stay enjoyable and we hope to welcome you another time in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Located within walking distance of Grand Central Station, Metro stop, Mont Royal, Fine Arts museum and many restaurants and bars. Allowed for easy access to city. We stayed in smaller one bed suite. Plenty of space for two. Room was clean, bed and pillows comfortable, shower was outstanding. Staff was friendly, helpful and spoke english.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontrealRI, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2016

Dear Andrew L, thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Residence Inn Downtown Montreal. We are glad to hear that you had a great stay with us. We are located downtown and as you mentioned walking distance to so many sight seeing. We do have different categories of room depending on how many people you are ; however, all our room have a full equipped kitchen for you to be able to cook. Our team is always available to help you and are all bilingual (French and English), and we also have employees who speak Spanish, Chinese, Portuguese, Russian and Polish. We hope that we will be your host again in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016

This is a great hotel situated in a great location. Walking distance to a bunch of things, shopping, restaurants, bars, parks.
The staff was also always very helpful and pleasant.
The only downside was the off-site parking situation but that is not unusual for downtown Montreal so I expect that.
Overall, this hotel is highly recommended if you want to stay in the downtown core.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeaponH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontrealRI, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2016

Dear WeaponH, thank you very much for writing a review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to learn that we succeeded in making your stay an enjoyable experience. We are located downtown, walking distance to many restaurants, shopping malls, museums, university, the Bell Center, the Mont Royal, bars and clubs, even the Old Montreal is only 25min away. Our staff is always aware of what is going on in the city and will be pleased to give you advice during your stay. We do not have any parking on site, that is why we work with a public parking really close by. Our contract is to give you unlimited in and out access charged to your room directly for $25.00 plus taxes per night. As there is not connection between us and the public parking, we do have an unloading zone in front of the hotel for you to settle in the room before parking your car. We hope that we will have to chance to welcome you once more on your next visit to Montreal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews