We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, Bright, Clean and Convenient”
other travellers have booked this property
Entryway
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entryway
Entryway
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Entryway
Entryway
Dining Room
Dining Room
2nd Floor Bedroom King Bed
2nd Floor Bedroom
2nd Floor Bedroom
2nd Floor Bedroom
2nd Floor Main Bath
2nd Floor Main Bath
3rd Floor Den
3rd Floor Bedroom King Bed
3rd Floor Bedroom
3rd Floor Bedroom
3rd Floor Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
CynthiaKi...
Charlottetown, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Bright, Clean and Convenient”
Reviewed 24 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This gorgeous home was my headquarters during a few days in August while my own home was being renovated.
I chose to rent this place because of the location, so close to everything. What I didn't expect was such a beautiful home with extra care to style, cleanliness and spaciousness.
The owners were very helpful and ensured I had everything I needed to make my stay comfortable and convenient.
Highlights - great kitchen! Comfy and bright living room. Stunning bathroom. Spotless throughout and a very comfortable king bed!
I would highly recommend this home to visitors and Islanders alike looking for clean, comfort, beauty and convenience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2014
Thank you for the excellent review. It was a pleasure to host you and we were pleased we could offer some respite from your renovation. We would love to host you again in future so please keep us in mind.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K w
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“DIRTY KITCHEN”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The positive about this accommodation is that it is near the harbour and centre of Charlottetown. Also, it has off street parking.

The negatives:

We were greeted by Craig when we arrived at the house. It is in a residential area in the old part of the town.

When I walked in the house is furnished with dark furniture and the walls are fairly dark in colour as well. (personal taste so not a criticism)

The kitchen - there were lots of flies in the kitchen and upon further investigation when Craig left I discovered that the kitchen cupboards were dirty - the pots, pans etc had not been cleaned prior to our arrival. I put them in the dishwasher only to discover that it did not work! The dishwasher was blocked and circulated dirty water! I was not told that it did not work - when I spoke to Chris he said that a new one was on order - It never arrived during out stay.

The fridge - was full of other peoples left over food - it had not been cleaned out and smelt of vinegar - there were lots of jars of pickled products etc. The freezer has a frozen chicken - 4/5 tubs of left over ice cream and some stuff in tubs which I could not identify!

The rest of the house was okay although I did find it a bit creepy at night.

NO CABLE TV! the only TV in the house was on the top floor - it only worked if you connected it to your laptop and watched tv via the internet!

I did not have a big laptop only a small notebook and it was not compatible.

I was really upset and went to the grocery store and purchased cleaning products and rubber gloves. I sent Craig a text message he appeared to be surprised that I found the kitchen dirty. He asked me to elaborate but given the standard of the cleaning I decided to undertake the task myself.

I asked Craig if it was okay to empty the fridge and throw out all the old stuff he said yes but said he would come the following day and clear out the freezer

It took me most of the night to clean the kitchen (then I only tackled certain cupboards and washed by hand (given the dishwasher did not work) the pots and dishes etc that I intended to use.

Craig came the next day when we was out and cleared the freezer and washed the kitchen floor again.

Chris offered to find me alternative accommodation as I was not happy however, I have a son with Autism and I could not move to a normal hotel room I needed a two bedroom suite/apartment. The only one he would find with availability was the Best Western however, when I visited it the second bedroom had a kitchen in it and it would not have been suitable for our needs.

Therefore, I had to stay at the the house.

After a couple of days Craig did give me his netflix account details so that my son could watch tv / films on my small notebook laptop.

I was pleased when we left and I am sure Craig and Chris were pleased as well.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2014
We remain confused that despite immediately replying to your text and offering to return to the house right away to do further cleaning you chose instead to ignore the text and then respond hours later with emails complaining that you had spent the entire evening cleaning the kitchen.

On the second day of your stay, after returning to the house to clean out the freezer (which you didn’t use), mop the floors for the second time in as many days, remove items that you felt were unsanitary (the wooden cutting board) and replenish paper towels, it became quite clear that perhaps our rental wasn’t suitable for your needs.

At that point we offered to refund your entire stay (including the night that you had already used) and to find you an alternate place to spend your remaining days in Charlottetown. Despite finding a hotel suite at the Best Western for you that met the specifications you outlined during one of our many phone conversations and making the arrangements for you to view it, you called us back and told us that you didn’t like it and would prefer to stay at our rental. You did not have to stay in our home, it was a choice you made.

There was indeed food in the fridge and freezer, but it was not perishable. As you indicated, it was mostly preserves and condiments. Previous guests had left these items, and instead of being wasteful and throwing them out every week we leave them for incoming guests to use. In our experience renters often appreciate having access to these types of ‘extras’ instead of having to purchase them themselves. In the past, we’ve had many guests thank us for having these items on hand for them to use.

As for the Cable TV, you are correct. We do not have it, nor do we advertise that we do. If having access to Cable TV was a priority for you, then you should have referred more closely to our ad, as it is clearly not indicated as one of the amenities that we offer. When you voiced your complaint about the lack of cable we immediately gave you our login information for our personal Netflix account – which we feel was a workable solution to the situation.

With regards to your comments about the dark walls, dark furniture, and finding the house ‘creepy’ at night – we are quite honestly at a loss. As you can see from the pictures on our ad, our furniture is mostly white (or light colours) and the walls are painted in predominantly light colours.

In one of the 17 emails that we received, you mentioned your son, his special needs, and the fact that he does not like ‘dirty places’. Our house is not dirty and this is reflected in many of the reviews that we have online from previous guests (both on this site, and Homeaway), many of whom specifically mention how clean our rental is.

That being said, we do understand that cleanliness is subjective, and it is quite clear that despite our efforts, we were not able to meet your specific requirements (having cupboards lined with paper towel, wrapping silverware in paper towel etc.) Perhaps, in future, communicating these very specific and precise needs to owners before renting their property would alleviate some of your frustration and allow you to have a more comfortable stay.

We have quite successfully accommodated special requests such as yours in the past (including allergies, chemical sensitivities, etc…) and are disappointed that you didn’t give us the chance to try and meet your requirements and instead chose to turn down our offers and then continue to complain about your situation.

We are experienced hosts and both work in the service industry. I work in Quality Assurance for PEI’s only luxury boutique hotel, and Craig is the Food & Beverage Director for a 5 star premium cruise line (and is a trained chef and certified food safety instructor). We clearly understand the importance of cleanliness and providing a quality experience for our guests, and are very confident in the product that we offer.

In the end, our number one goal is that people are happy and comfortable in our rental and we are disappointed that you were not; however, we feel that we did everything in our power to try and rectify the issues that you brought forward. We were responsive, returned to the house to do further cleaning, offered to give you a complete refund, offered to find you an alternate place to stay, and in the end none of it was enough.

Once again, our apologies for not being able to meet your needs.

We wish you all the best with your future rentals.

Christopher and Craig
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Reviewed 6 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hampton
Reviewed 19 February 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Feb 2014
Thanks Bobby. It was great hosting you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
VDumais
Rimouski, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. It was as pleasure hosting you and your family and we hope to have you back again one day. Have a good fall/winter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing