We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 632)
Filter reviews
1 632 results
Traveller rating
395
785
298
106
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
395
785
298
106
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrideau centrealbion roomsbyward marketgreat locationparliament hillbreakfast buffetwalking distanceking bedfront desk staffjunior suiterenovated roomhotel lobbycentral locationtwo blocksdecent hotelheart of downtownles suites
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 1 632 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Clean and comfortable room. A little on the small side. Very modern furnishings . Excellent breakfast. Helpful staff. Had a fire alarm and were evacuated briefly. Staff were very professional during this.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We have been traveling to Ottawa to visit our daughter at University for the past 4 years and never stayed here and wish we had. We stayed in a newly renovated King room and although it was a bit small we didn’t mind as we were only there to sleep. It was very clean and quiet. The one thing that really appealed to me was late checkout. Checkout is at noon and you can checkout late for $10 an hour. We didn’t get back until 2:45pm and they only charged us $20. I think all hotels should follow this principle. Staff were very friendly and helpful and actually seem to like their jobs. We are back the end of April and June for a couple more nights. The location is perfect. It’s right in the Byward and if you are there as a tourist it’s perfect.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Brit W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelOttawa, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago


Dear Brit W,

Glad to hear your stay went so well, I take it you will be switching to the Novotel Ottawa Hotel for the remaining years your daughter is studying... the pleasure is all ours, we look forward to you having anouther fantastic stay with us,

Regards

Raman Virk
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

This was a great home base for sightseeing, got a good deal. Very nice clean rooms, friendly staff with helpful info, and a few heads ups and accommodations which made our stay better. We used the pool and fitness room, our teen loved it, and we were all impressed with the sleek modern decor. Well done!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

Our room was small, but clean. I'm sure there are bigger options, but we opted for a 2-double bed room. It was quiet and across the street from the Rideau Centre. Lots of restaurants within a five minute walk. My only criticism is the lack of mini fridge in the room; there was a drink "cooler" that was barely cooler than the room temperature.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is not near the ice cooler, elevator, or on the way to the pool (5th floor)
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

They could do better. When I booked three rooms for two nights for our family, we got the rooms close to each other, but they all face the roof of lobby or another lower building, we had to close the curtain all the time to avoid the ugly view.
The rooms are okay, not renovated recently. Maybe you would feel some modern in the lobby but not in the rooms, they were last century.
If you drive, check the parking, default one at the back of the hotel under another building, not connected. If you drive a higher car (5'10“ if I remember correctly), you need to check if the height of your car can fit the lower level parking lot, or if you are lucky to get one of the limited (higher) spots on the first level. The parking across the street under the department stores are big, but hotel's default one allows multiple entrance. Neither is free though.
Good thing of this location is it's in the walking distance to the Parliament Hill and surrounding attractions. A huge shopping mall is just across the street. Chinatown is not far away as well.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank AboveToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews