We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (625)
Filter reviews
625 results
Traveller rating
334
215
58
16
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
334
215
58
16
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waffle maker breakfast room no elevator tim hortons hard boiled eggs free breakfast fresh baked cookies clean rooms two double beds stay there again great place to stay yogurt the main drag downtown area visiting niagara on the lake stayed one night shaw festival
Filter
Updating list...
209 - 214 of 625 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Hotel is conveniently located in NOTL. Great, friendly reception staff. Room was spotlessly clean and had WiFi, however connection to WiFi could be sporatic. Great breakfast included with room rate, with a wide selection of food available. Can eat outside on porch in summer months. Hotel can provide vouchers for wine tastings at several wineries.. Hotel restaurant (bar/grill) serves excellent food. Would highly recommend hotel!

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

It was great to be back at the Colonel Butler Inn and it was as good as the last visit. Prior to arrival, I received an email asking if I needed and earlier check in time or if I had a preference to what floor I wanted to stay on. The breakfast is is good quality and good variety and the waffles are brilliant. All in all, excellent service. Can't wait for my next visit!

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank CarMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derrickbw, General Manager at Best Western Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us again for your visit to Niagara. I'm glad you had such a perfect stay. Yes, our make-your-own Belgium waffles are a big hit with guests. We look forward to your visit next summer!

Derrick Medcalf, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

We could not have been happier with this lovely little hotel that is so "doggie friendly". When we finally checked in at 10pm, they handed us a lovely navy blue small shopping bag with a large handmade tag saying "Matty", cut in the shape of a doggie treat. Inside were treats, a toy and poop bags for Matty my friend's little dog (who is so cute and does not bark!) That she had rescued 2 weeks before our trip to Magnetawan, Ontario.
The room had a lovely doggie bed in front of a full length mirror and Matty loved looking at himself. The airconditioning was great and there were 2 queen sized beds - perfect! And they gave a great AAA Discount. They served a free breakfast with the AAA discount and we could take it and the dog up to the 2nd floor balcony outside the next morning instead of sitting inside (where it got a bit crowded with kids by the time we checked out to be "on the road again and heading north"). They had wonderful waffles with blackberries, strawberries, and raspberries for toppings with whipped cream! Also good fruit, yogurt, and cereal. All good! And such a great start for our road trip. They could not have been nicer there and we're lovely. We will be back (hopefully soon)!!!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank SailingGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016

My husband and I booked two nights during our first visit to Niagara-on-the-Lake.The staff at the front desk upon arrival and leaving were very welcoming and friendly.The room was spacious and L-shaped. The couch and armchair looked like they needed a good cleaning and crumbs on the walls needed wiping. The ottoman made of black vinyl was torn and peeling. The queen bed was very comfortable.The complimentary breakfast was fine. The only hot item was a waffle machine. All eggs were hard boiled. We enjoyed eating breakfast out on the front veranda each morning.
The location was good for us to explore downtown as well as the winery we had planned to visit 2km away. At a cost of over $300. per night, this is not good value so we would not recommend it.

Room tip: The breakfast room at one end of the first floor has access to a front veranda with tables to eat outside.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SooMarie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derrickbw, General Manager at Best Western Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2016

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. On behalf of the Colonel Butler Inn team, we apologize that we didn't meet your expectations. I have removed the ottoman that was in the room and we will be replacing the sofa and armchair. Please know that our rates are very competitive for Niagara on the Lake especially since our rates include breakfast, parking, wi-fi, and use of a fitness room while most hotels do not include all those features within their rate. We do hope that you will give us another change to serve you.

Derrick Medcalf, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

We happened upon Niagara-on-the-falls and decided to stay in the area. Upon calling and explaining we had an 11 month old that would need a travel cot/play pen (quite last minute) they bent over backwards to accommodate us & were so friendly & welcoming.
The room was clean and cool (thankfully!) and breakfasts were plenty and fresh.
We liked it so much we booked another night and requested late check-out too, a great help after being at the Falls all day!
We really enjoyed our stay & would recommend to anyone, don't be put off by the distance from the shops, it's a lovely walk back and via Tim Hortons too...bonus.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Soyabean_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derrickbw, General Manager at Best Western Colonel Butler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2016

Thank you for your kind words. I'm thrilled you had such a fantastic stay, even adding another night with us. We are very fortunate here to have a team that enjoy what they do and love helping guests. We hope you had a great trip while visiting Canada and that we'll see you again when you come back!

Derrick Medcalf, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews