We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Theatre, lotsa' wine and great food in a...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Read House

Front of Cottage - Free wifi in the Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Cottage - Free wifi in the Cottage
Side of house showing deck area with 2 BBQ's Living room with Gas fire and flat screen TV, Free Cable and DVD Player With Films for a Cozy Night
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Front of Cottage - Free wifi in the Cottage
Side of house showing deck area with 2 BBQ's
Living room with Gas fire and flat screen TV, Free Cable and DVD Player With Films for a Cozy Night
Kitchen/Dining room
Queen Bedroom 1
Queen Bedroom 2
Twin Room with 2 Single Beds (Bedroom 3)
Upstairs Bathroom Whirlpool Bath and Seperate Shower
Ground floor Washroom with shower
Side of Cottage and Driveway
Shops down the Main High Street in Niagara on The Lake
Niagara On The Lake Main Street
Red Grapes from Local Winery a Short Drive away!
Konzelmann Winery, The Read House Guests enjoying a free tour and taste
Ice Wine and Chocolates!
Niagara on the Lake Ice Wine Festival
1812
1812 War Celebrating 200 years of peace
Fort George
The General Brock Monument
Niagara Falls (Short Drive away around 20 Minutes)
Historical Famous St Marks Church
The Read House can arrange Weddings through Konzelmann Winery the only lake front Winery!
View from Niagara on the lake to the USA
Niagara On The Lake In Full Bloom
The Shaw Festival Theatre
The Court House - Shaw Theartre
The Royal George (Shaw) Theartre
General Simcoe (Founder of Niagara on the lake)
10% Discount to all CDN, UK and US Military
Cleaning the New French Oak Barrels at Knozelmann estate Winery
Food and Wine Paring at The Read House We come to you!!! See our Web Page for prices.
London Bus Tours in Niagara On The Lake and Horse Drawn Carrage Rides
Enough Said, Get away From those Kids You Deserve it Weekend !!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CJ S
Kingston, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Theatre, lotsa' wine and great food in a wonderfully lush little nook of Ontario!”
Reviewed 5 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We visited on first weekend in October at Read House. Dail our host communicated via email all our info and the house had a great info rack with coupons for many wineries and maps/ tour brochures galore. Cozy, comfy and perfect for four people. The house and deck are so relaxing and we walked to the shops, pub and theatre! Niagara on the Lake felt like a tropical floral forest, lush and colourful for October. Sweeney Todd was our first trip to Shaw Theatre and we were so amazed at such a great production! And the wineries..... we visited a few and thoroughly enjoyed the warm and friendly Pilliteri Estates. Food and atmosphere was great at The Irish Harp but we should have reserved table in main room with the band! We also highly recommend The Old Winery for lunch or dinner. Truly classic Italian dining experience and the pizza was fantastic! We are planning our return for Dracula in 2017!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house's decor is so relaxing and comfortable, clean and restful!
Liked least: We didn't have chance to try big soaker tub...too busy having fun!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveB662...
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Holiday Rental”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We recently spent just over a week in The Read House in Niagara on the Lake during a family trip to Canada from th UK. The property was easy to find and first impressions were good. Ample off-road parking, a decked area with BBQ and a pleasant back garden. Inside the property is charming, clean and of an adequate size for a family of four.
The house is a ten minute walk in to town but just up the road is a family restaurant, a bar and grill, a bakery and a fine dining establishment. Along with a small grocery store, a filling station and the ubiquitous Tim Hortons. This made it an ideal location all round.
We had an excellent stay and our only minor gripe would be that the ironing board drawer and oven felt like they needed a little TLC.
All in all we would heartily recommend the property to anyone looking to spend some time in beautiful Niagara on the Lake.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and character of the property
Liked least: Not Applicable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marci M
1 review
“Cute cottage with the warmth of a home away from home!”
Reviewed 10 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a lovely time at the Read House. It was very clean and well stocked with all the things we needed while we were there. The fireplace was a great feature. Considering the temp was in the 30'S and 40's, we used it every night. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were spacious. My only criticism would be that the sharp knives were so dull we couldn't cut an apple let alone anything else. But the rest of the kitchen was very well equiped and the grill was gassed and ready to go!

We had a blast in Niagara on the Lake. The shopping is excellent on Queen St. And most things are in walking distance from the house.

We would all recommend the Read House to others as well as stay there again ourselves.
Just bring your own sharp knife!
MARCI McComas

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kehaar_16...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful and cosy home away from home.”
Reviewed 5 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This was a beautiful house that was our home away from home for the Ice Wine Festival weekend. We were very pleased with the cleanliness and coziness of the place. Pity about the wifi which didn't work well for all of us and we were unable to surf the internet. However Dail was extremely prompt in replying email queries and offering to help sort out issues. Otherwise was overall a great place to stay, perfect bakery Willows just down the road as well :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and cosy; owners were very accessible for queries.
Liked least: problems with wifi
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBenne17
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven...”
Reviewed 28 October 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Comfortable and well located house in a beautiful town set us up for a great start to the Canadian leg of our summer holiday.
This town is so quaint you feel as though you have travelled back in time. People so friendly and helpful noone more so than the house owner who visited and gave us great tips on where to eat and places to visit.
The house is comfortable and adequately equipped. Beds were great and we all slept well. One of the double rooms was a little snug when you had the suitcases in the room but we were only there for a few days so no real problem.
Places that are must visits from here - obviously the Falls (you will be so relieved that you are staying in Niagra on the Lake and not in Niagra as that is really over commercialised by comparison), the vineyards, Golf club for lunch on the veranda and the Christmas shop!
Be prepared for shops and eateries closing early....
A great place to stay for a chilled holiday...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: Stairs a bit steep when carrying cases
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing