We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different menu, interesting place!”

York Rd Kitchen & Chocolate Bar
Ranked #10 of 408 Restaurants in Guelph
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$16
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Renovated Old Classic Guelph Steakhouse now has modern/rustic feel and great comfort food. Family friendly restaurant with bar area. Great theme of Sweet and Savoury Chocolate runs through the whole menu from Lamb Shanks to Homemade Pasta, Desserts and Amazing Chocolate Cocktails. Full bar features many local beers and wines on tap. This is an "Un-Chained" restaurant where most food is made from scratch. Service is relaxed yet professional, led by Karim & Sara formerly of The Other Brother's Restaurant. Parking is free and plentiful on site. Take Out and Delivery available (20%) discount. Great Burgers, Steaks and Homemade Pasta - how about a Tableside Campfire S'mores for Dessert? See you soon.....
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

York Road Kitchen specializes in being different. Interesting menu, cocktails - and the chocolate! In deserts, drinks, dips, all great! Try a Blue Mango spritzer, a hot chocoalte cocktail - I loved the Lady Godiva(Callebaut white chocolate, Baileys, Godiva liqueur?, whipped cream). Chicken Mushroom Fettuccine with pesto sauce was excellent. Friendly, knowledgeable service in a pleasant atmosphere. Too bad the view is the parking lot and highway - it should be on a beach!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank heatherpmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraYRK, Manager at York Rd Kitchen & Chocolate Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Ha ha - we would love to have a beach view - maybe we should paint the windows!! Thank you so much for your review - glad you enjoyed everything - we hope you choose the "Un Chain" again soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good food and atmosphere. You can enjoy your meal and carry on a conversation at the same time without shouting. The wait staff are personable and friendly. Will definitely go there again and recommend to everyone

Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraYRK, Manager at York Rd Kitchen & Chocolate Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much - we appreciate your feedback! Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

We specifically went for fondue as my daughter 13 loves fondues - we often have it at home. Although the fondue itself was delicious and served the 2 of us easily, I did find that the amount of meat provided was quite scarce. It was an interesting assortment of a little strip of beef, pork and then some shrimp and oysters. I would suggest that for the price, this be increased. Chocolate dessert fondue at the end was yum with a wide assortment of fruit.
We had others in our party - fish & chips and fish taco (which were amazing).
Super pleasant serving staff - cute little atmosphere (where you could actually hear yourselves talk) and overall a wonderful time. We'll be back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraYRK, Owner at York Rd Kitchen & Chocolate Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review - we appreciate it!
The fondue is designed to be able to have 3 courses comfortably and is only priced at $30 for all three courses (the Cheese and Chocolate are normally $10 each per person). We serve 6 - 7oz of protein -, the normal size of a chicken breast in a restaurant and that is a combination of steak, pork, shrimp and mussels with noodles, dips and vegetables on top. It is very reasonably priced for the serving as your entree is $10.
We are so happy that you enjoyed the fondue and the other dishes and hope to see you again soon.
Good Luck with the fundraising........we are happy to help and hope that we see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

We went early on the Wednesday night during March break. 2 of my sons and myself shared the fondue for two. The boys are 7 and 5. We all enjoyed the 3 course dinner. This was the boys first time having fondue and we will be back. To go with the fantastic food was the very good service. The server dealt with my sons professionally and with care. With both great food and service this will not be our last trip to York Rd Kitchen

Thank Mathew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraYRK, Manager at York Rd Kitchen & Chocolate Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Thank you so much - I am glad that you all enjoyed your "Un Chained" restaurant experience. The Fondue Night is certainly becoming popular now and we are recommending Fondue reservations as Pots and equipment is limited - so please reserve next time to be sure. Thanks again - we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Went for family lunch. Food was good and was too much. It was five of us but could easily feed 7.our server had a beautiful British accent and he was friendly.

Thank Ferry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraYRK, Manager at York Rd Kitchen & Chocolate Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

So glad you enjoyed everything.....BTW Kane is an Aussie!! See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed York Rd Kitchen & Chocolate Bar also viewed

 

Been to York Rd Kitchen & Chocolate Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing