We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Place to stay.”
other travellers have booked this property
bedroom 1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
bedroom 1
bedroom 2 living area and kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
10 reviews
bedroom 1
bedroom 2
living area and kitchen
carhedral celing
kitchen and patio doors
dining area with fireplace and flat screen
back deck
back deck and yard, water front
main entrance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Pictou, Nova Scotia

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Freda S
1 review
“Great Place to stay.”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Everything was just as indicated in the communication. A nice quiet place and location close to a small town. Loved it. Thanks so much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Propane refill not included”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the cottage for 3 nights. Overall, I would say that this property is cute, cozy and private but we were disappointed to find soiled diapers and other garbage upon our arrival wchich did not leave a good first impression.
Pros: 1) If you're looking for privacy and a large yard for washer toss, bonfire and other backyard shenannigans, this place is great.
2) Close to everything (grocery store, fish market, beaches all within a 10 mins drive)

Cons: 1) The BBQ ran out of propane on our last night and we were told that the propane for the BBQ was not included with the rental and that we could refill it at a cost. (The cost is not the issue, it's the principle that we would've paid for propane for any other renters for the remainder of the summer)
2) Small detail but the ad states that there is an outdoor dining area but we had to take the dining room table outside to make that happen.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Hello. We are sorry to hear about the garbage not being removed by the time you checked in. We are new to the cottage renting life and have a few bugs to work out and appreciate all the reviews. Upon arriving we ask that all renters let us know if there is anything missing from the cottage that would be good to have added and welcome the suggestions as it will only make it better. As far as the propane supply goes, there is a refill center across the street that is a 10 sec walk that we own and offer a discount. We have learned from experience not to supply the propane as it gets abused by some guests. There is now a table and chairs on the deck as well. Again we are new to this and try our best to accommodate. Thanks for your input.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sdcrane_8...
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice cottage! Poor communication”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Nick's cottage is lovely, clean and private, a nice overnight for my parents and me on holiday. However there was some awkwardness in check-in - the address he provided led to a clearly occupied house with timid children inside peeking through the curtain and nobody answering the door (an uncomfortable situation that left us feeling leery). Cue us driving to the Pictou visitor center to leave a voicemail on a local phone (we were out of country and so could not use our own), followed by a stop at the Time Horton's across the street for WiFi access to follow up via email. After waiting we finally received a short terse email that it was located across the street from the address originally given, which was new information to us. Once we found it, we discovered there was WiFi but no password was provided.

In short, cute place, but please improve communication with your guests!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
We are sorry for the communication problems. The cottage does not have an actual address so we use my business address which is across the street and where we run the rental from. The house that you went to is actually ours and part of our business. In general we leave the key on the table and the door open to the cottage for people to just come in and start there vacation without any dealings with us at all and for the most that seems to make people happy. We usually have some email confirmation about the location but clearly you didn't get the info that you needed. I appreciate your feed back and have made the necessary changes to our structure to help make sure people renting get all the information they require. We are new to renting and are making all necessary changes to make sure everyone that stays with us has a great visit. Thanks again for your feed back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBC1983
Halifax, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful Cottage!”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Great experience all around. Very private and cozy with a lot of space out back for games/tents/bonfire. Nick is a nice guy and the accomodations were great. Thanks Nick!

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Thank you! We were glad to have you. Come back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing