We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Digby, Southwest Nova Scotia, Nova Scotia

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
35snow
Ancaster, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“worst vacation stay i have ever experienced”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
4
people found this review helpful

I could go in to detail but suffice to say, I have stayed in MANY vacation rentals, mostly through Homeaway and VRBO.com but this place is disgusting
First of all, I can tell you BEWARE
the owner of this cottage, one Michael Tam, is a well-known SLUM LANDLORD in Digby Nova Scotia and has a reputation of being quite a wheeler and dealer. He owns the restaurant House of Wong on the main street and that should have told me right there when my brother, sister and I came to pick up the key.
The cottage shows you just that:: the kitchen had some leftover food on the counter, dishes in a tub in the sink, no proper sheets on the bed--only a bottom sheet with no mattress cover underneath. Michael insisted that the duvets and blankets were clean but I was totally unbelieving of anything he said at this point. There is ONE closet for the 4 bedrooms and that one closet had been sprayed with some kind of deodorizer that smelled like bug spray.
The 2 showers had used soap bars and muck all around them, the shower itself was dirty.
Suffice to say, the cottage had not been cleaned before we arrived.
There were 3 plates in the cupboards above the counter: 1 was a serving plate, 1 dinner plate and 1 saucer!!!
It was not until our last day that I looked at one of the cupboards in the corner below the counter to see the not so clean dishes there......the cupboards were all dirty---leftover food particles, the fridge was not clean and it goes on and on.
He said his wife had cleaned the cottage but that is a pretty funny way of cleaning.
We left so he could have his wife come back and re-do the place....
it was not sufficient for my comfort let me tell you.....its a good thing I brought Lysol wipes with me
No human being should have to deal with such a place for not only living or renting but ESPECIALLY a vacation rental
again, BEWARE

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2015
Victoria snow, you were the worst person that lived in my house and you were the messiest of them all. And you are not an honest person because you only paid for 2 people when there was 3 and i have proof of that. When we come to clean the house at 10am, you didn't even ready to leave when you are supposed to check out at 10am which is shown on our ad. And you were complainted that the 'universal' check out time for hotel is 3pm. I'm sorry but you're not renting a hotel room and wasn't paying a hotel price. Our ad is already show that the check out time is 10am very clearly. And you left all that garbage and food everywhere in the house. And I'm sure our house is not disgusting like what you mentioned about. We might be missing a couple of spots and it's only took us a couple of minutes to clean it.
Also there's a whole cupboard full of plates, bowls and silver ware which is enough for ten guest and how do you said that we had 1 plate in the whole house?
I hope we will not having this kind of picky people renting my house and they should rent a room in a 5 star hotel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing