We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
94
44
14
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
44
14
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews double tree the holiday inn warm cookies macdonald bridge coffee maker and fridge decent view welcome cookie great improvement chocolate chip seventh floor check in was a breeze these issues nice bathroom beautiful hotel complimentary wifi stayed here for a week the check in desk
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Hotel is nice, rooms great with nice beds, clean and great bathroom with lots of room! Great having Starbucks in the lobby! Food at the restaurant is good and staff was nice and friendly. Only downside is smokers in the entry ...even though signs are well posted no smoking, people are "clouding" up with entrance with smoke, so disgusting as you come into the front door. Other than that...would recommend.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pirobichaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Halifax Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Good morning pirobichaud,

I would like to thank you for your visit and review. We appreciate your business and the recommendation. Please accept my apologies for the smokers in front of the hotel. We do have designated smoking areas which at times is perhaps not convenient. That said, better communication and policing may be needed, so thank you for that.

Have a great weekend!

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Nice room (even if a bit dark since our 'balcony' showed the wall of a different building) and decently clean. Really there is nothing to complain about but the overall feeling that staff doesn't really care. The exception regarding the staff is the breakfast personnel that really can cheer you up and make you feel noticed and put a smile on your face in the morning. A plus for location a 10 minutes walk to the Halifax ferry so you don't need to take the car if heading for dinner downtown Halifax.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 76g_rana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Halifax Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Good morning 76g_rana,

I would like to thank you for your visit and the time you took to complete your review. We appreciate both very much. Please accept our apologies for your room assignment. In the future please let us know and we will always do our best to correct this for you. I also want to apologize for the staff member (s) that were not as attentive as they should have been. This is unfortunate and you have my assurances that you comments have not fallen on deaf ears. We pride ourselves on a welcoming maritime hospitality, so this is not OK with us and for that I am truly sorry. We are always here for our guests and we should be polished and professional at all times.

Have a wonderful weekend!

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

Stopped here after a flight to Halifax and en route to Liverpool. Flight delays meant we didn’t get long here which was a shame as it seemed nice. Massive bed and great magnifying mirror!!!!
Close to a few eateries - managed to get a late night Chinese meal a few hundred yards away.
We over looked the river and McDonald bridge which was pretty. We ran into Halifax the next day as McDonald bridge is pedestrian friendly. Few more nice places to eat in Halifax too.
Welcome cookie upon arrival was a nice touch!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PaulH575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Halifax Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Good morning PaulH575 and happy Friday to you!

I am sorry to hear about your flight delay. That being said, I would like to thank you for spending this time with us at The DoubleTree Halifax Dartmouth. We certainly do appreciate you visit and the time you took to complete your review.

All the best and have a great weekend!

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

The Doubletree Hotel in Dartmouth is conveniently located next to the MacDonald Bridge and a short drive from downtown Halifax. The staff is very friendly and extremely professional. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and stylishly decorated. Compared to the prices of other Halifax hotels, the Doubletree provides great value at a reasonable price.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Halifax Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Good morning Mary H and thank you for your choice in staying with us. Thank you also for the review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, in particular the value for price paid.

We appreciate your business and look forward to having you stay with us again.

All the best,

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

We ended up here when my original choice was overtaken by a hockey tournament and we could not get a room. I called up while driving around Halifax and pick this thinking it was a holiday inn express.
The location was good as it was right off the MacDonald bridge and toll was only $1. We had intended to stay in Halifax. The rooms was decent and clean. No breakfast was included but they did offer a buffet or a la carte at their cafe. A bit pricey so we set out on the second day to find breakfast elsewhere and there was a Montreal bagel place within a 10 Mins walk.
Overall a decent hotel but I thought a bit pricey for the period we were there (non-tourist season) would stay here again if I got a better deal.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank crabbytiger718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Halifax Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Good morning crabbytiger718 and Happy Friday!

I would like to thank you for your choice in staying with us and for providing your review. We appreciate both very much. Please reach out to us in the future and ask for any special rates that include parking and/or breakfast. We do indeed offer such packages from time to time which travellers find of great value.

We look forward to seeing you have and have a wonderful weekend.

Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews