We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Polar Bear Migration from Thompson, Manitoba to Churchill.

We drove our motor home to Thompson, Manitoba and from there we flew to Churchill staying for four... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
WW2Gal
,
Keystone, Iowa
Photographing Grizzly Bears at Katmai National Park in Alaska - with Natural Habitat Adventures

I am old enough and fortunate enough to have had many "highlights" in my lifetime. The experiance... read more

Reviewed 15 January 2019
Joseph B
,
Grand Junction, Colorado
Read all 138 reviews
  
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
120
7
3
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
7
3
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews natural habitat tundra lodge tundra buggies arctic fox stew window seat conservation area couldn't do enough within feet bumpy rides exceeded expectations buggy drivers early november hudson bay an amazing experience great sense of humor homemade cookies
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We went with Natural Habitat Adventures on a Great White Bear tour in November. We saw many bears, including mothers with cubs and young males play-fighting, as well as ptarmigan, fixes (Arctic and silver) and Arctic hare. Our NatHab guide (Sue) was fantastic! She was very knowledgeable about the local environment and wildlife. She and our rover driver, Baz, worked well together to determine the best places out on the tundra to go and see the wildlife. Everything was absolutely perfect! Out bus driver, Lindsay, who also works for Great White Bear tours, was also great - very friendly and a wealth of information about the Churchill area. She even stepped in to help our group out then one of our activities was cancelled due to a blizzard, teaching us all the fine sport of curling. Overall I cannot think of a single negative thing to say about this experience. Both NatHab and Great White Bear went above and beyond to really make this the experience of a lifetime!

Date of experience: November 2013
5  Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We were with Natural Habitat on a Great White Bear tour in early November. It was a photography tour and we spent 3 full days on the Tundra and saw bears, bears and more bears. We saw Moms with babies, and dancing bears, and Arctic fox and hares and ptarmigan. We brought home the best pictures you could imagine. Our guide Eric was incredible both at spotting wildlife and also advising how best to compose our pictures. The Rover driver Ward was also great. What a team!! There were 15 in our group and everyone agreed that it was fantastic. Even the lunches on the Tundra were great. The entire trip was Over The Top.

Date of experience: November 2013
3  Thank Spriglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We spend two days and one night with Bill out on the tundra (part of Natural Habitat tour package) Between our Natural Habitat guide, Karen Walker (who was awesome) and our driver- Bill..we had the best combination one could hope for! Karen was experienced, knowledge and fun to be around. Here's a woo-hoo shout-out!!! Bill was also experienced, knowledgeable but also, a bit off the wall!!!!. From the moment he meet us with his Grinch hat and grumpy sweatshirt--- we knew we got lucky with our driver! Bill spotted bears, artic foxes and even a snowy owl. Total bear sighting was over 30+...We totally lucked out when we got to watch two bears sparing on a ice pond. Incredible! Bills' wife is at the White Bear gift shop and she is very helpful also!!

Date of experience: November 2013
3  Thank SadieAtlantaGa831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

If you only do 1 thing in Churchill this must be it! If you're there in polar bear season it will be an experience you won't forget. It doesn't come cheap, like everything in Churchill, but it will most likely be a once in a lifetime event for most people (it was for me). The lamb stew lunch that was provided was superb too. Amazing!

Date of experience: October 2012
3  Thank home-sweet-brum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Its a big operation to run these tundra vehicles - they need to be very tough to get through the terrain and so will you. We saw several bears including a close-up encounter whilst driving through the park which was great, but it is a very long day.
Even with the padded seats it was hard going by the mid afternoon - not for anyone with any back issues. The driver and guide were good, and the food provided was OK (sandwiches). It was $350+ p.p. for the day.
I wouldn't recommend spending a night in the Tundra Lodge unless you're a hardy soul - there isn't much to do and you cannot walk around the outside of the Lodge (a series of stuck together tundra buggies) unless you want to be part of the food chain :)
Churchill town is interesting - they're tough people who live there that's for sure! But after a day there isn't much more to do /see / or eat at in the town. It certainly was an interesting experience but I don't think we'd go back there again.

Date of experience: September 2012
6  Thank glajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews