We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting in the Castle at Swan Lake”
Review of Castle Bistro

Castle Bistro
Ranked #41 of 236 Restaurants in Vernon
Price range: US$8 - US$25
Description: Vernon's Only German Restaurant, located in The Castle at Swan Lake Hotel, Vernon BC. Our specialty is our hand breaded and formed Schnitzels, several different varieties to choose from, and even better when paired with our selection of Wines and German Beers. We offer catering for your events, from weddings, retreats and birthdays.
Restaurant details
Description: Vernon's Only German Restaurant, located in The Castle at Swan Lake Hotel, Vernon BC. Our specialty is our hand breaded and formed Schnitzels, several different varieties to choose from, and even better when paired with our selection of Wines and German Beers. We offer catering for your events, from weddings, retreats and birthdays.
Reviewed 28 June 2018

The the staff were wonderful and were very responsive in making our experience special, but the Bavarian food choices were not as good as I would have expected.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Calvingr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2018

Nice restaurant with a beautiful view of the lake. Good and fast service. The meat was a bit dry but the side dishes were delicious.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 1961May
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

I have two comments: Last week we were seated and waited for more than 20 minutes with no sign of service. We left and went elsewhere. Today we tried again and the service was faster. I ordered schnitzel, since this restaurant boasts a European menu. My 'schnitzel' was paper thin, tough, mostly fried bread crumbs held together with some dessicated meat fibres. A great disappointment for someone who loves real schnitzel.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Erna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

My wife and I went to the Castle for dinner with friends. It was, as usual, a very nice experience. The food (Veal Schnitzel in my case) is very good. Our server was friendly and professional and had a great sense of humor. The Castle Bistro has become of "go to" place for value, good food and a great view.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank georgeg144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

We had free breakfast each morning (we stayed at The Castle five nights) and were very happy with how good the food was. We also had dinner there twice. The Prime Rib special on Friday night was excellent. Huge Yorkshire Pudding was the best of all of the restaurants I’ve been in. The Black Forest trifle was incredible. I could probably have that dessert every night for a month and then I’d still want more. Definitely will be returning during my next visit.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank 839martyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castle Bistro also viewed

Vernon, Okanagan Valley
Vernon, Okanagan Valley
 
Vernon, Okanagan Valley
 
Vernon, Okanagan Valley
Vernon, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Castle Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing