We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic location to get away - work retreat.”
The former manager homes of Cassiar Cannery's salmon packing days are now self-catered Guest Houses.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The former manager homes of Cassiar Cannery's salmon packing days are now self-catered Guest Houses.
Porching is a great way to spend an afternoon watching the world float by out front All the Guest Houses have large waterfront decks made from cedar we milled on site.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
The former manager homes of Cassiar Cannery's salmon packing days are now self-catered Guest Houses.
Porching is a great way to spend an afternoon watching the world float by out front
All the Guest Houses have large waterfront decks made from cedar we milled on site.
Wee one bedroom Coho House is perfect for two!
Living room of three bedroom Halibut House
Deck of Halibut House
Cassiar Cannery is known for having very comfortable beds with plump mattresses and luxury linens
The sitting room in Halibut House with TV/DVD.
Three bedroom Halibut House
All the Guest Houses are well equipped with full kitchens and full sized appliances
Three bedroom Sockeye House has a nice water view from the master bedroom.
The living room of three bedroom Sockeye House is the best for lounging and looking outside
Two twin beds are the middle bedroom of three bedroom Sockeye House
Each Guest House has its own bathroom wihth
Two bedroom Steelhead House can sleep six in with a queen bed in the front and bunk beds in the back
We host a number of experiential programs at the Cassiar Cannery and this building is the event base
Cassiar Cannery - Steelhead House - porching
Did you know the Cassiar Cannery is a train stop with VIA Rail!  Book direct!!
Cassiar Cannery is the longest consecutively operated salmon cannery on the West Coast.
Cassiar Cannery - zen view towards the mouth of the Skeena River
Cassiar Cannery - dawn
Cassiar Cannery - Port Edward Marina - where guests keep and launch their boats - 10 minutes away
Restored, former manager homes from Cassiar Cannery's salmon packing days are now Guest Houses.
Prince Rupert is a gateway to Canada's first grizzly sanctuary and Haida Gwaii.  Excellent wildlife
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Prince Rupert, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Erin A
Kitimat, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fantastic location to get away - work retreat.”
Reviewed 16 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

From the minute we arrived for our work retreat Justin and Mark were fabulous hosts - the setting and layout were absolutely stunning - perfect to get away for 3 days and have a relaxing, peaceful stay with co-workers. The beds were more comfortable than a high end hotel which created restful sleeps. Would certainly consider this for family reunion or a get away with my husband. Stunning views of the beautiful nature of Northern BC were amazing the entire time we were there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the postive interaction with the owners.
Liked least: Our time was too short there.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2015
Thanks for taking the time to leave a lovely review! We really enjoyed being included in your company retreat. For us, the time went very quickly and we loved listening to all the laughter! Thanks so much for coming to the Cassiar Cannery and we hope we see you again! Justine and Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArjunnaMi...
Terrace, Canada
1 review
“A perfect weekend getaway.”
Reviewed 22 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Owners Mark and Justine are stewards of what can only be described as a magical place. The warm and welcoming environment was greatly appreciated.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2015
There is something remarkable about this place! Mark and I are so pleased to be included in your weekend escape! Perfect weather and new friend - can't get better than that. See you next time! Justine and Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jake S
1 review
“Step back in time”
Reviewed 16 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I was fortunate enough to stumble upon this place at that last minute while preparing for some work I had to do in the Prince Rupert area. The alternative would have likely been a motel in Rupert which I am sure would have been fine. But in my experience picking the place that is slightly removed and has some character is generally the better way to go. That was most definitely the case this time around.

Cassiar is like a little time capsule at the end of the road (it is quite literally at the end of the road). I do not know the exact dates and history of the cannery, I probably should have asked Mark or Justine, but after a hard day of work it was just nice to put my feet up in the beautiful cabin and look out at the beach or fire up the BBQ and make some dinner.

The cabins are spacious, immaculate and well outfitted with anything you need. If there is something you don't find Mark or Justine are more than happy to help. Time and time again they both went far beyond what is expected to help out. Yes this is the north coast of Canada and you kind of expect to find nice people but Mark and Justine....well I probably can't say enough so I will just leave it at that.

I will definitely be back to Cassiar. If you are looking for a place to stay in Rupert I suggest you head out of town a little and check it out. You won't be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The people....Mark and Justine
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Reviewed 15 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wilderness.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sam W
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I stayed at the Cassiar Cannery in March of this year, the weather was cool but the cabin was nice and cozy. The cabins are well-appointed with stove, fridge, dishes and utensils, and if you were to knock on the door of the proprietors who live on site in a cabin of their own, they are more than happy to share different things and make sure you're comfortable. I loved sleeping so close to the ocean! It is right outside the front door, and beautiful views of the Skeena meeting the Pacific. Will definitely be back, perhaps when tourism season is over, because for me a lot of the appeal was the fact we had the whole beautiful place to ourselves! Peaceful & serene, exactly what I was hoping for! Thanks Cassiar Cannery!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing