We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super location for family reunion!”
Stunning custom designed home & private gardens on the ocean in Departure Bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning custom designed home & private gardens on the ocean in Departure Bay
Oceanfront with views on both levels
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Stunning custom designed home & private gardens on the ocean in Departure Bay
Oceanfront with views on both levels
Front door to main house and access to the ocean front patio
Enjoy your morning coffee from the upper deck with a gorgeous view
Your sunrise as the house faces east
Your beach directly in front of the house
Your view from the kitchen into living room, dining room and the ocean
The convivial gourmet kitchen and bar seating for 4 people
The open kitchen has views of the ocean. The dining room has seating for 8 to 10 people.
A large gas fireplace warms the living room. Gorgeous views from every angle.
This is Octavia the octopus, our house mascot. This picture was taken by our guest Michelle.
The dining area can easily seat between 8-10 people
The main floor master bedroom has a king bed, large walk-in closet, huge private ensuite bathroom
The main floor master has views of the ocean while lying in bed
Main floor master ensuite bathroom with soaker tub and shower
Upper level family room & office - amazing views!
Upper level family room with a big gas fireplace and ocean views
Upper level master bedroom with queen and access to private deck
Upper level master bedroom with queen bed and private ensuite bathroom
Upper level master bedroom privatge ensuite bathroom with large walk-in shower
Upper level bedroom with two double beds and gorgeous ocean views
Upper level bedroom with two double beds, its own TV and lots of closet space
Upper level main bathroom - share by two bedrooms
Upper bedroom with queen bed and access to a private deck
Your protected private back deck for sunny afternoons
Large capacity Magtag washer & dryer
The house faces east so the sun rise is spectacular
Winter on the ocean is just a beautiful as the summer
A walk along Departure Bay in the winter - this was taken in February 2014
One of our resident otters after a successful fishing trip
Another gorgeous sun rise on Departure Bay
An incoming BC Ferry and a larger cargo tanker awaiting a mooring spot in Vancouver
There is great fishing to be had in the area. We can direct you to a good local fishing guides
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Ed N
1 review
“Super location for family reunion!”
Reviewed 25 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We selected this location and this property to accommodate our far-flung family (4 couples + 1 infant) so multiple bedrooms and bathrooms were key. Location was also a major consideration. Being directly on the beach at Departure Bay made it special as we enjoyed watching the activity (ferries, float planes, etc) in and around the harbour every day.
The house was in immaculate condition with a fully functional kitchen that allowed multiple people to cook, eat and cleanup. The two separate sitting areas with large gas fireplaces gave everybody lots of room to congregate in separate groupings depending on who wanted to do what. A complete selection of videos, large TV's and other entertainment options made it easy to relax, and it was no chore to stay inside and watch the rainy, winter weather outside! The property is well stocked with bikes and kayak which unfortunately we were not able to use due to the weather.
Su Grimmer was extremely helpful in getting everything organized for us so that our arrival was completely hassle-free when we arrived and could settle down to the business at hand and meet our first grandchild properly in a wonderful house with all our family present.
While January would normally not be the ideal time for a beach front house, it was perfect for our situation. We were able to find plenty to do in Nanaimo and its surroundings, and information was all available at the house as well. We got a recommendation from a friend about the Greek restaurant Asteris and had a wonderful family meal there, and second the recommendation.
All in all, we had a wonderful time, and being in such a beautiful house in a beautiful location made it all the more special.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2018
Hello Eduard, Far flung indeed. I was truly impressed that you came from as far away at Maine, amongst other corners of the USA, for your family gathering. It was a decided pleasure to have your family group stay at our house for the meeting of your new granddaughter/niece. Thank you most sincerely for your kind reviews and observations about our house, location and Nanaimo. We would welcome you back in a heartbeat. Take care. Su G.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyG47
Lincolnshire
1 review
“Expectations exceeded!”
Reviewed 28 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This is a magnificent house with a view to die for. The main outlook is of the bay overlooking Newcastle Island which is a gem in itself (I would highly recommend a visit) and we spent hours sitting in front of the window looking for wildlife, watching the boats and ferries and appreciating the sunrise.

Pre visit arrangements were easy and the information for finding and accessing the property were spot on. On arrival we were greeted with relaxing music, pastries and a bottle of Prosecco (although that may just be because Su was aware that I was there celebrating a big birthday). This was followed by a welcoming phone call from Su to make sure everything was OK.

The whole house was spotless and although we had high expectations from the photographs it was even better in reality.

Spacious, very stylish, quiet, comfortable with an extensive level of kit in the kitchen to gratify the most serious of cooks. So good we went supermarket shopping and made our own meals as it was a pleasure to use.

The ferry over from Vancouver is worth it just for the views and we even saw killer whales from the ferry (humpback whales on the whale watching tour out of Cowichan Bay). We also went on a Wine Tour which took us round several vineyards which lightened our pockets slightly as we bought wine at each one!

We were all sad to leave and without a doubt our group will be talking about this for a long time to come.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2017
Dear Lucy, Your group was a delight to have at our beach house. And the generous and talented gift of your beautiful watercolour painting of the exterior of our house is treasured and now in for framing and will hang in a place of honour at the house. We would welcome your group back with open arms. I am tickled as well that you chose our home for the advance celebrations for your big birthday. All the best, Su G.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EileenFaz
San Antonio, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Can You Say Spectacular?”
Reviewed 27 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Wow....This house is beautiful and exceeded all our expectations. The view from the patio was amazing. A great place to have coffee in the morning. Everything that we might possibly need was provided....no detail too small. Su, thank you for a wonderful vacation. We intend to visit again. Thanks from all of us!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2017
Lucy, you are the gift that keeps on giving. Thank you for this most gracious review and thank you as well for the spectacular watercolour you painted as a gift for the house and of the house. It is in for framing and shall hanging a place on honour at the house. Please do come back. Cheers, Su G.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine...
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“It felt like heaven when we entered...”
Reviewed 13 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We walked in and immediately saw the ocean across the room through the windows. Spa music was playing and fresh baked goods welcomed us. It was a magical start to a lovely peaceful vacation. We had two families with 5 kids under 5!

The kids loved the spacious areas as well as throwing rocks into the ocean. We loved watching the peaceful calm waters in the morning during breakfast and the waves crashing while we were off to bed.

Rathtrevor beach and the big Parksville park and spray park were 30 minutes away. I took one of the deck chairs and sat out on the rocks one early evening and just soaked in the magical experience. We hope to go back one day. You will not be disappointed. Su was amazing as many other reviewers have mentioned, she responded to any questions I had very efficiently. Thanks so much for sharing your beautiful home with us Su.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2017
Dear Claudine, thank you so very much for your kind review. You folks were dream guests. I am delighted to hear the kids had a blast on the ocean/beach/water park and that you took some personal time to Zen-out. We would welcome you back with open arms. Hope to see you soon. All the best, Su G.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lr2009
Sylvan Lake, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Delightful stay”
Reviewed 31 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a brilliant 10 day reunion here, ten of us including our 4 adult kids, their 4 children ranging from 2-8, and we parents/grandparents. We hadn't gotten together in a long while and this rental was a tremendous choice for our group!

Watching our overseas family arrive at the ferry terminal, from the house patio, was such a treat. In the days that followed, we swam, searched for shells, kayaked, barbecued, relaxed, saw terrific sunrises, the children made forts on the beach, the little one discovered sand and stones. The comfort, views and amenities inside were like the lifestyle of the rich and famous. Our holiday here was simply marvelous!

Although you feel quite secluded, you are in the city of Nanaimo with its great restaurants, parks, grocery stores, pharmacies, etc. just minutes away. We took in some fairs and events in the area, 'never a shortage of wonderful entertainment out and about.

Sincere thanks to owner Su Grimmer for her attention to every detail. We took family photos on her patio, with the lovely backdrop of Departure Bay. Memories are made of this! It was so nice, Su, to meet you on our last day.

Highly recommending this property is a pleasure, we hope to return again asap.

PS Some of the places and activities that we enjoyed were eateries The Cod Squad, Shanghai City (dim sum), the Lighthouse in the inner harbour, the Dinghy Dock ferry to Protection Island and their floating family restaurant; the Parksville Sand Sculpture competition, Eagle Wing whale watching tour out of Victoria, and Nesvog Meats which has a huge selection of chicken, steaks and sausages for the barbecue.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2017
Wowie zowie, Linda, thank you for the superb review. You are a very good writer because you drew me right into your family reunion. I got to experience your visit as if I was a participant. I am so happy my house was an integral part of your family holiday. I love all of the extras you added in your review like places to eat and shop. That’s a huge help to any reader. Thank you so very much for taking the time to write this review. Please do come back to visit. You are 5 star guests and we would welcome you back with open arms. Cheers, Su G.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing