We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and craft beers!”

Sawmill TapHouse and Grill
Ranked #6 of 41 Restaurants in Chemainus
Price range: US$8 - US$20
Description: Welcome to the Sawmill Taphouse & Grill, the home of good food for good people. Located in Chemainus Village Square the Sawmill offers a unique selection of Northwest Pacific craft beers, fresh Italian style wood fired pizzas and slow cooked smoked meat. Vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options are all available. Come on in for a birthday, corporate function or to just kick back with friends after a long day.
Restaurant details
Description: Welcome to the Sawmill Taphouse & Grill, the home of good food for good people. Located in Chemainus Village Square the Sawmill offers a unique selection of Northwest Pacific craft beers, fresh Italian style wood fired pizzas and slow cooked smoked meat. Vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options are all available. Come on in for a birthday, corporate function or to just kick back with friends after a long day.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed a great lunch with friends before a play. Rustic decor with friendly staff. Pizza was amazing! Our party also had Sawmill Burger, Pull Pork Sandwich and Beef Brisket Dip with great satisfaction. Fries are amazing. Most meals served with fries AND salad. Don't see too often. Prices are reasonable as well. Definitely going back.

Thank _ltower407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamHiggs, Manager at Sawmill TapHouse and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I'm so glad to hear you had a great time with us Itower407, I hope you guys enjoyed the play as well! All excellent menu options and yes we think the pomme frites and salad is a great addition as well, a nice way to have it all! I hope we get to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We have gone to the Sawmill Tap House a few times while heading from Chemainus. Each time we have had great food and decent service. The menu has a variety of different dishes but the wood-fire pizza is one of our favorites. Will go again next time we are in Chemainus.

Thank saltsunandsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamHiggs, General Manager at Sawmill TapHouse and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi and thanks so much for the feedback saslsunandsand! Our culinary team has done a fantastic job of constructing our menu and making sure we have something for everyone. Chemainus is such a great place to be, I hope you can come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stopped into Chemainus on a whim and found this great place to eat. The food was good and so was the service.

Thank wcladyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamHiggs, General Manager at Sawmill TapHouse and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thanks so much for stopping in wcladyD, I love it when people discover us for the first time and Chemainus really is a great town that we are thrilled to be a part of. Our culinary team has done a great job putting our menu together and I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your meals. I hope that you can visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Mixed reviews on food, pizzas are very good but some of the other items can be a mixed bag. Selection of beer is great with several Island breweries on tap.

Thank Oceanview143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamHiggs, General Manager at Sawmill TapHouse and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to write out this review Oceanview134, and I am glad to see you enjoyed your pizza and beers, we definitely have some great options for both. If there is anything specific you did not enjoy about your other meals please do not hesitate to email gm@sawmilltaphouse.com I take all feedback seriously and we are always reviewing as a team. I hope we see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

The room had annoying echo flutter, no atmosphere. Bar served only lucky lager on tap.
Poor buffet - plain old garlic mashy, plain rice, dry stringy brisket roast.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank allen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamHiggs, General Manager at Sawmill TapHouse and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Thanks for taking the time to write this review Allen, I appreciate all the feedback we get and always look to improve upon our services and offerings. I will absolutely be reviewing this feedback with our team to see how we can be better serving our guests and creating a wonderful atmosphere in our event space.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sawmill TapHouse and Grill also viewed

Chemainus, Vancouver Island
Chemainus, Vancouver Island
 
Chemainus, Vancouver Island
Chemainus, Vancouver Island
 
Chemainus, Vancouver Island
Chemainus, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Sawmill TapHouse and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing