We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
40
34
15
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
34
15
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews olive bistro restaurant downstairs no elevator long flight of stairs great location convenience store coffee maker one night upper floor double bed stayed nights living room noise tv mountains town hairdryer
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Clearly, this was once a full-service hotel, but now the reception area has been separated from the accommodation and has become an excellent restaurant.
What this means is guests have to negotiate a significant narrow staircase to access the rooms. There is no reception, only a desk on the landing that is not manned full-time.
Our room was clean, but overlooked the back-alley and loading areas for other businesses. Only a double bed was provided which was too small for us (we knew this when booking). The room felt very cramped.
We were not disturbed by noise or other guests.
The TV preformed badly (maybe due to the first snow of the season) and the WiFi woefully slow.
Overall, I cannot recommend this for couples used to larger rooms and beds, of for those unable to negotiate steep stairs.
Parking in the back-alley is limited. Open parking across the streets is often full.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

The hotel is a series of rooms on the second floor (30 steps). Our room was surprisingly spacious with a bright, airy feel. The only thing missing was a work desk. The owner is offsite but available quickly using an in-house phone. We found him very helpful and full of good advice. Breakfast is not offered, but there are cafes within a few minutes’ walk. Location is central, just five minutes’ walk from the railway station and information centre. Excellent wi-fi. If the price is right, this hotel is fine.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Compared to astronomical prices elsewhere, this is good value, but, I have stayed in Castles for less than a night in this place.

Up a huge flight of stairs, you get to a corridor of rooms. Simple, clean enough and comfortable enough, monopolising on significantly overpriced competition.

An easy walk from here to the town and around for amenities and meals.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank CodyMav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Not really what you'd expect from a hotel. Just a bunch of rooms run by a young guy (the owner). He's quite nice and helpful, but the room we had was a disaster. Mold stains on the bathroom ceiling, water in the bathtub doesn't drain and old dirt starts floating to your knee level. Everything else is very dirty and old. The view from the windows is of the garbage bins of restaurants.
The only reason to stay there is if all other places are fully booked. This place charges very high rates. During our 2-week vacation, we paid quite a lot for hotels and motels in some places, but here we definitely felt that we were ripped off.

Room Tip: There may be better rooms there, but the best advice: stay away from this place.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Ehud K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We arrived late at the hotel and it was pouring. Lucky enough we got a street parking spot right in front of the hotel. Otherwise, we would be soaking wet if parked across the road. Anyway, that parking lot was all full when we arrived at the hotel.
Pros: fast wifi, central to shops, 15% discount for meals at the bristo downstairs, friendly host
Cons: no lift but stairs to get to rooms, quite pricey for a clean and basic suite (over CAD$320 a night), parking can be a problem.
It was a decent accommodation but pricey.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RwhL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews