We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Calgary
from US$65,07
More Info
from US$43,40
More Info
from US$130,10
More Info
Reviews (4 038)
Filter reviews
4 038 results
Traveller rating
2 267
1 322
314
92
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2 267
1 322
314
92
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews penguin exhibit penguin plunge canadian wilds prehistoric park dinosaur area penguin walk all ages great place to visit c train world class whole family animals hippos panda tiger cages conservation
Filter
Updating list...
344 - 349 of 4 038 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

I have been to many zoos in my travels....but this was spectacular. It is very easy to navigate through the different exhibits. Paths are clearly marked. There are artistic statuary throughout the park. Parking is easy, there is a fee. Entry is $10.00 Canadian dollars per person. All the above can be accomplished automatically via kiosks. The new Panda exhibit is wonderful....pandas look well and content. The penguin exhibit, near the entrance, is a must. It was very crowded especially with small walk areas and people pushing the biggest strollers and wagons I have ever seen. Throughout the park are play areas for kids. So if you have little it’s a perfect place to let off steam. You will have a very enjoyable experience. Did I mention...clean. Entire Zoo was immaculate.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank N8PWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

The Calgary Zoo is mostly a research center, a beautiful urban park confined by river bends. The animals are mostly in "habitats" instead of caged areas ore fenced, except for large felines. The Penguin March is famous, they promenade Imperial Penguins through a pedestrian street in the zoo. The trees and vegetation is lovely. I recumbent you access their web page to see their programs and have an idea of the zoo.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank valentemrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

It was a very hot day so a lot of the animals were sleeping because of the heat. I would recommend later in the day or early morning to see the animals. We loved the panda bears although they slept the whole time but they were right by the glass. I see that they are doing renovations so maybe some of the animals were moved. The grizzly bears are impressive as well as the hippos and giraffes. Most children would love a zoo but keep in find all of the food stalls are very expensive . There is a large parking lot and it cost $10.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank DebM908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Enjoyable day at Calgary Zoo especially the butterfly conservatory and pandas. It was busy but still got a good opportunity to see the animals. Some were hidden away so couldn't see and would have expected a few more varieties of species for a zoo of its size. But overall a great day.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank justkeepswimming748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Two highlights that brought the rating up from a terrible to a poor. We did not have to wait in a long line to see the pandas and after number of visits over the years I finally got to see the cougar up close. Otherwise I do not think the price of admission was worth the visit. There were more than a few animals not on display due to " Under Veterinary care" and couple of exhibits that were closed. So although the aesthetics of the zoo has much improved over the years overall it was not worth the price of admission.

I also want to do a shoutout to the young mothers and their massive baby carriages, especially ones who go out with other young mothers with equally large carriages. Can you be a little more consider for others who are using the same pathways when you are strolling two abreast or blocking exit points while doing diaper bag transfers. Only at the Calgary Zoo we experienced baby carriage gridlock.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Luigi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews