We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do in Banff”
Review of Banff Gondola

Banff Gondola
Book In Advance
More Info
US$52,25*
and up
Banff Gondola Ride Admission
Ranked #4 of 90 things to do in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Soar to the top of Sulphur Mountain to experience a stunning bird's-eye view of six incredible mountain ranges. With breathtaking vistas in every direction, your adventure begins with an eight-minute journey to the summit of Sulphur Mountain in a modern, fully enclosed four-passenger gondola cabin. Glide up over the treetops to the crest of a steep-sided Rocky Mountain peak and step out into a jaw-dropping mountaintop experience at an elevation of 2,281 metres (7,486 feet). Stroll along the ridgetop boardwalk where the views get better with every step. Then warm up in our newly transformed, state-of-the-art summit facility. With new restaurants, interactive interpretive exhibits, a multi-sensory theatre and a breathtaking 360-degree rooftop observation deck, the new Banff Gondola summit heightens every sense.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stunning views from the top of the gondola and the various walk ways must not be missed ! It was a fabulous experience. Not to be missed!

Thank judy062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme M, Guest Experience Supervisor at Banff Gondola, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Judy,

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed the experience, hope to see you back at the Gondola soon!

Regards,
Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7 424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"weather station"
in 412 reviews
"sulphur mountain"
in 770 reviews
"cosmic ray station"
in 114 reviews
"gift shop"
in 267 reviews
"amazing views"
in 427 reviews
"wooden walkway"
in 81 reviews
"mountain top"
in 87 reviews
"degree view"
in 66 reviews
"observation deck"
in 100 reviews
"board walk"
in 82 reviews
"smooth ride"
in 70 reviews
"minute ride"
in 88 reviews
"afraid of heights"
in 100 reviews
"nice ride"
in 67 reviews
"walk up"
in 104 reviews
"sunny day"
in 113 reviews
"worth the trip"
in 87 reviews
Filter

132 - 136 of 7 427 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We hiked up Sulfur Mountain and took the gondola down. Nice ride and beautiful view of the mountain.

Thank Ellger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme M, Guest Experience Supervisor at Banff Gondola, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Ellger,

Thank you for your review. Hope you enjoyed your hike up Sulphur Mountain, its always nice having the option to take the Gondola down when those legs are tired from getting to the top!

Regards,
Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wonderful views. We had just arrived in Banff that morning. Just sorry we were not able to experience the hot springs which is located just below the gondola. We just ran out of time.

Thank LesBarkhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme M, Guest Experience Supervisor at Banff Gondola, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello LesBarkhan,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are so glad you enjoyed to wonderful views at the top of Sulphur Mountain. You are going to have to come back to visit the hot springs and see us again at the Gondola!

Regards,
Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent couple of hours spent here. Not for those afraid of heights. Staff all friendly.eating and gift shop available. Nice walk up to highest point. Lots of photo opportunities. My wife thought cost was a bit high.

Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle N, Guest Experience Supervisor at Banff Gondola, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Dave G,

Thank you for taking the time to visit and review the Banff Gondola. We are glad to see that you enjoyed the amazing views. We hope you got some nice photos as a memento of your trip.

Please come back to visit us again soon.

Kind regards,
Michelle N
Banff Gondola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely incredible views from the top. You basically get a 360 degree view of banff.

We chose to walk up Sulphur mountain and then take the gondola down - it's a gorgeous hike but it's definitely not easy

At the top you can walk around the gondola building and follow lovely wooden pathways right up to the peak. You'll even get up close and personal with the friendly chipmunks along the path

It was super busy when we went (it's best to go earlier in the day before the rush) but it being busy didn't really affect the experience

Thank Rae S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle N, Guest Experience Supervisor at Banff Gondola, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Rae S,

Thank you for taking the time to visit and review the Banff Gondola! We were pleased to see that you enjoyed the 360 degree views of Banff and got to meet some of our cheeky wildlife.

We hope you will come back and visit us again soon.

Kind regards,
Michelle N
Banff Gondola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Banff Gondola also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Banff Gondola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing