We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7 834)
Filter reviews
7 834 results
Traveller rating
5 058
1 608
621
346
201
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5 058
1 608
621
346
201
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gold floor banff springs rundle lounge stanley thompson wing the bow valley grill chop house willow stream spa waldhaus pub scottish castle iconic hotel bowling alley the outdoor heated pool bucket list lake louise the main hotel canadian rockies self parking
Filter
Updating list...
439 - 444 of 7 834 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018

I begin by stating we did not stay here. We have always made a visit to this hotel on every trip to Banff. We enjoyed the historic old hotel and the lovely verandah view of the river and mountains and the gorgeous flowers planted on the verandah.
This trip we discovered we would have to pay $10 to park for one hour. This did not leave enough time to have a drink and something to eat, shop in the arcade and visit the verandah.
It makes you feel as if you are unwelcome. And they have removed the flower beds and put another patio restaurant in the place of the planters and now the verandah has lost its charm. Done and done.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magnolia13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banffmanagement2016, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear Magnolia13,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We'd like to truly apologize that it did meet your expectations. We'd like to add a few notes that might be helpful for future consideration, though we certainly appreciate your feedback. The duration of Spray Avenue up to and in front of the hotel offers 2 hour complimentary parking. Parking space is limited on property, so guests also often use the very reliable public transit that alleviates this pressure. The ROAM bus frequents the hotel frequently, as well as an abundance of other tourist attractions in town making it a great way to sit back and enjoy the ride.

In case you are referencing the patio space just off the Rundle Lounge, this is our seasonal summer patio and returns year after year. We added our outdoor cooking setup to better service our guests last summer, and have added our additional seasonal summer planters. We do apologize that this setup might look different than your past visits, though it is one of our favourite dining outlets, offering an outdoor menu and an opportunity to dine with a million dollar view.

Once again, we truly appreciate your loyalty to the Castle and do hope to welcome you back for more visits in the future.

-Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

I really liked this hotel and it's old style luxury and charm. I stayed for 2 nights in a 6th floor room, that was bit on the small size due to the architectural style and age of the hotel - some things you can't change. My bed was extremely comfortable, the décor old style luxury and I had all the in-room amenities I needed - I chose not to use the free Wi-Fi as it wasn't secured access.
I found the layout of the hotel a little confusing but you soon find your way around & the hotel does offer a historical walking tour of the hotel which is very interesting and informative.
I must commend the staff at the hotel, who were so welcoming, unfailing polite and professional. There are so many dining options at this lovely hotel, at least 10, both formal and casual. I loved the bold art deco style of the newly refurbished Vermillion room. It looked beautiful and had a bustling, vibrant atmosphere. The menu is French / Canadian cuisine and all my dishes looked & tasted fantastic (Pate de Foie de Volaille started, Bison Bourgingnon main, Creme Brulee dessert).
There are loads of nearby activites & trips to chose from but I also enjoyed the hotel guide led nature walk through the surrounding Banff National Park forest. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Explorer968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banffmanagement2016, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Hello Explorer968,

Thank you for leaving such a thoughtful review. We hope you had a truly memorable experience here at the Castle! We'll pass your kind feedback along to the culinary team at the Vermillion Room. We're so excited to be able to share the new space with our guests.

Thanks again for joining us and please know the door is always open here at the Castle!

-Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Checkin is a real bottle neck backup. Hotel is a very large, castle. Parking is a bit of a walk away and expensive even for guests. Lots of patio/terrace areas to view mountains and Bow Valley/River below. Get a room with views on upper floor (3) to avoid reportedly SMALL older rooms. Ours was lovely, however many guests warn of small, dated rooms on other floors. Nice, casual cafe off the lobby with breakfast sandwiches, avocado toast, oatmeal, yogurt, soup, sandwiches and pastry, coffees and desserts. Great alternative to long, extended dining in the other offerings. Lots of bus, tour, convention, wedding traffic here but hotel is large so you can avoid it. Indoor/outdoor pool area. fun to soak in the outside pool on a cool, gloomy day as the steam rolls off the surface. Nice fitness area as well.

Room Tip: get a view of the Bow River- mountain area out the back and on an upper floor
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lindacrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banffmanagement2016, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Hello lindacrick,

Thank you for providing such a detailed review of your recent stay. We truly appreciate your patience regarding the check in experience. Our summer season sees quite an abundance of hotel guests and additional visitors in the lobby area, so we are constantly striving to make each touch point as smooth as possible.

We're so glad to hear you had a pleasant experience at STOCK in the hotel lobby and got to spend some time at the pool! Thanks again for joining us!

-Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Grand Old Dame..emphasis on OLD. So dependent on room assignment..many are small and with terrible views. We had a dumpster baking up and making a honking noise outside our first room. When I called to complain, they said there would be an upgrade charge to move, and we were put over a parking lot! Responses to concerns were indifferent , especially Brook. Did get someone who listened the second day. Beware..there are much better values in the area.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banffmanagement2016, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Hello Paul K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback about your most recent stay. We would like to truly apologize that your visit was not a WOW, as this is the experience we strive to deliver to all of our guests. Our team will be reaching out privately to discuss a few more details about your stay so we can follow up internally with the team.

We truly appreciate your honesty, as this is definitely a learning opportunity for the team so we can nail it on the next visit. Thank you kindly for your patience!

-Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

I would return to this hotel over and over again. Everything was exceptional! The views from my room where breathtaking, housekeeping kept everything perfect, and they have DOGS! Wonderful, sweet dogs!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banffmanagement2016, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Hello Ann T,

We're so thrilled to hear you had an enjoyable visit! Haha you must have met Bear! We just adore him. We actually just had a TV crew in to do a little documentary on him, so you'll have to keep your eyes peeled for his camera debut in "Great Big Story" online.

Thank you again for joining us. We're so happy to hear the Castle feels a bit like home! See you soon!

-Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews