We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply perfect”

Review of Cliff House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Garden
View form the house over Monsal Dale
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
13 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 32
Great Longstone, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Enjoy_Bea...
Bedfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Simply perfect”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I'm not really sure where to start.
The whole weekend was perfect.
We had a group of 28 friends, all adults. 20 in the main house and 8 in the cottage next door.
The propert(ies) are in their own grounds, with a lovely little garden area set out with tables and chairs.

The first thing that strikes you as you enter in the sheer size, lovely high ceiling and lots of space. The main room is set out as a lounge and dining area, there is also a separate lounge with tv and a lovely kitchen at the back. The kitchen was very well equipped in terms of equipment, nice large cooker and work tops, loads of crockery, glasses and cutlery. There was 28, of us, 14 couples, and we never ran out of anything. The bedrooms in the main house are well presented, clean and have stunning views. There are a mixture of types of room, some suitable for families of 4 etcc. Most of the rooms are en-suite, some had showers and a couple with baths, not just ordinary baths but beautiful standalone baths. The main master suite on the top floor overlooking the viaduct and down the dale was simply stunning, and the views are on par with the best views I've ever seen (and I've travelled to a lot of countries globally!).

The cottage next door had three nicely presented bedrooms, beautiful luxurious bathroom with large shower and standalone bath and the open plan lounge/kitchen worked well, although we tended to spend time in the main house.

We had caterers in for the Saturday night and all we had to do was set up the tables in the format we wanted. There was two big wooden tables and additional fold up tables that we could use and we managed to get 28 people all seated at the same time with space for the waitresses to get around. This was one of the highlights of the weekend.

The actual location could not be faltered, across the road is the Monsal Trail and enough walking to keep the most ardent rambler happy. We were a bunch of friends who don't mind a walk if there is a pub at the end of it, so not serious walkers, but for each walk we went on we either ended at a pub (across the road or another around the corner and down the lane) or we selected a route where there was pub half way round.

I kinda could go on and on.

Minor niggles were main room was quite warm and we struggled to turn down the radiators/work the heating control, one knob on one of the ovens a bit problematic and downstairs loo could do with a lock.

But these are minor and are not complaints... To sum up, we had no complaints from 28 adults. Thats some achievement.

Would be back there in a shot and would thoroughly recommend.

Simply perfect:

Mark & Madeleine Cubley

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large open-plan lounge dinning room, along with the superb kitchen
Liked least: Missing lock on downstairs loo, a bit inconvenient!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb Property and Breathtaking Views all added to make a perfect weekend!”
Reviewed 9 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Cliff House in April to celebrate our Wedding with close Family and Friends, and we could not have chosen a better venue for the weekend!
The house and cottage are located in a beautiful setting overlooking the Monsal Head and ideally placed to visit nearby Bakewell and Buxton.
Everyone was impressed by the standard of the decor and furnishings within the house, which provided spacious and comfortable bedrooms most with en suite facilities. The kitchen was huge and the perfect meeting place for everyone to mingle. It was well equipped to cater for a large party such as ours. The dining room/lounge proved to be an ideal size for our reception and flexible enough to seat all 33 adults and 5 children.
We would like to thank Justin & Alex and their team who contributed to making sure we had everything we needed to make our stay a success.
We would whole-heartedly recommend Cliff House to anyone who wants to escape to the countryside for a relaxing weekend or family event.
We hope to come back again in the near future.
Natalie at Brook-Bottom Catering who provided an outstanding wedding breakfast also deserves a mention as she and her team did everything possible to make our day special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everthing
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen
Liked least: Downstairs toilet door difficult to close and noisy boiler
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Couldn't fault it
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ronniedm
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Out of this world!”
Reviewed 4 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

There aren't enough good things I can say about cliff house. It's a fabulous house in a fantastic place with breathtaking views. We booked friday to monday for my 40th birthday celebrations. There was a group of 22 adults and there was plenty of room for everyone. The owners were wonderful with any queries we had and even recommended some activities for the weekend, nothing was too much trouble. The house has a high end spec and is very spacious-we had salsa lessons, a murder mystery dinner the girls had a pampering day with massages for all and the boys went off mountain biking! As well as being a party the house would work well for groups of families too. It was a perfect birthday in a perfect house-it even snowed just to make the views even more stunning! I can't recommend Cliff house enough and we are already talking about organising our next visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$1 254
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing