We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic property for large groups”
Dining table seats 34 with amazing panoramic views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining table seats 34 with amazing panoramic views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Dining table seats 34 with amazing panoramic views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
13 Bedrooms, 13 Bathrooms, Sleeps 34
Waterhouses, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tom R
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fantastic property for large groups”
Reviewed 2 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We hired the Mermaid Inn for my Dad's 60th birthday celebrations. Our entire family and some close friends (26 people in total) stayed for 3 nights. From the start, the contact from Pete and Marie-Axelle was excellent. They talked through every detail with me from event insurance to sorting a Sainsburys grocery delivery.

The property itself was even better than we expected. The view from the dining room is enough to take your breath away. The space for lounging and socialising are plenty. The rooms are warm, the showers are hot and the beds are comfy.

The surrounding area is beautiful. If you're a fan of the outdoors there's plenty to explore. One thing I will say is that if you have a dog, please be responsible as there's a lot of livestock.

99/100 score. To get the perfect 100 I'll have to try and convince Pete to get Sky Sports ;)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the kitchen
Liked least: The ovens, they were a little bit temperamental.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiler600...
York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“'Just Fantastic'”
Reviewed 26 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Wow.. what a wonderful weekend we have had in The Mermaid Inn. We arrived on Friday and was met by Mark the caretaker who showed us around and went through the domestics, we were then left to our own devices to start choosing rooms, plenty to choose from all with ensuites and all very spacious. We decided on Room 5 as it was ground floor and near the bar. The bar/pub is amazing, we really did have our own pub for the weekend with pool table, table football and karaoke, we kitted out the bar including the optics with the drink we had taken with us. The bar even has a fridge to keep the beer cold. We also organised a keg of beer which I would definately recommend.. The dining room has a table which seats 34 which is great that everyone can sit together, we took curry that just had to be warmed up when we got there and on Saturday night I organised an outside caterer to come in and serve us. I would recommend this too as it really gives you a chance to relax and have everything done for you right through to the clearing and washing up. The kitchen is fully serviceable with plenty of crockery, cutlery, 2 dish washers, 2 ovens, 2 fridges a freezer and washing machine.There are plenty of settees and comfy chairs to relax during the day or if you need some down time.. Overall I cannot recommend enough, we had the best time ever, right from the original contact right through to the return of the deposit, such a smooth seamless experience and cant wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Pub
Liked least: Nothing loved it all
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueI2704Y...
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous New Year Holiday with all the Family”
Reviewed 7 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Mermaid Inn is a fantastic venue for large Family or Group Holidays. We arrived on a bleak windy evening to a very cosy warm Inn. The Party started immediately!!!.Highly recommend. Comfortable Bedrooms and constant hot water in all Bathrooms. Had a wonderful time. Many Thanks.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SECOLE101
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“A truely fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 4 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We celebrated my 50th at the Mermaid with family and friends .The venue was absolutely fabulous , loads of space for us all (17 adults and 13 children ).The bar area was brilliant and we had a great time playing landlords and ladies and the children enjoyed the pool table and karaoke machine .The bedrooms were lovely with very comfortable beds and the whole property was lovely and warm . It snowed on the Friday evening so that was very exciting and we had a nice walk the next day in the snow . The views were amazing and we had a wonderful time maybe we'll be back for my 60th !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A great time had by all!!”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Great facilities in an ideal location and I would certainly recommend the mermaid inn to any group looking for a suitable venue, it's ideal for a large family gathering and the bar is an excellent feature where everyone can gather in the evening which was a great hit with everyone. We stayed for 4 nights, the local country walks were great during the day and the local scenery is lovely. All-in-all everyone had a great time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bar area was great, the bedrooms comfortable and all en-suite, everything worked
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing