We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Memorable place”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to Winnow Barn - the large open plan living area with spectacular vaulted ceiling.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Winnow Barn - the large open plan living area with spectacular vaulted ceiling.
A traditional Derbyshire stone barn A cosy afternoon in by the fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Welcome to Winnow Barn - the large open plan living area with spectacular vaulted ceiling.
A traditional Derbyshire stone barn
A cosy afternoon in by the fire
Bedroom 1
All bedrooms have en-suites - bedroom 3
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 3
View over the farm
Lamby!
Boris and Chicco grazing in the paddock
Wilf and Jimbo
Daisy saying hello!
Set amidst stunning countryside
Sunset from the bedroom window
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Alstonefield, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emma G
2 reviews
“Memorable place”
Reviewed 20 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

The barn was tasteful decorated. A place we will always remember. Andrea was lovely with our girls telling them stories all about her animals. The homemade lemon cake was delicious and just what we needed after a long day sorting out car problems which meant we arrived later than we had planned to. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2018
It was a pleasure to meet you all and I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write a fabulous review :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinand...
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely barn, really welcoming owners”
Reviewed 4 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Exceptional accommodation, perfect for a family holiday. Having en-suite rooms and the large, well equipped living space worked really well for us. Our grandsons loved exploring the farm and feeding the animals. We enjoyed walks from the door and found lots of places to visit for all ages within a short drive. The weather was great so we made use of the BBQ on several evenings.

Thank you Andrea and John, you have created a really special place, we would highly recommend Winnow Barns and hope to return

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2018
Thank you for the great review, I'm so pleased that you had a fabulous time. I would love to welcome you back to Winnow Barns in the future.
Andrea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony D...
2 reviews
“First rate accommodation in a great location”
Reviewed 11 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

This is our second time at the barn, which we use as a base for walking. It is very comfortable and well equipped, and tastefully decorated. The owners, who live adjacent to the barn, are friendly and helpful, and provide a thoughtful welcome pack, including home made cake. Located close to Ilam, there are nice walks that can be done from the house, as well as plenty more a short drive away.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2018
Lovely to see you all again, thank you for the review. Hope to see you all again next year!
Andrea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G
United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Ideal Barn for a get together!”
Reviewed 2 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

From the owners through the location to the actual barn itself, it would be hard to suggest any improvements on this snug, warm, but spacious luxury barn where 8 people can have their own space, but mix well in the open plan living/dining room/kitchen upstairs. From the moment we turned into the driveway & saw the beautiful christmas tree lights twinkling in the full length picture window we felt welcomed & at home in the Winnow Barn. The kitchen is well equipped & the bedrooms spacious but snug too. The location, aprox one mile from Ilam, & situated in between the Dove & Manifold Valleys was excellent for walks while the snow sprinkled views were also great to view from inside the accommodation via any one of a number of windows. Also, this was one of the cleanest places we have stayed & we are pretty fussy on that score.All in all, first class!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2018
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed Christmas in Winnow Barn, it was a pleasure to have you stay. Hope to see you all again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne M
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Comfortable, attractive and very well equipped converted barn with lots of space to relax”
Reviewed 20 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Near Ashbourne in the Peak District. Even in December there were lots of things to do nearby - walks, pretty towns, stately homes, a cycle trail...The barn is lovely - very spacious and each room has an en-suite bathroom.We loved the wood burner and loved Andrea's home-made lemon drizzle cake even more! We all want to stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Dec 2017
Thank you very much for your review, I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again in the New Year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing