We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cycle Heaven awaits you, in this charming cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Rear view of cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rear view of cottage
Rear south facing garden with beautiful views Front room with log burning stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Rear view of cottage
Rear south facing garden with beautiful views
Front room with log burning stove
Front room with log burning stove
Green Man stained glass window in front door
Lovely and sunny back bedroom
Back bedroom with lovely views
Back bedroom with lovely views
Bathroom
Bathroom with views over the fields
Over bath shower
Kitchen
Steep stairs. Be careful.
Door from kitchen to covered outdoor eating area
Side bedroom
Side bedroom with views over fields
Sunny dining room with door to garden
Sitting room with log burning stove
Sunny dining and sitting room
Front bedroom with king size iron bed
Side kitchen
Snug for watching TV
Snug for watching TV
View from back garden
Parking and gate at front of cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Alresford, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
VeloVentu...
Seaton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cycle Heaven awaits you, in this charming cottage”
Reviewed 30 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I booked this cottage on the weekend of my daughter's wedding in April. The weekend turned out to be one of the most special times possible and this delightful cottage helped in so many ways.
For those that know me, you'll know that cycling plays a very important part of my life and it is clear from the moment you open the front door, that the owner of Cycle Sanctuary shares the same passion and has expressed this in the decor in a charming and stimulating way.
The wedding went beautifully, the weather obliged with sunshine and the bride & groom on my vintage tandem rode from church to the reception with a peloton of wonderfully attired wedding guests. It was just the best of days.
We stayed on after the wedding at the cottage as quite simply it is difficult to leave. I'll keep this review short, but suffice to say, I hope to return time and time again.
Before I finish I'd like to add that I met the owner by chance and it is clear why the cottage is so charming. Congratulations to you Miles, your cottage is a most welcoming home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2016
A lovely review. Thank you. Very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back and seeing a few more of your fantastic vintage bicycles. Please bring the Penny Farthing next time. I've seen pictures of you riding it and the pair of you look amazing.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy C
Havant, United Kingdom
1 review
“Magical place”
Reviewed 19 February 2016 for a stay in October 2015

Thank you Miles and Caroline for sharing this wonderful cottage and country side. Although it was only about 20 minutes drive for us, we felt that we were miles from home. It was just what we needed to recharge our batteries, a relaxing break for cycling, walking and sitting by the fire reading. The pub (The Milburys) was great too. Definitely a home from home that we didn't want to leave and would certainly want to return to in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquil setting with log burning fires
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. Yes, it's amazing how different the world can feel just a very short journey away from home. Very good to know the Cycle Sanctuary weaved its magic and helped you feel recharged . . . with a little help from The Milburys :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Jan 2016
Wow. What a review. That's so kind of you to take the time to comment on your stay at the cottage and help other prospective customers understand our heating and hot water. Beautifully explained. Please please come again. The champagne . . . and logs :-) will be waiting for you. Thank you so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Philip H
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely charming”
Reviewed 17 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The only time that I have stayed in a cyclists' art gallery. I can imagine that any enthusiast would be undecided whether to stay in and marvel at the memorabilia [ posters, models, coasters etc, ] or go out and ride through the beautiful scenery.
The cottage itself has everything that anyone would want. Despite all the nostalgic artwork, it is fitted to very modern standards. It is deceptive in that although appearing almost medieval it does not suffer from cold or draughts and is deliciously cosy.

The owner is incredibly helpful and we have moved the property to the top of our 'must visit again' list.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2015
Wow. What an amazing review. Thank you so much. Very very kind of you & so helpful to other potential visitors. We want our guests to have a really great time, whether they are cycling, walking or even just resting at the Cycle Sanctuary in the Southdowns National Park. Beauworth is doubly fortunate as it is also designated an 'Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty' (AONB).

We still have a lot more 'Art of Cycling' that we haven't managed to squeeze onto the wall's yet. Plus we are saving a prime spot to mount 2 vintage men's and lady's bicycles to. We can't wait to get those up.

And, we have to agree with you. Once the log burning stoves are lit, the flames licking out their heat and you turn the lights down, the cottage is just "deliciously cosy" :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorka N
1 review
“Beautiful and lovely”
Reviewed 30 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a great time in Miles & Caroline cottage. The place is amazing and the attention to detail they have is astounding. They are very nice and caring hosts, and the neighbors, very helpful ;). Surroundings are beautiful and peaceful. Moreover, the nearby pub has great food! We will repeat for sure.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We are so pleased you and your family had a relaxing & cosy (once you got the fires lit) holiday at the Cycle Sanctuary and loved our cycling theme. Please come back and stay again. Such a pleasure to have you & your family to stay and enjoy our beautiful countryside and the fantastic "Milburys" Pub.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing