We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to come back to regularly. Brilliant for children, even small ones and interesting for the grown ups too”

Milton Keynes Museum
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Wolverton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

Lovely friendly place that we visit at least once a month with our preschooler. The volunteers are always brilliant and they often run extra free things like the crafts and baloon animals this halloween. The cafe is reasonably priced, with a huge range of homemade cakes and fresh to order sandwiches in a themed setting with volunteers in period dress who are always happy to go the extra mile for you. Thoroughly recommend.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane M, Public Relations Manager at Milton Keynes Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Thank you Tina. What a wonderful review and I can assure you that our volunteers read these reviews and are always touched to know from our visitors that they make a difference. We'll see you again at Christmas :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (694)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"toast"
in 58 reviews
"home made cakes"
in 50 reviews
"school room"
in 30 reviews
"open fire"
in 27 reviews
"victorian house"
in 21 reviews
"air raid shelter"
in 18 reviews
"milton keynes"
in 83 reviews
"transport section"
in 15 reviews
"nice tea room"
in 8 reviews
"local history"
in 19 reviews
"tea and cake"
in 12 reviews
"music room"
in 7 reviews
"all ages"
in 44 reviews
"special events"
in 11 reviews
"volunteer staff"
in 8 reviews
"few hours"
in 27 reviews
"trip down memory lane"
in 7 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 694 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

A fantastic piece of history of old. Many different things to see including old farm equipment, a recreation of an old street complete with shops and old vehicles! At certain times there are volumteers who reinact shopkeepers, butchers, farmers etc which adds to the experience! Toilet facilities, cafe and parking are all good! Many other smaller attractions are there too. Historic telecommunications, historic cars and a shop at the end for souvenirs! Well worth it!

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane M, Public Relations Manager at Milton Keynes Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Thanks Chris for this lovely review and for recommending us. We are so glad you enjoyed the visit and found it 'worth it'! The street of shops is one of our favourites too, but as you say there is so much to see on the site. Hopefully you'll use your tickets to return to see us and the exhibits again over the next 12 months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018

Visited last Sunday with my partner and we enjoyed every single minute! The amount of attention paid to layouts and displayed is fantastic, but what really makes it special is the people working there. Everyone is forthcoming, friendly and knowledgeable and happy to explain things - it quadruples the value of each exhibit. My favourite bit has to be the vacuum pipes which whiz messages along. What an awesome place this is. £9 gets you in for a whole year which is crazy value, too. Even the tables in the canteen had real flowers not plastic :-) Easy parking on site. Would give 6 stars if I could. Well done all!

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane M, Public Relations Manager at Milton Keynes Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Wow Steve, thank you! We are thrilled by your review and very grateful to you for taking the time to write it - and remind us that when we were growing up those vacuum pipes were in standard use in some of the department stores! It sounds like we'll be seeing you again soon - we really look forward to it :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

Fantastic. Really helpful staff. Each room holds so much of our past depending on your age of course. It is very hands on which makes it even more interesting. As an ex G.P.O. trained telephonist I thoroughly enjoyed the telephone section. The gentleman was very interesting to talk to and it brought back so many memories. The icing on the cake was the fact that the ladies in the cafe were dressed up in costume. The cakes put weight on me just looking at them. They were yummy. We had a lovely day. Thank you to everyone involved in the running of this lovely museum.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Rita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane M, Public Relations Manager at Milton Keynes Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Ah Rita, what a wonderful review. Thank you so much for taking the time to rate and review us. It really helps us get the word out. And we hope you'll use your year's free entry to come back and see us many times. There'll always be cake!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2018

Our 7 year old grand daughter had been with her class, and persuaded us to take her. Well, we loved the place. After buying our tickets in the gift shop, we went through a Victorian house, each room furnished as in mid Victorian times. A volunteer encouraged children to try the windup organs.
Then we passed through a large number of "shops" set out with goods exactly as the would have been in Victorian times; butcher, baker, sweet shop , farming equipment, etc. We purchased some old fashioned humbugs. Great show of toys from those times. Then a room full of old early telephone exchanges, all of which worked !! Great fun for all ages.
The out to the tea shop. and visiting the old farm cottage rooms and lastly the transport museum. Took us nearly three hours and the tow grandchildren ages 7 and 9 were totally occupied .
It should be renamed! Milton Keynes museum just does not sit right .Please go; might well be special nearer Christmas. The museum runs events trough the year.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank debrichgil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane M, Public Relations Manager at Milton Keynes Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Thanks for coming to see us - we really enjoy hearing stories like yours where the children have persuaded their elders to come back!
We take your point about the name but as you may have gathered we are in the midst of creating two new galleries (don't worry - they'll have the same hands-on feel) which will tell the whole story of this area.
And you're right about Christmas - it's a very special time for young and old, re-creating some of that magic we remember from our childhoods. The details are on our website.
Thank you again for this lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Milton Keynes Museum also viewed

Bletchley, Milton Keynes
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Milton Keynes Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing