We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing lunch”

Ristorante dell'Agriturismo Calivino
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Rotonda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$34
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The restaurant is handled by agrichef with thirty years of experience in the sector. The kitchen is typical but with some revisions. The chef cures the product very much, cultivating themselves all. The restaurant is located in open countryside with small farm and a large private very quiet garden, ideal for those who love nature and looking for relaxation and good simple but genuine cuisine. There are many activities in the surroundings. Ideal for families with children and pets.
Reviewed 8 June 2015 via mobile

Driving around the area we stopped in here for lunch. Fabulous decision. Great service, wonderful lunch with antipasto, pasta, meat and dessert. All washed down with a carafe of wine and bottle of water for a stunningly good value price. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: June 2015
Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2014

This agriturismo was next door to Le Chalet del Pollino where my wife and I were were staying, so it was a perfect place to walk to for dinner.

We started with an appetizer platter (one - not one each!) which had many small pieces. It was mercifully shy on the cured meat that often dominates (just a couple of pieces). Instead there were several small eggplant samples prepared in different ways (the rosso aubergine is apparently a protected trade name/product and pretty much unique to Rotonda); a fine potato and bean dish topped with dried sweet red peppers; eggplant fritters; and much more.

Then we shared a primi piatti - a pasta dish with local rabbit and funghi porcini (porcino mushrooms). Delicious.

For the secondi, my wife had the local rabbit with a rosemary filling and declicious rosemary/rabbit reduction gravy. I had local lamb prepared in a traditional style. We had a bottle of local red wine - a little thin but quite palatable. No room for desert and coffee, which apparently would have been included with the meals as well.

And great value for modest price.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating despite our dismal Italian -- the multilingual dictionnary was put to good use. We all managed to make ourselves understood to marvellous effect. An unforgettable meal of locally sourced foodstuffs.

Indeed, in our walks through some areas of the park at higher altitudes the previous days, we had seen the mushroom hunters; and the sheep, goats and cows that make up part of the local cuisine; the agriturismo also sources through local gardens for the fantastic vegetables.

If you are in Rotonda, consider a meal here!

Date of visit: September 2014
Thank cgb99_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Came here after reading reviews. Hands down best food we have had in Italy. All made with care and love using local vegetables. Waitress serving us was super friendly and full of humour. The meal was a proper 4 course feast with house wine, came to €16 each. Try red aubergine, white bean, peperoni crusci, lamb!!!

Date of visit: July 2014
Thank Luka A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

On our drive from Scilla to Amalfi we took a detour through the countryside and ran into this wonderful Agriturismo through Tripadvisor. We called an hour ahead and although we were the only guests (low season) they prepared a wonderful four course menu (antipasta, primi,secondi and dolce) for us. The restaurant uses local products, of which some they grow themselves (o.a. red aubergine and DOP certified white beans), and they make their own pasta. We had 10 different antipasti, Wild Boar fettucini, Ravioloi with spinach and ricotto, grilled pork and a beautiful honeycake covered in chocolate. If we ever pass Rotonda again we will certainly stop again.

Date of visit: May 2014
Thank Wouterza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2018
Google Translation

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante dell'Agriturismo Calivino also viewed

Rotonda, Province of Potenza
 
Rotonda, Province of Potenza
Lauria, Province of Potenza
 
Rotonda, Province of Potenza
Francavilla sul Sinni, Province of Potenza
 

Been to Ristorante dell'Agriturismo Calivino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing