We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Maya Colonial(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$346
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Barcelo Maya Caribe(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$346
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Barcelo Maya Beach(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$346
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Catalonia Riviera Maya(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$389
US$256
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Barcelo Maya Tropical(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$347
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
LM by Inmense(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$280
US$224
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
B&B Mom's House(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Aventuras Club(Puerto Aventuras)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (9 098)
Filter reviews
9 098 results
Traveller rating
5 731
1 966
828
303
270
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5 731
1 966
828
303
270
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrench restaurantother resortsfishcoral grillmaya palaceoaxaca buildingsea turtlesdinner reservationscoco barclub premiumthe check in processadult poolfamily vacationbeautiful resortbuffet foodspecialty restaurantsmake reservations
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 9 098 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here with 800 other travel agents the service was great.The food was good I do wish they had a few more meat options but overall a great first experience. The rooms were very spacious and always cool the ceiling fan did not work so some nights were a little hot but other than that the hotel was perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank sitolindo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear sitolindo13

On behalf of the Barceló Palace Staff, we want thank you for choosing us as your holiday destination place, we really appreciate your observations we will work on our service so you can have an incredible vacations!!


We hope to have you again at our hotel!!


Regards!


Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is the 3rd time we have been at the Palace with Barcello.It has always been a fantastic resort for the Money. Last year our trip was really phenomenal and that's why we decided to come back this year. Unfortunately it seems like that's many things have come down this year with the hotel
The Restaurants always been very good. The buffet has come down this year.We actually went to the colonial buffet which was so much more impressive and had a lot more variety than the palace! They have reduced the kinds of food. For example you dont find lamb anymore in the buffet. The Mexican nights in the palace were terrible. It was amazing in the colonial!!!

Restaurant services absolutely amazing and the waiters are absolutely wonderful and great people.

we did have problems with the AC in the room. It took them 4 days to come and fix it! I must have called 8 or 9 times. Finally my wife threaten them answered if they're gonna fix it now then they better put us in another room. And finally Someone came!

The beach last year was absolutely incredible and out of out of this world. Turtles everywhere and fish everywhere! This year it entirely opposite. The seaweed was all over the Place. It took them about a week to take out 3/4 of the Seaweed And the beach was not and we did not see any turtles and very few fish.
They should have had a lot more people working to remove the Seaweed. I feel like the hotel are always has the minimum people required to the job In everything. They do it But It takes Them For ever.

We will be taking a break from the barcelo until I see reviews that indicate their have been improvements on the beach front and that there are enough workers to handle the humongous resort.

To note. Alfredo in the bar and in the dining buffet are absolutely amazing. Rosa in the pool par is wonderful.

Overall we give it 3 stars because we have it something to compare to in the past. We have loved it in the past years and would have given it 4 1/2 stars.

The French Brazilian and Spaniard resteraunts were fantastic. The mexican was not good and very sad considering they americanized a lot of the food there! I love mexican food. And it was not great!! Sad! They should take pride in their food.

I need to see that they come back to how it was before for us to come.back again to the resort. If.you are going to book.the barcelo go to the colonial. Much more impressive and food is better

Also The premium is not really worth it if you are on registered with barcelo as you get free internet.

Barcelo dont get arrogant and stingy just because you are fully booked. You will.not have people back.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank SalvatoreA77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
We first would like to thank you for making our Barceló Palace your preferred choice for your holidays in Riviera Maya , it is always a pleasure to welcome back our most loyal guests year after year.
Moreover we thank you for your wonderful comments on service which of course have been shared with the entire team. It is always a great source of motivation for our staff to hear that our guests appreciated their services and attention to detail.
Moreover, we lament reading that our buffet offer did not live up to your expectations as our professional Chefs strive to surprise our guests with a high standard gastronomy and the possibility to savor the best of the local cuisine as well as the finest international delights, however as we receive guests of all nationalities and ages, we do not over spice the dishes in order to please all palates, nevertheless there is a wide spice station in our buffet for our guests to help themselves and season their dishes to their liking.
Experts say that this herb reaches the sea to our Caribbean beaches, the Sargasso Sea, a huge concentration of floating algae, in the Atlantic Ocean and that reaches an area of 3 million 500 million square kilometers, with a depth of up to One meter and a half.
Until 2011, no one in the Riviera Maya had seen the large amount of sargassum that today is throwing the sea to the beach. It is algae that generate some discomfort for visitors. However, it is necessary to take into account that sargassum offers important advantages for the conservation of Caribbean beaches. First of all, these algae have the capacity to trap the sand that otherwise escapes from the beach due to the swell and the wind.
But it has also been observed that along with the massive invasion of algae from the east, there are also concentrations that travel through the southern sea currents. Therefore, hypotheses have emerged ranging from an increase in nutrients in the sea that could be related to an increase in temperature or global warming that has impacted the generation of sargassum in the North Atlantic Ocean, where the Sea of Sargazos is, to pollution of the waters coming from the Amazon that delivers its flow of fresh water to the sea in the Southern Cone.
Therefore, if we want to conserve the beaches of our tourist destination, it is very important to spread that the sargassum is beneficial for the preservation of the beaches and to realize that, although it is justified to clean the excess of sargassum, we should not remove everything in order to allow nature to help us preserve the integrity of our destiny.
In our Hotel we have a daily program of cleaning the sargazo for 8 hours, with large machines and trucks which we try not to use during the day to avoid accidents with our staff and with the clients as well as not to disturb the beach environment that we offer. We have Certifications like Green Globe and we have an awareness of the environment that surrounds us.
Your enthusiasm for our staff is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation, we will certainly not fail to convey your very kind compliments to all of them.
Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent property for families. Good food, lots of activities for everyone of all ages. Plenty of shopping on property. Bowling, flowrider, even a haunted house! Loved the pools! I highly recommend staying at any of the Barcelo properties.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank Debstours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Debstours

On behalf of the Barceló Palace Staff, we want thank you for choosing us as your holiday destination place, we always work on having everything perfect so you can have an incredible vacations!! thank you for your good comments!!


We hope to have you again at our hotel!!


Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great resort and friendly staff. Pools is amazing and you really don’t need to leave the resort as it had everything available. Could have provided a bigger sized bed than a double for a couple to sleep on. Lamb was an option for dinner but they had ran out. However, they made it work but the lamb wasn’t very good.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jimmy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jimmy W

On behalf of the Barceló Palace Staff, we want thank you for choosing us as your holiday destination place,we really appreciate your observations we will work in that so you can have an incredible vacations, We hope to have you again at our hotel!!


Regards!


Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at this resort this year. The rooms are very spacious. The rooms are very spread out from the lobby. Be prepared to walk a good distance. In my opinion the Barcelo Colonial is much better and a bit cheaper. When we arrived it was raining and the floors were very slippery, it made it difficult to walk to where you were going. The ocean view is beautiful however it is a lot smaller then the colonial. The pools are nice and clean. The staff is not as friendly as the colonial. Overall if I had to stay at the palace or the colonial, I would definitely stay at the colonial.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank A5817HBelizabethm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
We first would like to thank you for making our Barceló Palace your preferred choice for your holidays in Riviera Maya , it is always a pleasure to welcome back our most loyal guests year after year.
We want to thank you for the advice on the safety around the floors and passed your comments to our technical service so that they can revise the situation in order to study how this can be improved.
At Barceló we lay high value on our personnel being guest oriented and welcoming at all times, being fully aware that their interactions with our guests have an enourmous impact on the overall holiday expérience in our hotels, therefore we are sincerely sorry to read your comments on the service your received and commit to adjust any situation that leads us away from our goal being to make sure our guests feel welcome and attended to at all times.
Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews