We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10 187)
Filter reviews
10 187 results
Traveller rating
5 493
2 868
1 020
453
353
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5 493
2 868
1 020
453
353
Show reviews that mention
All reviews maya beach coba building fish playa del carmen spanish restaurant other resorts rancho grande a la carte restaurants captain morgans lobby bar beach buffet mini golf beach section steak beautiful resort buffet food palm trees
Filter
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 10 187 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018

My strong input would be not say it’s all- inclusive when you have to pay for Wi-Fi, water park etc etc. Also only beer and soft drinks in mini-fridge when if you don’t drink those you have nothing; could small wines or champagnes also be included. Also think I wrote <25 for age but I was going to put all our ages. I am 76 so hardly 25. Sorry.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank malone13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Dear Malone13,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics

We understand reading your review that apprently you were not properly informed about your All Inclusive type of meal plan upon reservation and would like to take the opportunity to point out that,as reported on our website, the All Inclusive is related to drinks, meals , snacks and the entertainment program.

Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We ( a group of seven) just returned from a family vacation from this resort. I have been to several all inclusive resorts and I would have to say that this one is about average. The food was good, not great, and you pretty much had to eat at the buffet the whole vacation. Depending on how long you stay, you may get a couple of meals at the al la carte restaurants included. We got one of those meals, all our other meals had to be eaten at the same buffet. The beach was beautiful but full of seaweed and we were covered in it after a dip in the ocean. Can't fault the resort for that, but thought it was worth mentioning. When swimming you must have a towel card to get a towel, which can get a little annoying, walking back and forth to the shop. Also, there are many things not included with the cost; room service, wine with al la carte dinner, swimming with the dolphins, etc. The room was were things really took a turn. Our fan did not work, the refrigerator keep getting hot, and the worst part was that our door handle came right off on the inside. That part was a little scary! On the plus side, the beach itself was beautiful, the pools were large and very clean, and the staff we interacted with was very nice for the most part. We had one excellent waiter at the buffet, Candy, who I must compliment! He needs to give lessons to the other waiters. After visiting Chichen Itza, we got back late and rushed to the buffet before it closed, with all our bags still with us. The waiter decided to ask me how much i paid for a mask, then tells me I paid way too much for it then
proceeded to pick it up and tell me how low quality the wood and paint was. I keep telling him I was fine with my purchase, but he keep talking about it every time he came by the table. All the other workers were great! In conclusion, this place gets the job done, is nice for the price, but I wouldn't make it a priority to come back.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Las3p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Dear Las3p,

We first would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló May Beach for your holidays in the Mayan Riviera and for letting us know your concerns relating to your time in our hotel as it gives us an opportunity to look at areas which may have for improvement and for that we are grateful.

We also appreciate your kind words for our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being undoubtedly one of our hotel's main assets we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

From beginning to end my self and my husbands experience has been amazing! staff is so friendly especially Patricia H. and Astrid at the beach lobby bar near the reception they went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable, always trying to accomadate us and very helpful if we needed to find a location or to refer us for activities to do we could always count on them. W e had such a great time at the resort we didn't even have to leave the hotels, there is so much to do and the size of the resort is enormous, luckily the hotels offer a shuttle to take you around but if you prefer to walk just remember to bring comfortable shoes the views are magnificent and well worth the walk. The receptionists at the hotel were always very friendly and hospitable enough to accomadate us with a very impressive room, which was always left impeccably clean by our hotel maids karina and soledad again always so warm and welcoming. The resort its self is always well tended to and perfectly manicured definitely the cleanest resorts i have been too, the buffets are super impressive and always had something for every one (great for those picky eaters). Overall our stay has been spectacular, i wish i could stay forever, Barcelo Maya will be missed, we both look forward to bringing our friends and family next year!! BARCELO MAYA #1 RESORT TO STAY, YOU WILL NOT REGRET STAYING HERE!!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank marialepe035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Dear marialepe035,

Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Barceló Maya Beach. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. 

We also appreciate your kind words for our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being undoubtedly one of our hotel's main assets we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Just got back from 2 Weeks at this resort, after reading up on reviews before hand I was a little worried as there was some bad reviews but after going I'm not sure these people stayed at the same hotel.

First of all, the check in was quick, probably about 5-10 mins, everything was explained to us in detail and staff were so helpful, he directed to guest services where we could purchase wi-fi, this was $34 a week for 2 devices, a little disappointing that we had to pay for 24 hour wi-fi at a 5* hotel but they do have 6 hours a day free wi-fi, 10am-1pm in the mall and 3pm-6pm in another location. I would hope they make it free 24/7 all over in the future.

The room was very big and a big bathroom too, the decor was a little dated, blue, orange and dark wood, but not an issue, we had 1 king size bed and it was HUGE, it was probably the comfiest bed I have ever slept on. Our towels & face towels were replaced everyday along with the little extras. Mini fridge restocked everyday. Dressing Gowns, slippers, safe and ironing board in wardrobe,

We arrived 3 days before the storm hit so we got to see the beach at it's best, white sand and a clear blue sea, we went snorkelling outside the Palace/Tropical hotel's beach, didn't have to go far out at all to see turtles and lots of fish. As the storm hit it washed up so much seaweed and was non-stop for the rest of our time there, the staff were amazing and spent so much time cleaning it up, we spent a lot of our times at different pools instead, no matter what time we always managed to find free sunbeds, every pool has a swim up bar as well.

The food.. We went to all the Buffets, we found the service at the beach buffet wasn't the best but the food was good, we went to the caribe buffet more, its on the other side of the beach buffet, they had a bit more variety of food and service was better, the colonial and tropical buffets are also next to each other and the food variety and service was much better here, we would probably stay at one of these 2 hotels next time. The breakfast was our favourite as they did everything! We went to the Japanese, Italian, Spanish and Steak House whilst we were here, need to book well in advance as the latest we could get for some of them was 6-6:30pm. We went to the Japanese first, we were a little disappointed as we thought we were getting the show where they cook in front of you but we were placed on this long table with other people and just ordered with a waitress what food we would like, but the food was still good, next we went to the Spanish, this was my favourite, I got the Lamb and it was presented and cooked beautifully we did book to go again but had to cancel, the Steak house was next, very disappointed with this, we ordered 2 Rib Eyes and it was the thinnest piece of steak, like the ones you get from the buffet, so wouldn't go here again, last was the Italian, this was amazing, i ordered the chicken breast and it came with a side of carbonara, if it wasn't at the end of our holiday I would of gone again. We did book the fish restaurant but we had to cancel due to our excursion coming back late.

We booked our excursions through the Hotel rather than thomas cook as they were cheaper, the staff were so friendly and helpful, we first went to Xel-ha which was amazing and was very easy getting there and back with the rep. We then went to Xel-ha again and Xplor, would recommend both of these, so much to do. We also booked online to swim with the dolphins at the hotel before we arrived, we got this for $35 each which was 70% off, we also pre paid for photos that was discounted to $49 each, bit odd that photos would cost more than the experience but happy with the overall price! would recommend booking this way, the experience was great but unfortunately the pool the dolphins were in was very small, the pool for guests were almost triple the size! I would hope they look into this and make a bigger enclosure for them.

Overall, I would love to come back to this hotel and can't wait!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Adele-GC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Dear Adele,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

We got complimentary upgrade to beachfront Jr. Suite room during our 2nd stay. Room is spacious. and clean. Cleaning service is nice and neat. The Food are great especially the nice restaurant dinners! You got what you paid for just in meals already. Then there are night entertainment for the family to enjoy. Beach are beautiful with lots of palm trees and lounge chairs. Many pools and kids pools are fun and entertaining! Excellent resort!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank Sunshinelookup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Dear Sunshinelookup,

Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló Maya Beach hotel once again for your holidays and for sharing this wonderful feedback of your recent stay among us, it is indeed very rewarding to read that we keep on meeting all your holiday needs and wishes year after year.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews