We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of The Ongar Bell

Take a seat at your very own bar!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Take a seat at your very own bar!
A great space for a great time! Something to keep the boys entertained?!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Take a seat at your very own bar!
A great space for a great time!
Something to keep the boys entertained?!
Art deco backdrop behind the bar
The dining room with exposed original beams
The living room with a real log fire
Double bedroom, tastefully decorated in blue
En suite double bedroom tastefully decorated in black and white
Double bedroom, tastefully decorated in green
Double bedroom with bay window, tastefully decorated in gold
Spacious landing
Large family kitchen with American style fridge freezer
Kitchen double doors open out on to a spacious terrace, perfect for al fresco dining!
The Ongar Bell, an impressive landmark on the High Street
A perfect place to relax in your own lounge bar
Patio area
Garden area
Garden area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
High Ongar, Ongar, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Siobhan S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs ”
Reviewed 19 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I found the Ongar bell while searching for a place to stay for my best friends hen weekend in Essex, I wanted a house as opposed to a hotel so was delighted when I found it!

The house is absolutely amazing with its on bar and separate dining room ( don't think we were ever out of the bar ), one of the nights we had a chef come in and cook for us which was fab and we even made use of the dumb waiter! It has everything you could possibly need and we just arranged a saindburys food delivery for when we arrived.

The bedrooms are beautifully decorated, each with their own style and two had an ensuite!

The location was brilliant , Ongar is a beautiful little town with lots of restaurants and bars dotted along it if you wanted to stay local or we went through to Brentwood on a few occasions which was only 15mins in a taxi!

We all had a fantastic weekend and I really think the house made it, I would recommend it to anyone staying in Essex with a large party and we all can't wait to go back, maybe in summer so we can make full use of the lovely garden and hot tub!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2016
Thank you for your review, you are a lovely bunch of girls flying down from Scotland to visit Essex and I hope the wedding is as successful as your hen weekend.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“A-Mazing”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Have had a great time at The Ongar Bell for my early 30th celebrations! So fantastic and everyone (girls weekend) have enjoyed and can't wait to come again for longer!!! The whole place is just fantastic and has everything you could possibly need. The dum waiting was great novelty and the gardens lights were magical. The bar and pool table were well used and great fun and even the ocardo delivery driver wants to come with his friends! Bedrooms all fab and wonderfully decorated along with plenty of bedding & towels. Look forward to coming again. Many thanks. Love Amy & friends x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lows82
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“SUPERB STAY & STAG DO AT THE ONGAR BELL”
Reviewed 10 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I was given best man duties and needed a place that slept 11 guys for a stag weekend. I stumbled across the Ongar Bell online and thought this was the ideal place for us all.

My friend (the groom and I) were shown around by the cleaner, and the pictures of this place on the internet really do not do it justice. The place is huge! Rooms were decent sizes and many en suites. The garden is beautiful and the entire place is immaculate. The bar area is awesome and well equipped. In fact the entire place wants for nothing. An ideal location for us, as not far for the activities during the day and places to eat out in the evening. There's everything you could inside.

The only tiny negative is the front rooms get alot of noise from the main road but that is to be expected due to it's location and the fact it's a lovely old building.

We were all blown away by the place and would recommend this to anyone with a large group who wish to have their own pub and party. We would all like to visit again one day.

10/10!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall place
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn T
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A real fun place with loads to do!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
4
people found this review helpful

12 adult family members stayed here for a 'get together'. Having planned a quiz night and darts & pool competitions, we had lots of fun in the evenings including a karaoke night. We even had a couple of the locals pop their heads around the side door wondering if the 'pub' was open!
In the daytime we visited Kalvedon hatch the 'Nuclear bunker', which is only 5 mins drive away. This took about 2 hours and was really very interesting (£7 each). We caught the London underground train from Epping station (£9 each return, this includes using any underground, overground and buses in zones 1 - 6).
Bowling in Romford (£6 for two games). Drove to Brentwood (15 minutes) and saw a couple of the TOWIE cast - this was great for the younger ones in our group.
Went to Southend for the day (£10 for parking all day but can pay £5 for half a day) only £4 for a speed boat ride in the sea and £4 for the return train on the pier. Also the funfair rides are half price after about 6pm.
Chipping Ongar is quite a busy little place (especially the roads), visit the lovely shops, walk the mile through the 'Essex way' fields and visit 'Greensted' church with the crusaders grave. Also Sainsbury's is just around the corner and there is also a Tesco express and garage.
After all that collapse on the sofas ( there are 5), watching a film on sky tv with a takeaway.
The house is really spacious and lovely, we could live there. The garden twinkles at night with all the little lights (or was that the vodka!) and the 'dumb waiter' is a real fun feature.
Wifi was great.
Don't hesitate, book this fun place now - you will want to go back again, I know we will.
From the Leggett and Teague families x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large bar area with pool table
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky C
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Totes Amaze!”
Reviewed 14 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and a group of friends hired the Ongar Bell for the weekend for my Hen Party. When we arrived we were completely blown away by this place, It is just huge and so well presented :) The bar area was perfect for our pre nite out drinks and dancing :) Especially as my friends had organised a cocktail waitor to come and man the bar and make us cocktails all nite! We all had such an amazing time here and we were very sad when we had to leave and come home. No doubt a return trip will be required in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Bar
Liked least: The Oven / Microwave facilities could have been better for 12 people
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing