We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful place to stay for relaxation and...”
other travellers have booked this property
Gorgeous oceanfront home with private pool and jacuzzi - affordable luxury! Sleeps 14, 5 bedrooms!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gorgeous oceanfront home with private pool and jacuzzi - affordable luxury! Sleeps 14, 5 bedrooms!
Enjoy balmy evenings, swim in the pool under the stars - the most wonderful vacation you can imagine Sunset drinks sitting by the pool -  live the life most people only dream of! So beautiful!!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Gorgeous oceanfront home with private pool and jacuzzi - affordable luxury! Sleeps 14, 5 bedrooms!
Enjoy balmy evenings, swim in the pool under the stars - the most wonderful vacation you can imagine
Sunset drinks sitting by the pool -  live the life most people only dream of! So beautiful!!
Our large well equipped kitchen & BBQ will make preparing meals a breeze. Ask for rates for chef
Lumina's 5 bedrooms are cooled by traditional eco methods and ceiling fans.  En suite bathrooms.
Bedrooms look on to tropical gardens, beautiful flowers, palm trees, bird song and waves; paradise!
Two of our bedrooms connect via the bathroom, great for families with children!
Our 5 rooms sleep 14 people comfortably, sheets and towels provided - daily cleaning.
The gardens are lush and beautiful, onsite parking is available. No car? Taxis easily available
Spacious living room, dining room & kitchen mean that even the largest group can enjoy peace & quiet
Elegantly decorated with  Asian, African and Mexican pieces Villa Lumina provides perfect relaxation
Five bedroomsl cooled by traditional ecological systems and celling fans. Bedrooms w ensuite bathrms
Master bedroom looks onto the ocean and palm trees, lie in bed and hear the surf..
Comfortable sofas indoor & poolside-  the best  for catching up with friends and family! read a book
Enjoy fresh produce and fish, sitting at our large table - don't want to cook? Hire a local chef!
Lie back and watch the waves, the kids in the pool, a dolphin swim by, pelicans fly past..heaven
Cumaná's beach is unparalleled. Play football, walk, look for turtles that come to lay their eggs
Lounge poolside on our comfortable sofas, in a hammock, or on a sunbed. What could be better?
Bathrooms are decorated in tropical colours and reflect the beautiful flowers in our gardens
Feel your cares fall away as you come through our spectacular entrance!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Puerto Escondido, Southern Mexico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Blazw
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place to stay for relaxation and enjoyable”
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I enjoy the place. It has beautiful view and my kids enjoy the swimming pool. I recommend this place. Excellent for relaxation and Lupe was great and friendly.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lessley A
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect spot for a large group”
Reviewed 1 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We went to Villa Lumina for a week over Thanksgiving with our entire extended family. We had two 4 year olds with us, as well as an infant. We opted to hire the cook for the entire time to make it easier. The place was amazing. I have never been to a vacation rental where the actual experience when you get there is as good as you pictured it (or as good as the pictures pictured it) until I got to THIS place. The way it was structured, with the indoor/outdoor living space for the "living room" and kitchen area feeding right into the pool, which in turn feeds right into the beach, was spectacular. The bedrooms were clean and cute. Couldn't say enough about the area and the staff... So cool. Highly recommended.

There were evenings where the entire family would just be hanging out in the pool, with the ocean crashing behind us, for seemingly hours! It was so warm and relaxing.

The bedrooms are real bedrooms, and there is plenty of room for all, just as the ad says. Not like some vacation rentals, where when you get there you realize that some of the rooms have weird beds crammed in the corners or hideaways or what not.

The only conceivable downsides, which as you will see are not even downsides, more just pointers:
1. Couldn't find any stereo despite what they say, so definitely bring your own jam box for tunes.
2. Don't try to sleep outside in a hammock, as you will be eaten alive by mosquitos!!
3. It's about a 15 min drive into the town of Puerto, so if you want to hang out in town, it's a bit of a drive. If you hire the cook, you have to shop for the ingredients for her, but it's not a big deal to do that. There's a big supermarket and it's easy to get there, park etc.

This place is seriously the bomb, and I will definitely try to come back as soon as possible!!!!!
Imagine being someplace with your entire family and not wanting to kill each other by the end of it. That's how great this place was. :)

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2016
Hello Lessley, thanks so much for your review! I am really happy you had a great vacation, that is our goal in sharing our beautiful villa.
I'm so sorry about the stereo, we opted for bluetooth speakers because people bring ipods etc, I'll make sure the info is updated on the page. Re the mozzies they are seasonal, thank goodness! I hope we get to host your family again, Lupe and Gloria say hi!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamBru...
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Paradise - just dreamy”
Reviewed 8 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Having stayed at Villa Lumina a couple of times, I thought it was high time I wrote a review. The place is an absolute dream: a beautifully designed spacious airy villa right on the beach with its own gorgeous pool. The sheer natural beauty of the location is a real plus point: romantic beach walks in the early morning to a nearby lagoon with wading birds, or sunset strolls followed by cocktails by the pool. The place is ideal to stay at with friends or a family group, as there is plenty of space for everyone to spread out and do their own thing (read, meditate, soak in the pool, cook up a storm in the well-equipped kitchen with fresh seafood and veg from the market in nearby Puerto Escondido). We found the place perfect for entertaining (would be great for a special occasion treat) and as a relaxing retreat. Just get together some of your favourite people, and in such a beautiful place it's impossible not to have a wonderful feel-good holiday.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabian P
2 reviews
“This is probably the nicest place I have been to in my whole life”
Reviewed 15 January 2015 for a stay in February 2013

I'm not sure if I truly want to recommend this place to the outside world. It's simply too beautiful and parts of me wants to keep it a secret. But then, Cath and the family is so so nice that I'm happy to share. This place is incredible, absolutely incredible. The location is insane, directly at the beach, the house is beautiful and well equipped, the owners so nice. Highly recommended for a dream vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House and location
Liked least: Nothing, there was nothing to complain about
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurabla2...
Rosario, Argentina
1 review
“One of my favorite vacations”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in July 2013

This is an amazing house! we went with kids and it was perfect for everyone, the bedrooms are very comfortable and the bathrooms adequate for the three families traveling together. Lupe, the helper, and his family are very sweet, they provided us with everything we needed. The living room opening to the ocean and swimming pool was absolutely the best of the house. We enjoyed our morning walks at the beach, where we were almost by ourselves. At first I worry how we would get there, but Cath, the owner, arranged a van for us from Oaxaca City to the front door and picked us up 2 weeks later. We didn't have to worry about anything. We had a perfect vacation, I highly recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: the privacy
Liked least: it was just perfect
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing