We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
WIOL.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
eDreams
Orbitz.com
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (637)
Filter reviews
637 results
Traveller rating
337
197
58
25
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
337
197
58
25
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews daily cleaning swimming pool tropical birds welcome package beach beds very nice stay small beach sea water walking distance beach area washing machine villa zest resort beaches island curacao
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 637 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2020

Papagayo has good and bad aspects to it. The natural environment is BEAUTIFUL; the rooms are in smaller buildings situated at various spots on a decline (slight cliff) down to the water. Amazing flowers and shrubbery. This resort caters to Europeans, as there was no electrical outlet for American appliances in the room and we did not have a converter; needed to borrow from front desk. They provide two slim towels and no washcloths-- as is typical in European hotels (how do you get clean w/o a washcloth?)
I did not observe any other Americans (an aspect I loved) & most people spoke Dutch. We declined housekeeping but asked for new towels and coffee; these never arrived. Each room has a large, nice deck or balcony, However the deck chairs are very uncomfortable. The room was large, modern and attractive except the bathroom reminded me of a locker room. It is painted concrete walls and floors with no decoration. Again, HIGH SCHOOL LOCKER ROOM. Not enjoyable to take a shower or get ready. There is a very small beach here, in like an inlet, and you have to pay for a chair or chaise. Basically, there's just no beach here. The swimming pools are very nice and there's drink and food service at pools. The restaurants on site were pretty bad. We did not have a good meal in Curacao. I would definitely stay here again, because the grounds are so nice and the room was clean w/ nice view, but I do not think the $300 per nite was worth it. So I'd stay, if I got a better $deal$.

Room tip: Ask for a view of the water (ocean front suite)
Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SuzyMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papagayo_C, Community Manager at Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2020

Dear SuzyMiami,

It was our pleasure hosting you at Papagayo Beach Resort. We are thrilled to know our convenient location and outstanding hospitality helped make your stay a memorable one.
Your feedback is of utmost value to us as it will help us to improve. We appreciate your business and hope to be your first choice every time you all visit our area.

Best regards,
Team Papagayo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2020

Papagayo resort is nicely located at the Janthiel area. Use of the beach area with free beach beds is included. Shady spots are however limited. The villas are nicely equipped with large verandas. The kitchen items do need some improvement.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank RexProca
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papagayo_C, Community Manager at Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2020


Dear RexProca,

Many thanks for such a wonderful review! We are glad to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us!

Do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of service to you (reservations@papagayo.com), as we look forward to welcoming you back to Curaçao & Papagayo Beach Resort!

Warm regards,
Team Papagayo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2020

Papagayo is perfect!!
We had the sea-view bungalow. It was really nice waking up looking at the sea every morning.
Everyday cleaning service, clean towels, beach towels. Welcome package when you arrive. Which was great, since we arrived late in the evening. So the fridge was filled with all we needed, also for breakfast. Only thing what was really annoying, the mosquitoes. The bungalow is fully open, so they fly in really easy. We were all covered with mosquito bites.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Petravanderspek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papagayo_C, Community Manager at Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2020


Dear Petravanderspek,

Many thanks for such a wonderful review! We are glad to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us!

Do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of service to you (reservations@papagayo.com), as we look forward to welcoming you back to Curaçao & Papagayo Beach Resort!

Warm regards,
Team Papagayo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2019 via mobile

So totally crovded over populated. Nothing cosy over this place. Recomend you drive up north and visit the small beaches. Will not recomend or visit this place again.
We stayd for lunch, at one of the restaurants. Ok food but they forgot half of the order.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 904elizae
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papagayo_C, Community Manager at Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2020

Dear 904elizae,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your online review. Unfortunately, you're posting a review of the beach under Papagayo Resort and we didn't have the pleasure to host you during your visit to Curacao. Maybe the next time you visit Curacao you can stay at one of our beautiful Villas and enjoy all the amenities of Papagayo Beach Resort has to offer.

Also, Jan Thiel Beach has many different restaurants and only one of the 8 restaurants belongs to Papagayo Curacao. We're sorry that you didn't enjoy your day at Jan Thiel Beach.

We would welcome an opportunity to accommodate you in the future.

Sunny regards,
Team Papagayo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2019

The Villa was sooo nice, big, close to the exit, reception, great view.
They placed a mosquito net for the bedroom, which was needed.
I have to go back over there. All of the people of the Resort were professional, nice, and helpful especially during the power failure!

Date of stay: November 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SheilaKoeleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papagayo_C, Community Manager at Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2019

Dear SheilaKoeleman,

Many thanks for such a great review of Papagayo Beach Resort! We are always glad to be of service and we appreciate hearing that our efforts add to the pleasure and experience of our guests.

Please do not hesitate in contacting us directly if we can be of assistance, we look forward to having you back with us someday.

All the best,
Team Papagayo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews