We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Dagmar H
Cologne, Germany

Lions, Rhino and lovely landscape

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
We stayed 2 nights at the lodge. Everything was great. Our chalet was located on the bank of a dry river and sitting on the terrace there was ALWAYS animals to see walking by. The chalet itself was nice and spacious. The people were friendly and the food was good. We did a selfdrive 4x4 game drive which was a little adventurous as we got stuck on a sand dune once but managed to shovel the wheels free again.
On our second day we did the guided Lion Drive. That was spectacular. We saw 3 out of 4 lions and even a black rhino though far in the distance.
Summary: GO THERE!!
Date of stay: April 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KalahariGameLodge Management, General Manager at Kalahari Game Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and activities at the lodge.

Kind Regards,
Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Vio.com
Campground with braai area and washing area.
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
24.3 km from Kalahari Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
69.9 km from Kalahari Game Lodge
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
11.2 km from Kalahari Game Lodge
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
93.1 km from Kalahari Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Koes
Reviews (359)
Filter reviews
359 results
Traveller rating
254
87
13
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
254
87
13
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mata mata kgalagadi transfrontier park red dunes self drive game drives camping site wild animals nice bar stayed nights border post fantastic stay breakfast and dinner day trip swimming pool great campsite self catering lion tracking
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 359 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2024

We stayed in the camping place and were overwhelmed by everything offered at the lodge, from Charmain with her effective and prompt reply to all our queries, Lydia who helped us to feel welcome on arrival, Nelson for his very interesting and informative Lion tracking drive and to the wonderful helper who did our surprise washing up of dishes at the camp. Thank you, thank you, we will be back

Date of stay: April 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 161sonja
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KalahariGameLodge Management, General Manager at Kalahari Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2024

Dear Guest,

We thank you so very much for your amazing review. Our staff are just thrilled with the positive praise.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2024

We had a fantastic stay at the lodge. Very friendly and welcoming staff. The chalets are very nice, comfortable and clean. Also compliments to the chef, the food was fantastic.
The lion tracking was such a great experience and a very bumpy drive but so worth it, I would definitely recommend the lodge to anyone visiting the area. Hopefully we will be back one day.

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AndreaK-IanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KalahariGameLodge Management, General Manager at Kalahari Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2024

Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for your absolutely wonderful review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the lodge and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2024

Great camping venue very conveniently situated in close proximity to the Kgalagadi.
Very good welcome and a comfortable lodge with pool that can be shared by campers.
Another night would have been good to allow us to explore the farm a bit better.

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank keithmcnair60
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KalahariGameLodge Management, General Manager at Kalahari Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2024

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

Yes please stay a bit longer next time, so that you can explore some more.

Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2024

We had a relaxing an intersting stay for two nights in this well organised lodge. Very tidy, very freindly and open staff! Good food!
A special thanks to Charmaine and her team, always available, always friendly. Intersting lion tracking with Shonge, a little bit bumpy, but he warned ...

Date of stay: February 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank myheart61
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KalahariGameLodge Management, General Manager at Kalahari Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2024

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It is such a pleasure being able to provide you with a nice stay.

Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2024

My wife and I camped at Kalahari Game Lodge for 2 nights during Feb 2024. We stayed there after visiting the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park and used the Mata-Mata border post. This was our first time staying at Kalahari Game Lodge and we really loved it! Each camp site has its own bathroom and small kitchen area, with a raised platform for our ground tent which gives extra peace of mind. The sites are a nice distance apart and gives good privacy. Watching the game grazing in front of our site in the ancient river bed was very special. The staff at the reception were super friendly and we were welcome to use the lodge pool. We were also super happy to find Hansa draught on tap in their bar. The only minor shortcoming is there is no power for our fridge (only solar lighting and a donkey which made nice hot water) - but other than that it was perfect. This was our favourite campsite of our entire trip to Namibia and next time we will spend at least 3 nights and then also go to their restaurant.

Date of stay: February 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Travel282195
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KalahariGameLodge Management, General Manager at Kalahari Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2024

Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for your absolutely wonderful review of your stay in our camping site.

We are happy to hear this is your favourite camping spot in Namibia and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews