We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Alexander-Moelker
Meppel, The Netherlands

Making the Kalahari feel like home.

Review of Torgos Lodge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Sept 2019via mobile
Owner Dany will go to great lengths to make you feel at home in his small lodge at the border with South Africa. We stayed in the tented lodge (see picture) and it has all the comfort you'd expect. Beautiful view and absolute quiet at night.

Dany offers gamedrives on his private gamereserve where he lives to tell you all about the Kalahari and everything that lives and grows in it. To top it off he'll offer you a beer on the highest dune to watch the sun go down. You don 't want to miss it.

Baie dankie Dany, it was great!

Meals are all home cooked and very nice!
Swimming pool is well maintained and there is a waterhole with floodlight at which a lot of animals come to drink.

If you want to visit South Africa's "Kgalagadi Transfronteer Gamereserve" It's a mere 6 kilometers away. Giving you a good startpoint to be there at the opening of the Mata Mata gate at 8.00am.
Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
11.2 km from Torgos Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Vio.com
Campground with braai area and washing area.
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
35.4 km from Torgos Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
77.7 km from Torgos Lodge
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
89.9 km from Torgos Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Koes
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
8
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
8
3
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 11 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

After a long day driving on a dusty road... this is an extreme welcoming surprise. The staff all come out to greet you when you arrive and we knew everyone by name. Dinner was mouth watering springbok fillet, a starter I wish I could have again. And an equally enjoyable dessert. Wish this little gem was closer to home so we can book a longer stay.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank LetsGoGoGoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 June 2016

Stunning hidden gem. Superb hospitality with friendly host and hostess. Sparkling clean, good accommodation and lovely food. The resident dachshund is one of the cutest I have ever seen and all rooms have privacy and it's own unique view.

Room tip: All rooms have good views and private bathrooms - the ones near the lounge and bar are the best.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KariOos
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

After we were a few minutes late for the Namibian Kgalagadi border post with an extremely unpleasant Namibian Immigration woman !!

Luckily we ended up at Torgo's...absolute pleasure with pleasant people very nice tented chalet. At night game drank at the waterhole.

Without reservation I recommend Torgo's for one or multiple nights !!

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank johans567
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 February 2016

Great hospitality, nice stop just outside Khalagadi National Parc, a few kms from Mata Mata. Nice view at the waterhole. Big iceblocks on request waiting for us. Very good meat from the farm. The use of the facilities of the safaritent/chalet closeby. Possibility to do gamedrives. Our third time!

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank TenT58
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 October 2015

Only 6 kms from the Mata Mata entrance to Kgalagadi NP. There are small chalets decently appointed and spaced from each other and a waterhole that attracted a variety of game. This is a great place as a jump off point for the park. There is a restaurant as well. Staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. A great find and not expensive.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank GravelRoadAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews