We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
GravelRoadAdventures
Knysna, South Africa

Wilderness Surprise

Review of Torgos Lodge
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Oct 2015
Only 6 kms from the Mata Mata entrance to Kgalagadi NP. There are small chalets decently appointed and spaced from each other and a waterhole that attracted a variety of game. This is a great place as a jump off point for the park. There is a restaurant as well. Staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. A great find and not expensive.
Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
8
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
8
3
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 11 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

What an amazing experience! The setting. The drinking hole with a variety buck on your doorstep. The braai*s. The comfort. The people. This place is one of the musts for a holiday break away from the rush of a city. Loved it! Will be back. Many times. Tgank you Manus and Laura!

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 350charl03
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We were very pleasantly surprised by torgos. The rooms were nice and lovely and cool. The is air con although we didn't use it. The shower was great. There is a family of very friendly ground squirrels that live at the lodge which means you can get some great pictures of them. We did a game drive while we were there which we very much enjoyed. We also mentioned that we really would like to see a porcupine and they took us out again for a night drive after dinner. We didn't see a porcupine but there were loads of spring hares, bat eared foxes, a cape fox and a genet. They didn't charge us any extra for this on top of the afternoon game drive. The food was good and the service was friendly.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WildlifeFan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We simply booked Torgos for its strategic location, however, in the end we were more than happy with our decision. Very new chalets with good furnishing, coffee/tea and a view to the waterhole with Springbok and Wildebeest. Dinner was very very good, owners very friendly and welcoming! A definite recommendation.

(Value mark is given based on Namibian rate.)

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ernst38
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 August 2014
Google Translation

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews