We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely house on a steep hill”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Alta Dos

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
San Miguel de Allende, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
FXPaz
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A lovely house on a steep hill”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
5
people found this review helpful

Dear Mr. Sims,
Indeed we had a most pleasant time at Villa Alta Dos. The house and everything in it was in exquisite taste. We marveled at how well built it was (the tiles, the brick work, the curved ceiling...). The house had all the amenities that one would wish to feel at home. Veronica was extremely gracious and helpful. The staff was reliable and efficient. However it is unlikely that we will book the Villa in the future because, although we are good walkers, we found the walk downhill on the cobblestones too hard for our old legs. We thank you for having entrusted your house to us and wish you the best of luck. Claudette and Francis Paz

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: modern comfort in esthetically pleasing surroundings
Liked least: walking up and down on cobblestones to leave and return to the small paradise
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, Kansas
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in January 2015
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely Grounds
Liked least: Steep walk from Jardin to Apartment
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Harley D
1 review
“Lovely and peaceful place to stay”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Loved the buildings and the landscaped grounds. Loved the secluded courtyard. Senora Alvarado was great to work with and was very responsive to any requests we had. She even bought a brand new hairdryer when we enquired if we needed to bring our own.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property itself, especially the landscaped courtyard.
Liked least: Couch and bed. A little firm for my tastes.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2015
Thanks for the kind words. We hope you will comeback some day. Veronica and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CameronFl...
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A peaceful setting on a quiet street”
Reviewed 7 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

So - our shuttle driver was waiting for us at the airport with a nice modern vehicle. He took us to Veronica's (the property manager) office and she delivered us to the rental and gave us the keys, etc. John (the owner) has provided a comprehensive orientation book along with maps and a fresh copy of the local paper.

The rental is ideal for two people with the downstairs as living room (with modern TV) and kitchen/dining space - the loft for bath and sleeping. The space outside is around 3000 square feet so there was room for Tai Chi in the morning with a lovely view.

The Casa is about a mile uphill from the Jardin - we undertook to walk both ways and I managed to lose 4 pounds during our two week stay.

Our return to the airport was just as painless as our arrival.

I can't say enough about Veronica our manager and John the owner. They were superbly accommodating and made us ignorant midwesterners very welcome indeed.

An entirely positive experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2015
Cameron - We are glad you had a great experience. As you know, we just started listing the Villa this year, so a positive review such as yours is greatly appreciated. I hope you will be back in the future. John and Veronica
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S Kristi...
Evanston, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This is a place of peace and quiet.”
Reviewed 7 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved this comfortable place on the hill. We quickly felt at home. The walk down the hill to the Jardin is beautiful and we also enjoyed the hike up again. We enjoyed star gazing at night and watching the workers climb the hill across the way every morning. Definitely a great place to stay. I would choose it again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort
Liked least: I have no complaints
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2015
Cameron - Thank you for such a positive review. You were a great guest and I hope you will return in the future. Veronica and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing