We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
tmontanari12
Johannesburg, South Africa

Amazing stay at NEW KINGS HOTEL

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 02 May 2021
Our stay at New Kings Hotel was great. As a previous guest, it was wonderful to see how the hotel has evolved. The hotel staff were great and with COVID-19, the cleanliness was important - New Kings took this very seriously and we felt safe staying there. Overall, we loved our stay and will be back again soon. Thank you!
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martine WOOD, General Manager at newkings boutique hotel, responded to this review
Responded 21 Jun 2021
Dear T Montanari,
Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey about your stay at New Kings Hotel. We always appreciate hearing feedback about the service that we provide, and your comments, have been taken to heart. We are delighted that we met with all your service expectations.
We are almost done with our refurbishment, with equipping and upgrading, to further improve the comfort in our rooms.
Our restaurant and conferencing facility will be re- launched on 1st July. You will be able to book for any functions and enjoy our full services, breakfast, lunch and dinner from the restaurant including of room service.
New Kings Hotel is in the heart of Sea Point, walking distance from the sea point promenade surrounded with many more attractions. Please enquire with us when doing your next booking.
We hope to see you at New Kings Hotel again soon!
Kind regards,
Martine Wood
General Manager

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
0.7 km from newkings boutique hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
  • Agoda.com
  • Prestigia.com
  • StayForLong
1.4 km from newkings boutique hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Booking.com
0.1 km from newkings boutique hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
    R 587
  • Booking.com
0.8 km from newkings boutique hotel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
1.6 km from newkings boutique hotel
Beachfront
Bar/Lounge
Elements Luxury Suites Amenities
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • Expedia.com
2.0 km from newkings boutique hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Sea Point and Sea View
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    R 2 135
  • Hotels.com
2.0 km from newkings boutique hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
    0.3 km from newkings boutique hotel
    getlstd_property_photo
    R 1 703
    • Agoda.com
    1.8 km from newkings boutique hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Outside garden and chill
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Vio.com
      R 567
    • Official Site
      R 804
    2.1 km from newkings boutique hotel
    Free Wifi
    Pool
    View more hotels in Sea Point
    Reviews (510)
    Filter reviews
    510 results
    Traveller rating
    251
    166
    54
    20
    19
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    251
    166
    54
    20
    19
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews kings hotel cape town zest restaurant the ground floor spacious rooms sea view walking distance excellent hotel pleasant stay the location is perfect spar reception woolies seapoint waterfront
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    100 - 105 of 510 reviews
    Reviewed 20 March 2021

    so we had quite a few problems in the hotel! There was no hot water, the internet didn’t work two days in a row there were some constructions happening, the door keys didn’t work, basically everything you could think of, but it wouldn’t be so bad as not about the manager of the hotel! She was the worse person I ever had an encounter with! Poor staff of hers, poor people in the hotel! The owners or directors of the hotels should def look into it! Such a rude and lack of manners person wow! I DO not recommend to go ! As you will see by yourself! On the other hand the rest of the staff was quite sweet!

    Date of stay: March 2021
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank Aisteee9
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Martine WOOD, General Manager at newkings boutique hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2021

    Dear Aisteee9, we thank you for your review. I would like to response on all that you mentioned that was not working in the hotel. You you said that you reported not having hot water and yet our front office maintained that you did not report it, as we have a Duty Management report where all incident or issues of maintenance happening in the hotel are being reported and attended, and this was not the case. When you came to front office eventually to report it, I personally addressed it, and went with our maintenance team to find out what was wrong, to find out that the switch had tripped and once reinstated, within one hour the hot water was back. The WIFI, our front office staff attended to you by assisting you to connect. He explained that your rooter kept on switching off when connecting and eventually he succeeded in assisting you. Regarding the door keys, we are aware of this problem and have attended to it. The world has closed down due to Covid19 and we are still waiting for the parts to arrive from overseas and unfortunately this is out of our control but apologized profusely for the inconvenience. We are busy doing refurbishing in the hotel as well as building a new restaurant and a board room. Sadly this can prove to be disruptive. We are mindful of it and we try to inform you within our welcome letter. Further letters are also sent out to all our guests to apologize for the noise if breaking or drilling occurring on the premises. As the manager of the hotel, I tried to assist you to the best of my ability. I went as far as writing you a letter to apologize for all inconvenience caused by offering you a complimentary night for the unfortunate incidents which you declined. I regret to have upset you, and hope to see you back for a better experience like many others have shared on this platform.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 15 March 2021

    This hotels staff are an absolute dream, so lovely and helpful to my husband and i when our previous accommodation messed up our booking turning my panic into a thing of the past.This accommodation is so perfect, it is walking distance to the beach and local attractions. I cant fault this hotel or the staff! Well done on pure perfection!

    Date of stay: March 2021
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank Roving773838
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Martine WOOD, General Manager at newkings boutique hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2021

    Dear Roving 773838, Thank you for taking the time to complete your review about your stay at New Kings Hotel. We always appreciate hearing feedback about the service that we provide, and your comments, have been taken to heart. We are pleased that we could assist you and that we met with all your service expectations. I will surely share this with all my team, as this is truly rewarding in knowing that we are appreciated, and are achieving our goal in delivering 'service by excellence'. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 14 March 2021

    All round terrible but mostly the service. Obviously expected so much more during lockdown. There are many other great options in the area that I would recommend and of course opt for next time. Hope this review helps

    Date of stay: February 2021
    Trip type: Travelled on business
    Thank JenBen2021
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Martine WOOD, General Manager at newkings boutique hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2021

    Dear JenBen2021 thank you for your review. I am very sorry that you were so unhappy about the service you received at our hotel. I tried to look at our data base in order to call you but sadly cannot find your email address. I would appreciate it if you could make contact with me at the hotel in order to assist. We take your review very seriously and would like to address it. I look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 11 March 2021

    I was really pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The staff was very warm and friendly. There was an issue with my door which took quite a while to fix, but the staff was really helpful and made sure the door was fixed asap. I would definitely stay here again - great value for money!

    Date of stay: March 2021
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank mandelarey
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Martine WOOD, General Manager at newkings boutique hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2021

    Dear Mandelarey
    Thank you for you kind review. We certainly are happy that we could meet with your service expectations. We appreciate your understanding and patience with our door, we have attended to the problem. We are awaiting parts to arrive from overseas but are experiencing delays of delivery due to covid19. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 8 March 2021

    The staff and management have gone over and beyond what was required to make my stay a memorable and comfortable one. The hotel is conveniently located with spacious comfortable rooms with sea views.
    I will definitely be back.

    Date of stay: March 2021
    • Trip type: Travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank RoshanSookdeo
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Martine WOOD, General Manager at newkings boutique hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2021

    Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey about your stay at New Kings Hotel. We always appreciate hearing feedback about the service that we provide, and your comments, have been taken to heart. We are delighted that we met with all your service expectations.
    We are in the middle of refurbishment, equipping and upgrading to further improve the comfort in our rooms.
    Our restaurant and conferencing facility will be re- launched in June this year and apologize for these services not being available in the hotel at the moment.
    New Kings Hotel is in the heart of Sea Point, walking distance from the sea point promenade surrounded by eateries and restaurants with many more attractions. Please enquire with us regarding these services at your next booking.
    We hope to see you at New Kings Hotel again soon!
    Kind regards,
    Martine

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews