We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Forest Paradise generously shared with other mere...”
other travellers have booked this property
Cottage and Pond
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage and Pond
Pool Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Cottage and Pond
Pool
Master Bedroom
Patio
Master Bathroom
Second Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Hiking with River Lily
Living Room
Kitchen
River Walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Magoebaskloof, Limpopo Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dennis W
Sandton, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Forest Paradise generously shared with other mere frazzled mortals”
Reviewed 23 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I would not be put off a visit to this gem by claims of a 4x4 being a requirement to traverse the winding farm road to the cottage as any sedan with good clearance and a driver with patience will get there without a problem. The facilities warrant the five star ratings period! We stayed in Herb Cottage for 3 nights to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary and found the setting ideal for a relaxing break birding and exploring the farm and it's characters. The hosts Elsepeth and Ralph are generous to the extreme in sharing their bit of hard earned Paradise with guests. The warm breeze blowing up the valley bearing the fragrance of fresh herbs is something I will remember for a long time. Just go there don't waste time faffing about looking at other places.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Décor and layout of property and plunge pool
Liked least: The fact that we had to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2016
Thanks Dennis! You were such enthusiastic guests it was a pleasure getting to know you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann F
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal spot for a recharge”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Herb Cottage is a little piece of heaven! Private and secluded, it offers the ideal opportunity to relax and recharge. The setting of the cottage is also lovely - looking out into the forest, with the sound of the nearby stream. The cottage is spacious, well equipped and very comfortable. The little touches make this place very special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and privacy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2015
Ann it was wonderful having you here over last weekend - come back in summer when you can lie next to the pool and totally relax!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyStaf...
1 review
“The perfect place to reconnect and rejuvenate”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The Herb Cottage is the ultimate getaway if you need quiet, connected time with your family.
The cottage is charming and pefectly kitted out, set in a forest with a garden filled with flowers, birds and butterflies. Play board games, braai, explore the river or take a bath with a view of the forest. If you are feeling stressed and tired, this is the perfect soul food.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda54
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay in the rain forest”
Reviewed 17 March 2015 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed in The Herb Cottage for 2 perfect relaxing nights in late 2013 probably soon after the cottage was first open for visitors. I have looked for it on Trip Adviser many times without success but at last it is listed.

The cottage is wonderful; spacious, very well equipped and extremely peaceful. We loved the outdoor shower (hot water), fresh water plunge pool (though it was rather chilly) and especially all the wildlife including rare samango monkeys. Ralph and Elspeth, the owners and their staff were very welcoming and helpful. It was a perfect place to chill out before embarking on the next leg of our South African journey to Kruger NP. We didn’t have a 4 wheel drive vehicle and we made it along the 2.5 km track in our little rental car from the main road without any problems. I hope that we can return to The Herb Cottage one day

Liked best: Staying in the rain forest
Liked least: It rained!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOYENI
JHB
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Avo aphrodisiac.”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

sometimes one does not want to post a review simply because one would prefer a well discovered secret to remain a secret. We stayed two nights in this delightful cottage. It is found down a rather rudimentary two and half kilometre track. The shake, rattle and roll is worth it but you will need a 4x4. Herb Cottage is very well appointed and most charmingly decorated. The owner has used her own glass artworks to add unique decor focal points. A spacious living area incorporates an open plan lounge, dining table and kitchen with every attention given to your comfort. A superbly kitted kitchen, fireplace and indulgent settees warmly welcome you. A large pot of freshly picked herbs is left for your use by the affable hostess. Two large double bedrooms with feather duvets and en suite bathrooms add to the conviviality. Large sliding doors give you uninterrupted views of your private splash pool and the river frontage. The absolute peace and quiet is rare. The cottage is situated on a working avocado farm, but herbs and honey are also produced. Wellingtons are thoughtfully provided for your ramblings, as is a picnic basket and various games. And the owner has her glass studio nearby should you be so beguiled by her examples in the cottage as to desire something of your own to take home. Frankly I hope the owner does not add chocolate making to her repertoire because I would then have my full quartet of favourite foods. And she would never be rid of me.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage.
Liked least: The shower door needs to be placed between the shower and basin as the present set up renders it impossible to use the basin after showering due to the resultant water mess.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing