We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
23 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Official Hotel
US$726
US$658
View deal
Expedia.comUS$726
Hotels.comUS$726
CheapTicketsUS$726
FindHotelUS$724
Orbitz.comUS$726
TravelocityUS$726
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 645)
Filter reviews
1 645 results
Traveller rating
1 354
216
33
24
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 354
216
33
24
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool salsa night salsa dancing food and drinks ceviche beach beds beautiful beach day bed beach side turn down service girls trip amazing hotel the penthouse tulum beach our honeymoon the entire staff laid back
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1 645 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2021

This boutique hotel is in the absolute perfect location. Quiet at night, right on the beautiful Tulum beach. The staff constantly went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed and were as comfortable as possible. The restaurant, the coffee bar, the beach bar, were all top notch. I would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking about going to Tulum!

Room tip: The plunge pool room has the best access and view :)
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lbutkunas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo Martinez, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Ms Liana,

Thank you so much for your review and words. We will make sure to share with the team.

It makes us feel really happy to hear your perception of our service. Thank you again for recommending us, and we hope to host you back soon.

Best,

Gustavo Martínez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2021

Location - La Zebra's location is perfect for visiting the bars and restaurants on the strip. Expect noise as it does attract a young crowd and is located on the strip.

Service - the staff are attentive, kind and very responsive. They were fantastic throughout.

Food/drink - there is an on site restaurant on the beach which has excellent food and drink, especially the octopus tacos.

Pool - is pretty much non existant, this isn't really used by anyone and seems to be the trend across Tulum.

Beach - is a great spot for hanging out and drinking.

Parking - is free right opposite the hotel.

Covid - paid 35 dollars for a covid test in our room, super efficient.

Overall, we gave this 4 star as for the very expensive price, we would expect a quieter room and a better pool, however overall it was a lovely stay.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Christiano_N7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo Martinez, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2021

Dear Christiano,

Thank you so much for your extensive review and comments. We really appreciate you taking the time to offer your feedback and advise to future guests.

It is definitely one of the most expensive times of the year, but we take your comments in the most objective perspective possible.

We will let the team know about your positive feedback and we hope you can come back soon.

Best,

Gustavo Martínez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2021 via mobile

Top reasons to stay at La Zebra Hotel in Tulum, Mexico!

1. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ customer service
2. The friendly staff greets you with a complimentary margarita at check-in
3. Central location to all Tulum attractions, restaurants, and shops
4. Top notch rooms with a state of the art shower #showergoals
5. Beautiful beach with instagrammable moments
6. Outdoor jungle gym to get your reps in before, during, and after beachside cocktails
7. Delicious eats and drinks at the hotel restaurant! Don’t leave without trying the breakfast burrito, veggie quesadillas, or toast!
8. Spacious lounges to “WFB” aka work from beach and check your emails
9. Refreshing beachside cocktails at @mulberryprojectpopup with the most entertaining bartenders that will not let you leave without a guaranteed good time! Shout out to Josh (@atipsytraveler), Elliott (@gambocambo), and Rudi (@yaboyrudi) who made our experience at La Zebra the absolute best!
10. The hotel offers covid testing on-site in your hotel room that is mandatory before heading back to the U.S.

P.s. If you go to the beach after dark, you can see the clearest view of the stars!

Thank you for the amazing memories La Zebra!

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank ThePriCheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo Martinez, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2021

Dear Guest & frineds,

Thank you so much for such a detailed review and comments. It is quite special and unique. It really offers future travelers insights of what their experience can be.

We are glad you had a good time and we hope you can make it back very soon. We will be happy to host you again.

I will share your comments with the team, I´m sure they will feel proud about themselves after your review.

Thank you again.

Gustavo Martínez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2021 via mobile

Let me start by saying how amazing the service was. We were first greeted by Joss and I kid you not, he would always greet my husband by name every time he sees us. My name is quite complicated so I didn’t mind being called, “the Mrs”. We got room 8 with the jacuzzi and it was absolutely perfect. I feel like it was close enough to the beach, but far enough from the crowd by the bar. They kept our rooms and general area clean. Facilities were well kept. The restaurant was a plus, if you decide not to play car dodging outside the hotel. We received tea and chocolate in our room which was a very nice touch. They also provide you with mosquito repellant and you will also received a small bottle of tequila to start your stay. Unfortunately, algae at this time is everywhere in tulum, but it’s amazing how La Zebra employees work almost ALL DAY to clean the beach area for their guest. We were beyond impressed with the effort they put in. We walked around the area and it seems like we were the only ones that had a clean looking beach. Not only that, but all employees are friendly and would go above and beyond. We are left with such a good experience and even made a bartender friend (Santos), who provided us with the best service regardless if we were on the beach or just saying hello while we were relaxing in our jacuzzi. The hotel itself is family friendly and they provide a little playground for your little chicklings. The bar is located right in front of the playground (if you are facing the beach from the playground), so you can take your shots of tequila while keeping an eye on your little trouble makers or they can keep an eye or you... whoever wants to be the trouble maker for the day. There was so much care and detail put into the hotel that we were so sad to leave. We will definitely stay here again.

Note:
Parking: their guest parking is across the street. Once you see the reception area as you drive in, it should be located on the right hand side.

Date of stay: March 2021
1  Thank Khykhy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo Martinez, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and comments. We really appreciate you being so descriptive as your message will help other guests live the experience through yours.

We are glad you took full advantage of your plunge pool, definitely one of the nicest details of our property. We are glad our staff would recognize you as well, we will make an effort next time to have the correct pronunciation.

Thank you for aknowledging the hard work our staff put in order to kkeep our beach space clean and beautiful, we will certainly let them know about it, this will motivate them to keep the good work.

We definitely agree we are a pleasant place for everyone to come and enjoy. We definitely love kids and families around and that may be one of the reasons we are also a local favorite.

Thank you again for the time you spent on this review and we really hope you can come back soon.

Best,

Gustavo Martínez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2021

We went to several beach clubs for lunch during our stay because we wanted a taste of everything Tulum had to offer. Our first day we went to La Zebra and the following days we went to Ziggys, Papaya Playa, and Taboo. Our mistake was going to Zebra first because everything else after it just didn't live up lol. Ziggys was so-so but if we could turn back time and have just gone to La Zebra instead of Papaya Playa and Taboo we would've been much happier! The service was so much better at Zebra. Jose was so accommodating and not pushy at all! Whenever we needed him he was right on time. The food was delicious and reasonably priced. The drinks from the Mulberry Project (you get to make your own cocktails) and their speciality cocktail list was excellent! Taboos food and drinks were good too but we spent about $400 there instead of the $200 we spent at Zebra where we definitely had more to eat and drink and a relaxed ambience. If you want to feel catered to and really vacation well- go to La Zebra... twice. Also! The day bed at Zebra was the most comfortable out of the beach clubs we went to too! Ask for Jose!!

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank eunicefg89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo Martinez, General Manager at La Zebra Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2021

Dear Eunice,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we all really appreciate it. We feel honored to be taken in consideration as you described on your review. We are glad that you would choose us again on top of other good places.

Thank you as well for sharing your perspective as a guest so that future guests can have an idea of what to expect when visiting us.

We will let José know about your comments for sure.

Please do not hesitate to contact us upon your return, we will be glad to host you again.

Best,

Gustavo Martínez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews