We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Get-away!”
other traveller has booked this property
yes, this is our beach !
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
yes, this is our beach !
do u body surf ? three is a crowd- on our beach !
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
35 reviews
yes, this is our beach !
do u body surf ?
three is a crowd- on our beach !
Home sweet home
Whats for dinner?
table with Caribbean views
guacamole & chips anyone?
okay,where's my cold cerveza?
stairs to bedroom
room for yoga
Caribbean views from your bed !
sweet dreams
Siesta Time
on to rooftop terrace for sunset cocktails !
Roof top terrace views
Sunset ocean and lagoon views from rooftop
Home as viewed through our coconut trees
Honeymooner Alert
Gateway to Paradise
Ahhhhh, skinny dipping time
Turquoise Waters- silk white sand
Upstairs bath, hand- painted- Talavera- tile
downstairs bath
Bienvenidos!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Tulum, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
kjmccowen
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Get-away!”
Reviewed 8 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We just enjoyed 9 nights, 10 days at Casa Estrellita! Similar to other reviewers, we found Dan to be a great host and found the casa to be just what we hoped. Here are just a few things that may be helpful to future guests:

The parcel-
- The casa is on a large parcel that is completely fenced in, a couple fences (including the gate) are topped with barbwire. We felt completely safe. The driveway gate and the gate to the beach are secured with chains and padlocks - the chains are really rusty and always damp from the air- your hands will get dirty each time accessing.

- Even though it is fenced in, we thrilled to see that two dogs visited us each day. The are timid, but they were hungry. We looked forward to seeing them and feeding them while we were there. Hopefully future guests continue to look after them.

- It's not as private as it is made out to be. The parcel next door is open space and the locals use it as access to the beach. We had locals using the beach every day that we were there. Additionally, the Sian Kaan reserve has a security guard shack/station up the beach that is manned most of the day. Nice to have him there, but it added to the feeling that it wasn't private.

- This parcel is within the Sian Kaan Reserve. The first two days we drove through the entrance, we drove past without a problem. The third day we were flagged down, told to sign in their book and had to pay 30 pesos a piece. We were told by him that we had to pay everyday we were there. We asked Dan about it and he said it was for a good cause. We were stopped one additional time and paid, the rest of time we passed through. Just important to know to have the pesos on hand in case they won't let you through.

- The 'backyard' of the casa is lovely and we enjoyed having breakfast in the palapa that is within the fenced in area. The photos of the house show a palapa on the beach - that is no longer there.

The casa-
The pictures of the house are a bit older, I think. It looks like there aren't any comfy outdoor chairs in the photos; they do have some comfy chairs. There is a small couch as wells as a futon downstairs. There is a small queen (double?) bed and a small day bed upstairs along with a bench and a comfy arm chair. We sat mostly upstairs on the patio where they had two comfy net/wood chairs along with a hammock. Additionally, the outdoor palapa has four chaise lounges. Two plastic Adirondack chairs are on downstairs patio.

- The kitchen accommodations are VERY basic. There is one sauce pan and two skillets. They have only a few utensils. Plenty of dishes/glasses.

- The refrigerator was small, but we found it accommodated our needs perfectly. We popped over to the store every few days and we were never wanting for more room.

- The owners provided plenty of (large) bottled water we were grateful for.

We so enjoyed our stay and will look forward to returning. Thank you Dan & Vera!

Cheers!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2015
It was a pleasure meeting you guys.
Thank you for the extra food for the neighbor's doggies, they LUV it, it's their favorite flavor !
They want you to come back soon, and we also would love to see you all again.
You are welcome any time.
Mi casa es su casa.
Vera & Dan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontanaDe...
Montana
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quiet Retreat”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Two weeks was not enough at this spacious abode with a never ending beach. Uncrowded, no, almost deserted, and that's what we were looking for. Situated inside the Sian Kaan reserve, we were thrilled with our own private beach where we saw very few other people, and the ones we did were looking for the same solitude. We felt very safe and had no problems with the few people we saw. On Sunday afternoon for about 4 hrs, there was a family of locals that gathered several hundreds yards south, but we barely noticed them. There are some security guards to the north that were friendly and gave us a sense of security that no one would want to bother anybody in the area.
The rental was clean and well kept, the grounds were in great shape. The only visitor was Oscar and his family, but they were fun to watch. I walked the beach daily and saw very few people, and some days none for over a mile in each direction, except for an occasional security guard. It was sunny the entire time we were there with the exception of one rain shower that lasted about 5 minutes. The daily breeze off the water cooled the evenings so that A/C was not needed and we didn't even need a fan every day. Restaurants are nearby and plenty of them. We never had a bad meal, although some are a little expensive. You just have to check around. A bicycle would work, but we chose to rent a car.
I left some cold cerveza on ice for Daniel, and hope he has a cold one waiting for me when we return. We went there to relax, get away from the stress, and to get a great tan. Dan can attest to the tans, and we were very satisfied with the rest.
The beach was great, no rocks, slight incline into the water, chest deep when you are 50 yrds in the water.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ability to act like two teenagers when you are over 60
Liked least: Bumpy road, but it was only a mile long. Government problem, not the properties.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2014
Thank you for choosing our humble/ gorgeous beach and thank you for the beer ! You will find an ice cold six pack of Mexican beer waiting for you in the fridge, next time you come down to this part of the Caribbean- just tell us when- and which brand...
Dan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Popeye13
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The most perfect place to completely shut out the world and truly relax..... True, it is a little way from the main part of the beach area where the restaurants etc. are based, but still within walking distance. True it is "rustic" as a previous person put it, and bare of perhaps the finer things in life. True, there is the fact that you are in a nature reserve which at the entrance you will be asked to pay to enter, but this is a small price to pay...and I mean small

All that said, you have almost the entire stretch of beach to yourselves, if (un) lucky we saw 2 people each day as they walked past, sometime no-one at all !!! Dan met us on arrival, and then popped in a couple of times during our 2 week stay, we are familiar with the area so he literally left us to it, which was brilliant.

We had breakfast from the back of a car each morning that drove past honking his horn, which was lovely but also incredibly well priced!! Although we sauntered down to Cafe Banana a couple of times for breakfast too. The best margarita's we think are still at La Zebra, although not the cheapest.

ADD to this we made friends with a beautiful little dog that came to visit us most days, we called him Zorrito "little fox" (see picture) he was such a friendly boy, (we already rescued a Mexican dog in 2010, so could not do it again, although we would have loved too....) SO we have left a box of food for others to enjoy his company, please be nice to him as he has a good heart and will keep an eye on you during your stay :)

So... overall this place is just wonderful, I dont really think that there are many places in the world where you can be completely alone but this is one of them. We would love to return if we can save up enough money to do it all again!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2014
Thank you,
It is a real pleasure meeting people who love Nature and gorgeous beaches like ours!
Zorrito the puppy says hola (he is getting chubby).
Please come back any time you want.
Cheers
Dan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Apr 2014
Evelyn and Darrell,
You will always be welcome back home here !
See you next year.
Dan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TravelHou...
Utah
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Best beach location imaginable”
Reviewed 20 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

If you enjoy big, all inclusive resorts with endless buffets, pushing through crowds of loud partiers just to get a beer at the bar, beach chairs lined up side by side on the sand or pool deck, spending your time with other peoples' noisy, poorly behaved, over indulged children, then Casa Estrellita is definitely not for you. If however you prefer to spend your days relaxing, swimming, strolling what is perhaps one of the last stretches of open, undeveloped, pristine beaches in North America, then you should definitely consider renting Casa Estrellita for a week. This cute, comfortable little house located just 15 minutes drive south of Tulum Pueblo provides you with everything you need for a private Mexican beach get away. the house could conceivably accommodate 4 guests, but is much more comfortable with just two. The small but adequately outfitted kitchen has just about everything you need for self catering, and the supermarkets in Tulum offer just about anything you would need to sustain yourself while on vacation. The beach and Caribbean are just a few steps way down the sandy path behind the house. During our stay there were several days when there was no one else in sight anywhere up or down the beach. No beach vendors, no volleyball players, no noisy wedding parties-nothing, nada, nadie-just pure beauty of the sand, the birds the sea, the breeze, the sun. I cannot think of anything better. There are some minor inconveniences that are associated with this "off the grid" location. The electricity is all solar generated and the water is supplied by tanker truck and stored in the house's cistern. So both are in limited supply and need to be conserved. It is helpful to have your own flashlight or head lamp and some bug repellent is also a good idea. The cell phone service and WiFi are pretty much non existent in this area. There is no airconditioning, but the night time breezes provide plenty of night time cooling even during the hottest times of the year. The roof top deck is perfect for sunrise, sunset viewing as well as star gazing. I am sure we will want to return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the beach
Liked least: queen size bed. I think a king size would be a big improvement.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing