We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4 414)
Filter reviews
4 414 results
Traveller rating
2 883
1 017
312
116
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2 883
1 017
312
116
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslos muralestime sharethomas moorelap poolstaco partydive balamprime rib nightall inclusive packageall inclusive guestsfull kitchenwelcome partyshrimp tacosall inclusive planpool barroom servicefree shuttleorder off the menu
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 4 414 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Our stay was from June 21, 2018 thru June 25, 2018.

Arriving Thursday June 21, we made two claims to get pest control out to our room due to ants. Both times, no one came to fix this issue. It was until the next morning when I adviced the house keeper of the problem and she told the appropriate personnel. We requested dinner reservation at Los Murales. They gave us two options, dinner reservation times or told us we could walk in past those times for dinner. A group of 4 of us walked in to a mostly empty restaurant at 9:15pm and were quickly rejected and turned down for seating because "they stop seating at 9pm". We complained to the front desk, spoke with Israel and told him our concerns about the seating policy since the restaurant closed at 10pm. Israel assured us that they should have seated us and that he would get back to us regarding this situation. He never did get back to us during our stay regarding this incident.

We attempted again to set dinner reservations for either Los Murales or hibachi the following day June 22, again with no luck nor any word from Israel to help us with this matter. We complained again for the lack of follow up and the dinner situation considering the little amount of time we had for our stay at Royal Haciendas. At this time Israel told us we were "the only ones complaining". He didn't seem to care about our concerns or complaints. We were very upset that this was happening all over again for the second time around. We received a call from the hibachi manager who managed to squeeze us in for the last hibachi dinner of the night, which was at 9:30pm. That same night we were expecting a live band performance as stated in their daily activities brochure, and again we were disappointed that no live band was present at the Rotunda Lobby bar.

We attempted to schedule snorkeling and kayaking for June 23. When I called to reserve, I was only able to reserve kayak. They said they had cancelled snorkeling and no longer performed that activity. The room information stated otherwise and were extremely disappointed that we were mislead. When Saturday morning came, June 23, the group showed to kayak only to be turned down, again, and kayak had been cancelled for the day. They should have given us a courtesy call to inform us of the cancellation since a lot of our afternoon was planned around this activity. The game room was also closed on Saturday not allowing the minors in the room to access this option. Our room information stated the game room was open Monday-Saturday from 10am-5pm which was not the case on Saturday at 11am when we showed up.

We managed to get a reservation for Los Murales on Saturday June 23 at 6pm. We were there about 1.5-2 hours and during that time, there were about 3-4 tables used. We saw people being turned away, just like we had been, even when most of the restaurant was empty that evening.

On Sunday June 24, 5 of our group went to La Palapa for Brazilian night at 8 pm for buffet dinner. They were seated, got their first plate, and by 8:30pm the restaurant had ran our of meats for their theme night dinner buffet. The group once more, left disappointed in the lack of "all-inclusivity" from this resort. Food was extremely limited and were not given any notice of this.

At check out, we were charged an additional $40 MX pesos a day for "beach clean up". We had not been informed whatsoever of this additional charge which at the end only added to our disappointment.

We expected more from this "all-inclusive resort" and it fell extremely short. A lot of our preferred alcoholic beverages had a surcharge that we were not aware of, customer service fell short of standard, Israel's demeanor showed disrespectfulness to guests and employees. We will not be staying at this or any other Royal Resorts in the future.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jacob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra R, Online Community Care Agent at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear Jacob S,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay at The Royal Haciendas.

We truly appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize that your stay didn't meet your expectations. I've contacted you offline so that we can learn more about your stay experience to make this right.

We hope we have the chance to connect with you offline and welcome you back once more to enjoy a vacation that's up to the high standards we've held for our Royal Resorts owners and guests for 40 years.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We feel the Royal Haciendas is our home away from home. We have been members for 5 years and always look forward to coming back to our villa. We love that everything you need is on-site. We love the Los Morales restaurant. We enjoy being able to order groceries, so we are just able to walk in and unpack and enjoy our vacation!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Monica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra R, Online Community Care Agent at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear Monica P

Thanks so much for writing a review about The Royal Haciendas.

We always strive to provide the highest satisfaction levels to our guests and it's rewarding to learn we have been achieving this goal with you for five years.

We thank you for your continued loyalty and we can't wait to have you back on your next visit to your home away from home.

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

It’s peaceful, away from the hustle and bustle of city life. In my daughter’s words, the building of the resort was very well thought out and planned. There is a good amount of nature in the surrounding. Service was excellent too.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the jacuzzi in the balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Puspa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristobal G, Online Community Care Coordinator at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear Puspa:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We always strive to provide the highest satisfaction levels to our guests and it's rewarding to learn we achieved this goal with you. Our resorts are built with relaxation in mind and we always aim to offer a relaxed experience taking care of your good rest without noise or any annoyance. We're glad to learn you enjoyed this relaxation.

We appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

We've been fans since purchasing pre-construction. Two years ago, our experience was much less than anticipated. After the resort went all-inclusive, quality and service were terrible in 2016. Additionally, we had drunk troublemakers that staff didn't seem quite sure how to handle.

We went elsewhere in 2017, but wanted to try again this year.

The staff were very attentive. Even though we weren't all-inclusive, they made sure they checked in with us. The food quality at the pool bar has improved greatly--and it wasn't bad before.

The buffet is adequate, but the food used to be better so I don't know if there's a different chef or if that's due to the all-inclusive pricing. Room service was quick and the food was well-prepared and tasty.

We had wanted to go to Los Murales for our anniversary as the food there was always good and--again with the exception of 2017--the service great. Unfortunately they were booked but our concierge suggested a great restaurant in Playa del Carmen (Alux) that exceeded our every expectation.

About half of the folks we usually hang out with didn't make the trip this year for various reasons, but we had a great time hanging out at the pool, catching up with old friends and meeting new friends. I did note that the vast majority of folks we met (whether they went all-inclusive or not) were members and there was no unruly behavior that I witnessed this year.

We're trying to plan a January trip next year as well as returning in our usual June timeframe, so clearly we're back in the Royal Haciendas fan club.

The property is immaculate. The service is just amazing. The staff are polite, friendly, and very helpful across the board. There's not a whole lot to do after the sun goes down and the pool bars have closed. There are various events in the Rotunda bar and in the room next to it, but they're hit-and-miss. Better to take the shuttle or a taxi into town and wander.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank IanArnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra R, Online Community Care Agent at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear IanArnold,

Thanks so much for writing a review about The Royal Haciendas.

We love hearing from our members and their vacation experiences. We always strive to provide the highest satisfaction levels to our guests and it's rewarding to learn we achieved this goal with you during your recent visit.

We are constantly working to improve the experience of our members and guests, and truly appreciate your feedback.

We appreciate your continued loyalty and we can't wait to have you back on your next visit to your home away from home.

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

So many fun things to do! Dancing, Ping Pong, Painting, BlackJack, Casino Night, Movies, Volleyball, Yoga, ...the list goes on. A special thanks to Jaz, Johny, Manu (he's got some amazing dance moves), Alfredo, Leo, Chema, Luis, Yeczury, and Enrique for their outstanding and professional service. This was our first time at the Royal Haciendas and Playa del Carmen and we loved it. We've stayed previously at the Royal Sands and the Royal Caribbean in Cancun - same wonderful quality and experience. It was a great week with our family! We enjoyed visiting downtown Playa del Carmen and a snorkeling trip to Puerto Morelos.

Room Tip: We didn't have an ocean front room but could still see the ocean.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GGG3535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra R, Online Community Care Agent at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear GGG3535,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It's great that you were able to take advantage of so many of the activities available around the resort and that our staff left such a good impression on you with their outstanding service.

We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews