We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fabulous February get away”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Casa Vela

Casa Vela - view from the beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa Vela - view from the beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Casa Vela - view from the beach
private deck on the last bedroom
our house Casa Vela on the white sand beach
Outdoor dining under our palapa
All four bedrooms directly on beach and face the ocean
Master bedroom suite
outdoor deck at pool
private pool for our guests
his and hers guest bathrooms adjacent to palapa/dining area
professional kitchen
looking out from kitchen toward dining palapa and ocean
twin loft beds above suite #1 - popular with kids - accessible by ladder
shower and vanity in bathroom of suite #1
toilet in suite #1
rear walkway, facing west toward our forest
lounge area with chaises and hammocks under house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Playa del Carmen, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RRacz
Corning, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fabulous February get away”
Reviewed 16 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A very special compound suitable for a couple, several friends or a family retreat. Beautiful sunrise and wide vistas with perfect morning seas for a kayak and afternoon sailing.
Staff is attentive and efficient. Great chef too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2017
We're thrilled that you had a great time with us and look forward to hosting you again. We're also glad the chef was able to meet your dietary preferences for lots of seafood and vegetarian meals.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabrielle...
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Casa Vela is fabulous!”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Casa Vela is an incredible home situated on on the beach between Playa Del Carmen and Cancun, next to the Tres Rios ecopark.

The staff is amazing, as is the food, location and accommodations!

We had an incredible time. There is much to do for kids of all ages and great proximity to Playa del Carmen.

I highly recommend it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful staff, food and accommodations.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Dear Gabrielle - we are pleased you had a great time at our home and hope you will have a chance to come back!

Bruce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan L
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful setting in a great location!”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Casa Vela is a beautiful, Palapa-style home in a quiet location that is perfect for a large family or a couple of families seeking a relaxing getaway with many available activity options.

Casa Vela the second-most northern vacation option on the Playa Del Carmen coast, adjacent to the large, northern-most Hacienda Tres Rios resort, the last developed area until reaching the beautiful Maroma beaches a few kilometers further north on the way to Cancun. Located on the beach in a large nature preserve, the elevated villa is perfect for two families travelling with children: there are 4 spacious, separated bedrooms on the upper level, including a large master bedroom in the middle adjacent to another large bedroom with king bed and loft, both with beautiful ocean views, plus two more bedrooms with 2 double beds each ... all rooms are air conditioned and accessible by walking outside on the walkways on the front or back of the villa. Also on the upper level is the large, open-air dining and entertainment area with vaulted ceiling, featuring a large wooden dining table, two smaller dining/gaming tables, and 3 spacious lounging couches around a large coffee table overlooking the beach and ocean. The beauty and craftmanship of the wood structure is elegant and impressive throughout, the showers and bathroom fixtures are first class.

Underneath the main level is an open-air recreation area right on the sand, with a bar table and 5 bar swings, 2 hanging fishnet hammocks, 1 large comfortable wooden hammock, a large lounge sofa, a ping pong table, enclosed shower area, plunge pool, and open-air shower next to the plunge pool. There are also 4 sun loungers next to the plunge pool, as well as 6 beach loungers and thatched umbrellas/tables on the beach down by the water outside of the property fence line. Additionally, 6 paddleboards and 5 sea kayaks are stored here for guest use.

Our favorite activity was paddling north around the Tres Rios pier and parking the boards/kayaks on the beach and refreshing ourselves in the cold current of the river flowing out to sea, letting it carry us out to the shallow sand bars and warmer turquoise ocean waters. We also enjoyed paddling up the 'second' river flowing in to the north end of the Tres Rios bay to a clear and cold cenote, where we lashed our boards/kayaks together, tied them to a tree, and swam and snorkeled in the cenote. You can also walk south down the beach a ways for jet ski rental or a boat that will take you on a snorkel tour to Maroma reef and a stop on the stunning Maroma beach. We took the kids down to the beach just after nightfall to explore for crabs with a flashlight, spent an evening in Playa Del Carmen, and visited Akumal and Xcaret Park.

The staff on-site were great, including a chef, chef's assistant, housekeeper and "bell hop", who does everything from security to driving guests/luggage on the golf cart through the preserve to the vehicle pick-up spot to assisting with paddleboards/kayaks to carrying the cooler of water/beer down the beach to the boat for the snorkeling excursion. He can also help you connect with the property concierge (for booking excursions or shuttle vans) if your cell phone service is intermittent. If you have a vegan or two in your group, I recommend requesting 'extra' groceries or a shopping trip to town early in your trip to DAC or Bio Natural Organicos to get specifics they like.

Also, remember this is the Mayan Riviera, so on calm breezeless evenings the mosquitos can be pesky, so bring your bug spray or wear light pants with socks to protect your ankles. Enjoying wine or margaritas around the coffee table overlooking the sea with darkening skies after dinner is a perfect way to end each day.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location, ambiance.
Liked least: No accessible reef right off the beach for snorkeling enthusiasts.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved Casa Vela!”
Reviewed 6 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Casa Vela is a gem on an otherwise crowded coastline! It is beautifully constructed of georgious woods throughout. Every detail is efficiently and creatively executed. Our family of five thoroughly enjoyed this incredible home which could easily house twice the crowd or more. With separate bedrooms accessed from outside along either the front or back of the building, everyone could easily come and go from their private suites to join in the main room, an outdoor living room palapa style. We had a lot of wind and rain during our stay but could happily sit outside under cover reading or socializing. The staff was very professional and friendly and the meals were excellent.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libby B
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Grad Student Girls Trip”
Reviewed 8 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I am so glad that we decided to spend our spring break at Casa Vela!!! There were six of us girls, and we stayed at the house for five days and four nights, and were sad when our trip had to come to an end. The pictures of the property do not lie, it is an amazing house and an unbeatable location! Everything you need is right there on the property, and the only time we left the house was to snorkel out on the reef. We really enjoyed the water, and took the paddle boards and kayaks out each morning! It was nice to walk along the water in the afternoons, and then leave the resorts down the beach to come back to our own, quiet space at the house. The staff were incredibly nice and helpful (even though we did not speak any spanish), and made our trip even that much more relaxing. We will definitely be back!!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2016
We are thrilled you had a nice stay. Always great to hear about our staff and we'll pass along the kudos. Please come back to see us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing