We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Playa del Carmen
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Panama Jack Resort(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Divina by Aldea Thai(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmen Quinta Resort(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Unic Design Hotel(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (17 427)
Filter reviews
17 427 results
Traveller rating
13 768
2 373
722
320
244
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13 768
2 373
722
320
244
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaria mariechef's platecoffee houseromance conciergespice restaurantjose garciadanny boyfrozen grapeshour loungeocean viewturn down servicetequila barour honeymoonlobby barpresidential suitebeach butleril pescatore
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 17 427 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hydro spa and the service we received from David was excellent. My wife and I did a couples massage and it was great. The facility was clean, the service professional and we left feeling quite invigorated. Well done!

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor with a partial ocean view. It was excellent and very quite. Couldn't hear the neighbors at all.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Rene H,

On behalf of THE ROYAL Playa del Carmen staff and myself we want to take this opportunity to thank you for such a positive review. We truly appreciate your wonderful comment, it is really nice, and make us feel very proud of our beautiful property!!
It will be an honor to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent service and food. Hotel and rooms are extremely clean, housekeeping did a great job with changing towels and sheets daily. Hotel staff is very friendly and willing to do anything to make your stay the best it can be, especially our butler Juan Jose. Pools and beach were great as well, was always able to find a lounge chair near the pool. We upgraded our room for a personal cabana on the beach and this included a personal butler as well, but there was many cabanas to choose from if its not included in your package. Would highly recommend this all inclusive hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vanamburgha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear vanamburgha,

We really appreciate this review. We are very happy to hear that it was a great experience for you. Thank you for choosing us to spend your vacation.
Thank you again for your great review and we hope that you come back and enjoy once again of all our services!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great hotel. All inclusive really does mean that - including room service and a late buffet. Excellent day & evening entertainment, although the programme may change will no notice and does finished at 10:30pm. Some good restuarants. Note: You can also eat in the sister hotel opposite (they don’t tell you this - the Brazilian restaurant is excellent). Great location, on the beach, but 2 min walk to the shops / bars. Nice pools. Mainly American clientele- avoid spring break!

Room Tip: Room 323 is noisy from generators
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Karen123503838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Karen123503838,

On behalf of THE ROYAL Playa del Carmen staff and myself we want to take this opportunity to thank you from the bottom of our hearts for such a positive review. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was very nice - nothing special. The food was EXCELLENT - the buffet restaurant and the a la carte restaurants included. Best meal was the ASIANA and Marie Maria a close second. Service was very good at the pool, but when asked for help with a seamstress, the promised service did not come through. Rooms were comfortable and large for the price.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Penny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Penny G,

We truly appreciate your fabulous review. We feel really pleased that you enjoyed your vacation.
We would like to apologize with you for the lack of follow up on the service that you requested,
Thank you again and it will be our honor to have you back with us in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The food was great and the staff even better. Too many people to name but I really want to stress how helpful the staff actually was. The towel animals on the bed made my wife quite excited every time she saw them. They kept our mini fridge full and even gave me extra when I asked. The nightly entertainment was just excellent! I have heard people complain of smells but we were ON THE COAST. Water kind of does that. Loved this resort! The excursion were over the top awesome!

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Whammons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Whammons,

On behalf of all staff of THE ROYAL Playa del Carmen we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for reviewing our resort. We are most pleased to see this great comment.
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews