We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 307)
Filter reviews
1 307 results
Traveller rating
613
417
127
70
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
613
417
127
70
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fishermen's village tres rios activities director member services timeshare owners walk into town through rci all inclusive plan gated community second home the wait staff water aerobics full kitchen mayan ruins bedroom suite third floor cab ride
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 1 307 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This small intimate resort becomes like a home away from home. We love the friendly atmosphere and the welcoming attitudes of the staff. From Marcial's enthusiastic, 'welcome home' to Anselmo's interesting stories, we're always in good hands, whether we need a taxi, a restaurant recommendation, airport information, or a towel. Our housekeeping staff does an incredible job of keeping our rooms sand and salt free. The fact that you are always steps away from the sea, with swimming, kayaking, sailing so close makes a vacation here very special. Cooling off in the infinity pool just before bedtime ends a perfect day. The daily yoga classes by two knowledgeable instructors made reading by the beach for the rest of the day guilt free.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marg o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetFishermen, General Manager at Sunset Fishermen Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear guest:

Thank you for choosing Sunset Fishermen for your vacation. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our Mexican ospitality and took part in our daily activities program. Come back soon and remember your away from home is always here waiting for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

I stayed at Fisherman’s last week with my family. The entire week stay was great but what stood out to me was the restaurant wait staff during nightly dinners. Gabriel Romero is a baller - does it all and does it all very well, very personable and helpful. Eduerdo is amazing, Raul is amazing, Lalo is amazing, and also the sweet little Maria is amazing. They made us Mexican coffee and it was phenomenal. This fine young wait staff is a great asset to this resort! Keep doing what you are doing!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jacob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetFishermen, General Manager at Sunset Fishermen Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear guest:

Thank you for your kind comments, especially about our staff. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our Mexican hospitality. Please visit us again soon, it would be our pleasure to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

I must say this year we so enjoyed Fishermen’s. The staff were very friendly, the recent renovations are beautiful. The food we had was exceptional. You can’t beat the location of this resort. Beautiful sandy beach in a gated area. Loved our week there.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank 780sunseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetFishermen, General Manager at Sunset Fishermen Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear guest:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Sunset Fishermen. We are glad to read you had a wonderful vacation. It was our pleasure to be your host and we hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

The resort is smaller and quieter than most resorts; it is located a pleasant (1 km.) walk (either by beach or through a residential neighborhood) south of the Fifth Avenue Pedestrian Walk and the Cozumel Ferry Dock. The beach and pool are beautiful. There is a lot of "competition" among guests for lounge chairs on the beach and by the pool. Seaweed is sometimes a problem, although the resort works hard to rake and bury it.

Absalon Diaz (lifeguard) is a gem, who goes out of his way to be helpful with taking out equipment, e.g., HobeyCat and kayaks.

Room tip: Accessibility to many rooms is only by stairs.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BWBala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetFishermen, General Manager at Sunset Fishermen Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear guest:

Thank you for your comments, specially about Bsalon whom we are proud of.  It was our pleasure to be your host and we hope to see you back soon. 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

We stayed at Fisherman's last week and were pleasantly surprised. We had seen some less than flattering reviews so managed our expectations accordingly, but honestly didn't have any issues that we read about. Our two bedroom unit was clean and had ample hot water along with all the amenities as described. I think the biggest advantage to staying here are the many employees who go out of their way to ensure your stay is exceptional. Marcial warmly greeted us upon arrival and always had a smile. Angy and Victor were awesome with the pool activities, as well as the cooking classes. Anselmo was a pure delight and had a special gift of remembering our room number from day one. The biggest highlight of our stay was the sailing trip given by the lifegaurd, Absalon. He is a wonderfully patient gentleman and went out of his way to ensure we had a delightful adventure on the water. Thank you Absalon! This resort area has a beautiful beach area maintained nicely by the staff and the pool area is spacious and uniquely designed so all chairs are a great seat. We ate several breakfasts at the restaurant and it was quite good! They had decent lunches too at an affordable price. We usually walked the mile into town to try some of the many options that 5th Avenue and beyond offer for dinner. We even used the resort bikes to travel over to Playacar Phase II and that was fun. I felt completely safe and enjoyed our interaction with the many guests we encountered. This was my first visit to Playa and when I come back, I won't think of staying anywhere else!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingtracy2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetFishermen, General Manager at Sunset Fishermen Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear guest:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Sunset Fishermen and considered it a great little spot. We are glad to read you were able to enjoy our Mexican hospitality. We are already looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews