We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15 430)
Filter reviews
15 430 results
Traveller rating
7 158
4 831
1 904
867
670
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7 158
4 831
1 904
867
670
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal clubman made beachfun clubpacos tacosel pescadorsonora grillle buffetfirst clubtime shareseafood restaurantunderground riverbeach buffetswim up barfun poolmain buffeteco parkbeach area
Filter
Updating list...
407 - 412 of 15 430 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

This is our second time in Occidental Xcaret and this is definitely the place to stay. This time we met the employee of the year Eva Amaral, our first club receptionist, who was there to help us with everything we needed. We thank her for her positive energy that we didn't find in any resort since we started traveling.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OccidentalatXcaret, Social Media and Customer Care Coordinator at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback on your recent experience at Occidental at Xcaret Destination. Our goal is to serve all our guests with the highest level of service and satisfaction. We are always concerned about guests’ wellbeing and strive to make their holiday an unforgettable experience.

It gives me a great pride to know that our staffs are commended for their kindness and professionalism.

We appreciated your sincere and constructive comments. Please know that one of our main goals is to work on a daily basis to constantly improve our services and guest satisfaction.

It was a pleasure to host your holiday and hopefully you will provide us an opportunity to host your holiday once again.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Occidental was an excellent choice for a family.

Food: Yummy and lots of it. Advise: go to the restaurants between 6-7 and you will have faster service. The later you go the longer you wait.

Accommodations: Really nice rooms and lots of beautiful water to play in. We have a family of 5 and finding a place to accommodate our needs was tricky. We need 2 rooms which is no big deal except other hotels couldn't guarantee they would be near each other. We wanted to be right next to our children and Occidental had adjoining rooms which was perfect. The grounds were well kept, staff was cleaning up constantly and the pool was beautiful. We were located by the activity pool which plays loud music during the day but inside your room you couldn't hear a thing. Nice and quiet.
Advise: The pools close early between 7 and 8 which is a bummer but the beach is always open.

Staff: The staff was so happy and helpful. Each time you pass a member of the staff they great you with a smile and an hola. I had read reviews about being pestered to buy a time share but we didn't have any pushy salesman anywhere. People would offer spa services, diving etc. but if you weren't interested they smiled and walked away. We were never approached about a time share.
Advise: Each building has a concierge at the entrance. Get to know them and ask questions if you have them. We were in building 18 and Alma and Antonella were the BEST! They were so friendly and kind. We felt like family every time we entered the building. Loved them!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Annette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OccidentalatXcaret, Social Media and Customer Care Coordinator at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your Occidental at Xcaret Destination experience. We have taken all your feedback on board and this will be used constructively to perfect our future guests’ experience.

We appreciated your sincere and constructive comments. Please know that one of our main goals is to work on a daily basis to constantly improve our services and guest satisfaction. I have noted all your comments and suggestions which I will constructively use to improve our services and facilities.

It was a pleasure to host your holiday and hopefully you will provide us an opportunity to host your holiday once again.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

This is a very nice hotel. The grounds are kept very clean and you can see the crew hard at work to keep it that way. The buffets are good for buffets. The restaurants are very good. The pools are very nice. There is a nice beach area. We took are 1 year old and she had a blast. Staff was very helpful with her. The only issue was getting highchair but they would bring one just takes time. We will be returning soon I hope

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Isutexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OccidentalatXcaret, Social Media and Customer Care Coordinator at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your Occidental at Xcaret Destination experience. We have taken all your feedback on board and this will be used constructively to perfect our future guests’ experience.

We appreciated your sincere and constructive comments. Please know that one of our main goals is to work on a daily basis to constantly improve our services and guest satisfaction. I have noted all your comments and suggestions which I will constructively use to improve our services and facilities.

It was a pleasure to host your holiday and hopefully you will provide us an opportunity to host your holiday once again.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

We visited in June, which is the beginning of the stormy season as well as "seaweed season" (June-July). Lucked out with great weather, and the staff kept the lagoon clean of seaweed (Tulum and the rest of the area, not so lucky). Buildings are spaced out between beautiful forest (with monkeys), meaning quieter area for good sleep but a lot of walking. We were in Bldg#18 near the activity pool and I was worried about noise at night, but pools officially close around 7:00, (people still swim till around 8:00), then it quiets down. Activity shifts to the area near the lobby where most restaurants are, as well as a nightly show and happening street vendor area. This is one of very few places in the area that allow for more than 4 guests! We are a family of 5 and got adjoining rooms for a great price (pay a little more and the Royal Suite family room is huge!). Beds are very comfortable and we slept great (I normally don't in hotels).

Lagoon is man made with lots of sand brought in which is good, because the rest of the area is rocky. Though the shoreline is small, they've maximized it with multiple tiers of area with coconut trees and chairs so we could always find a seat with good view of the lagoon. Bar and "Beach Club" buffet are right there next to you at the water! It's shallow out to the buoys, maybe 4 feet at most. Perfect for beginning snorkelers and children. For more advanced people it gets more interesting past the buoys, however most days the water was too rough and the "red flag" was up meaning no swimming beyond them (no one will stop you, but I did get caught it a tough undertow once, so best to obey). Snorkeling at adjacent Xcaret is better, but still not great as you can't snorkel in the good area where they do their SNUBA and Sea Trek activities, and it's pretty crowded. For that world class snorkeling experience you'll want to plan an excursion trip with either Pro Dive Mexico (onsite at Occidental hotel) or Xcaret Park.

Pro Dive Mexico has some booths onsite where you can arrange SCUBA dives. The boat doesn't leave from the hotel, but their van will pick you up there and take you about 15 minutes drive to their shop/boat. I did 2 local dives with them in one day, leaving at 9:00am and getting back in time for dinner. Diving was phenomenal!

Biggest negatives of this place are: 1) Please put numbers on each side of the buildings, instead of just the front, so we can tell where we are when walking around the place, and 2) Stupid Pepsi exclusivity contract. US folks love Mexican Coca-Cola, but it is not to be had in this, and many other, hotels and parks in the area

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank carlatinchuuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OccidentalatXcaret, Social Media and Customer Care Coordinator at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback on your recent experience at Occidental at Xcaret Destination. Our goal is to serve all our guests with the highest level of service and satisfaction. We are always concerned about guests’ wellbeing and strive to make their holiday an unforgettable experience.

It gives me a great pride to know that our staffs are commended for their kindness and professionalism.

We appreciated your sincere and constructive comments. Please know that one of our main goals is to work on a daily basis to constantly improve our services and guest satisfaction.

It was a pleasure to host your holiday and hopefully you will provide us an opportunity to host your holiday once again.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

This hotel has the makings of a great resort if they would just get over the hump a little.

The most important thing to take away from this review is the staff is absolutely amazing. Every concierge, bartender, landscape guy desk clerk, everyone was amazing.

There are a number of other companies that do work on this resort that are less than desirable to deal with and can be pushy. There is a vacation club that will try and sales pitch you. Whether or not you choose to listen to the pitch is up to you. I was never bothered about anything when I was at the bars or beach or any other areas.

The beach was awesome. The waves were fun to play in the sand was super soft. It was really easy to get a drink and they area was always kept clean. The water is also really quite shallow which allows for the children to be able go out a decent distance.

The pools are nice. They could really use some repairs with the tiles but that is being a little picky. We were upgraded to the first club area and the pool chairs were comfortable and the staff kept up with drink service.

My least favorite part of the trip was the food. I totally understand having to play to so many peoples palates but some of the food was unpalatable. There were some ok options but nothing that ever blew any of us away. Hacienda (the Mexican restaurant) was awful. I would suggest staying far away. We had the oriental twice the first time was really quite good and the second was just terrible Pacos was pretty good and the buffets were just eh.

We did feel strongly enough about our positive experiences to become members of the vacation club so that should be some indication of how awesome this place can be.

We’re looking forward to our next trip. Last but not least. I’d love to give a huge shout out to Pedro who was our concierge...he went above and beyond every single chance he got...both my kids 9yrs old and 10yrs old said their favorite part of our week long vacation was meeting Pedro.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank coulterkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OccidentalatXcaret, Social Media and Customer Care Coordinator at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your Occidental at Xcaret Destination experience. We have taken all your feedback on board and this will be used constructively to perfect our future guests’ experience.

We appreciated your sincere and constructive comments. Please know that one of our main goals is to work on a daily basis to constantly improve our services and guest satisfaction. I have noted all your comments and suggestions which I will constructively use to improve our services and facilities.

It was a pleasure to host your holiday and hopefully you will provide us an opportunity to host your holiday once again.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews