We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7 093)
Filter reviews
7 093 results
Traveller rating
4 813
1 533
438
172
137
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
4 813
1 533
438
172
137
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la bodega don julian palm trees specialty restaurants pool bar courtyard view hour lounge gated community lobster plenty of chairs other resorts guacamole evening entertainment cab ride steak restaurant japanese restaurant beach area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 7 093 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2021 via mobile

The hotel itself is dated. The lobby was useless except for the checkin/checkout. The lobby bar even had the bottles removed from bar shelves overnight - what kind of lobby bar is that?
The food at the lobby restaurant wasn't always fresh - looked like it was reheated/premade, not many healthy choices. The seafood was very chewy. Salads with mayonnaise.... all food was at level of 3-star hotel, not higher.
No bathrobes in the room.
No doors/privacy in the room's bathrooms area. Rooms are too small, dated, oye toilet leaked every overnight.
Landscaping - plainly cut, no flowers or nice backgrounds for taking pics.
Entertainment - very limited. We had musician on stage every 2nd night. Kids club - horrible Riuland song.
The beach - wasn't cleaved off the seaweed till after 1pm, every day.
So many vendors on the beach - it's terrible. Vendors are annoying and invasive. Don't feel safe when on the beach.
But - great sand and ocean, just beautiful.
Very many locals are visiting/staying at the hotel. English-speaking we're only about 20% of visitors, the rest were Spanish, at the time if our stay there. The staff are great and very accommodating.

Nothing luxurious. Very basic experience.
Wish we went somewhere else.

Room tip: Swimming pools - someone threw up on 3 occasions during our week there - the pools will be closed. Mediocre food. No privacy in the room
Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank artfultrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Palace Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2021

Dear artfultrip,

Thank you for choosing Riu and for sharing your impressions.

As service is one of the key values of our company and we strongly believe that customer comes first, we are truly disappointed to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your recent experience with us.

We have of course passed your comments to the relevant department for further consideration, and we sincerely hope that despite the mentioned inconveniences you would still give us another opportunity to host you soon and convince you of our RIU service and quality.

Please receive our warmest regards,

Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2021

We spent 8 days in this hotel at the beginnin of July. The pool and daily entertainment was great! The staff was very caring and made our stay unforgrtable. Food was good as well, there are different restaurants that you can choose from to eat every night. We will come back!

Date of stay: July 2021
3  Thank rosagarciapat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 September 2021

My 7th time staying in different RIU hotels and this one was just as GREAT as all others.
The staff was very friendly and they went out of their way to make sure we were satisfied. We even requested 2 bottles of wine for the room and within 10 minutes they were brought-up. The food in the menu restaurants was excellent. These folks know how to treat their guests!

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
4  Thank Manny206
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 September 2021

The daily pool entertainment and nighttime entertainment was so fun! Beach area was nice with very little seaweed. I thought food options were good. Staff was awesome. No complaints. Would recommend to friends.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
3  Thank Vaycay0921
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 September 2021

We spent 9 days here at the beginning of September. Everything was great.

The staff is what truly makes this a fantastic place to vacation. All bar, food and entertainment people were so friendly and did their jobs well.

The ala cart restaurants rotate, so there is always a place to eat. We especially loved the buffet, steakhouse and the Mexican restaurant.

The seaweed also was very minimal during our stay, the beach is beautiful.

Our room was made up very early each day, which we liked too.

The covid testing was easier than the last time we were there. You now get results right away. Printed out for you to show at the airport.

We will most definitely return to this hotel.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
4  Thank Gecko911
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews