We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expensive”
Review of Delphinus Xcaret

Delphinus Xcaret
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Delphinus Xcaret is located inside Xcaret Eco Park; just 15 minutes from Playa del Carmen. If you are visiting this lovely park, enjoy the opportunity of swimming with dolphins the same day at the best place.The provision of space and care of every detail at Delphinus Xcaret has enabled us to develop innovative and high quality dolphin swim programs. Here, you will enjoy a swim with dolphins program that suits your spare time and taste, and your family will love it!Delphinus Xcaret, is awarded with the Guinness World Record for being the dolphinarium with more dolphins born in one facility along one year.Visit us and enjoy your Swim with Dolphins at Delphinus Xcaret selecting from 3 programs: Delphinus Interax, Delphinus Primax and Delphinus Dolphin Ride.
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Best thing there are swimming in the caves and conotes ( water filled lava tubes). A totally unique experience .

1  Thank Westy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alina H, Costumer services coordinator at Delphinus Xcaret, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear traveler:
We are glad that you had a good experience, however we told you our ignorance about the description you indicate, maybe you were referring to some other place, some other activity or another experience, we invite you to make your comment again in the place correct or, in case of having participated in a meeting with dolphins, to make your opinion about this activity.

Thank you very much, receive a warm greeting from us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"swimming with the dolphins"
in 52 reviews
"primax package"
in 6 reviews
"couples swim"
in 7 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 40 reviews
"dolphin experience"
in 22 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 29 reviews
"dolphin area"
in 6 reviews
"photos and videos"
in 9 reviews
"amazing animals"
in 6 reviews
"photo package"
in 14 reviews
"life jackets"
in 12 reviews
"xcaret"
in 126 reviews
"dvd"
in 43 reviews
"kiss"
in 31 reviews
"lockers"
in 49 reviews
"spectators"
in 10 reviews
"camera"
in 45 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 1 421 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2018

We booked a package online - one day xcaret, one day xplor with the photo package and dolphin swim. It was the basic dolphin swim and I figured we would have the option of upgrading onsite. Fortunately, they had a special we were able to upgrade to the full package with a big discount. We would have been really disappointed with the large group basic package. The full package was not that much more and we were thoroughly satisfied with the amount of time and interaction with the dolphins. I highly recommend the top package! The staff were great and the dolphins appeared to be treated well. The place had all of the certifications, so I hope that it was as eco-friendly as it was advertised to be.

Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

This experience from start to finish far exceeded our expectations. We purchased the private 45 minute one on one encounter for our family of 4 plus 15 minutes of snorkeling with the dolphins. (Our kids are 9 and 12) The staff was extremely knowledgeable and the interaction with the dolphins was very personal. Although the pictures are expensive you really have to look at the total experience. Maybe if you knew up front it wouldn’t be such a sticker shock at the end?? Either way we paid about $500 total and spent an hour with the dolphins, have 100 pictures, a personalized video and a picture book to remember this experience. It was a bucket list item that will not be forgotten any time soon.

3  Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

Just came back horrible experience again. Before i booked i asked them if the dolphins would pull my kids around and said yes. Well this is the second time they lied to me. They told me the last show that did that was at 345 my time was 415. This same thing happened to us 4 years ago. Xcaret is a beautiful place but i will not be doing this again

Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alina H, Costumer Service coordinator at Delphinus Xcaret, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Dear john

Thanks for writing and pointing out things that you did not like. Each swimming experience has a list of activities that are carried out, which are described in the brochures that are delivered to the entrance or in any module where they request information to carry out the activity. Unfortunately, you acquired the experience that did not include foot push or bar hop behaviors since these are behaviors that are performed at specific times. Regularly, when buying the ticket, the visitor is informed about the activities included and we do not know why you were not specifically explained, for which we apologize.

Again we appreciate the time it took to share your comments, at Delphinus we continue working to improve our service.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2018

Had a lovely day swimming with the dolphins. The timing was right, the staff were pleasant and the kids, aged 4-15 had a great experience, BUT it was ridiculous that they would not allow you to take your camera, basically forcing you to buy their pictures if you want any photos. The cost was OVER 400$ USD for the package. The pictures were great quality, but I would NEVER go back to this place and would not recommend it to anyone who does not want to spend so much money or who wants pictures. I am aware that "some of the money" goes to support the breeding program, but I am afraid it is prohibitive and I have been left with a very bitter feeling about the experience. Charge less for the pictures and more for the admission if you must and allow people to take their own pictures.

3  Thank sllawrence2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Delphinus Xcaret also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Delphinus Xcaret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing