We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11 186)
Filter reviews
11 186 results
Traveller rating
7 358
2 348
750
427
303
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7 358
2 348
750
427
303
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gran porto real il pescatore sushi bar maria's restaurant real resort ocean front sports and entertainment fishing boats sand bags junior suite standard room mayan coffee entertainment staff water aerobics fifth avenue kids club our waiter
Filter
Updating list...
1 756 - 1 761 of 11 186 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

This hotel was by far one of my favorite locations. It is right in the heart of playa del carmen and two seconds from 5th avenue.

The service, food and rooms were impeccable. I had absolutely no complaints about the resort except one this ... the beach. The eroding has caused large sand bags to be placed and you can barely get in the water. It's very unfortunate because the hotel itself is a 5star and an amazing experience. I over heard that management was planning on rebuilding the beach. Hopefully they do. Ask for a balcony pool view and you'll have an amazing view of the ocean as well.

As for food everything was delicious and al the a la cartes were delicious. My favorite was Italian :)

Wifi is free and all over the resort.

This hotel is a great hotel for those that like to go out and explore, not necessarily for beach bums

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Melly6359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente General at Panama Jack Resorts Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

Dear Melly6359,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review about your recent stay in Gran Porto Resort with all of us.
We are truly happy to read that you fully enjoyed our great services, beautiful facilities and of course, our privileged location here in Playa del Carmen!
Thank you for sharing your observations with us and we truly hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future to continue exceeding your expectations.

Best regards,
Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Gran Porto Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2016

Before we left for Cancun, I had emailed the hotel regarding room preference. I wasn't looking for a free upgrade, as we had already upgraded our room to a family oceanfront upon booking. I'm just a pretty neurotic traveller, and we generally spend some downtime in our room/on the balcony throughout the day with the kids so I like to have a nice space to relax. Guadalupe Mora responded to my emails with professionalism, warmth and patience. Lovely person to handle these requests.

When we got to the resort (after a 2.5 hr customs lineup - ugh!) we were greeted with a cold beverage and a personal concierge to check us in. NO LINE UP!! we headed up to our room, and our bags arrived a few minutes later. Our room (376) was gorgeous. It overlooked the pool, ocean, and sunsets every evening. The housekeeping was amazing. Seriously, the floors shone every day when we came back in the afternoon. Turndown service included chocolates and flowers one evening. beautiful.

The food at this resort is really, really good. breakfast at Albatros buffet usually consisted of fried eggs and toast, pancakes, bacon for the kids and husband and fresh fruit and a fresh made sope for me (wish i had the name of the lovely lady at the omelette/mexican station in the morning). our waiters were Eduardo and Manuel and they were fantastic. Yonder and Isaura at the front were so pleasant as well. we never waited more than 3 minutes for a table. The Brazilian steakhouse is fantastic. try the cinnamon and sugar coated pineapple roasted on a spit. the kids loved it! Maria's was also great, and we were treated to a mexican coffee on our last evening...pretty special. the italian restaurant is supposedly the highlight of the dining options, we had supper there one night and while it was a pretty atmosphere, i found the food better at the other a la cartes.

Pablo at the pool bar works his butt off. he is constantly circling the pool, pleasant, smiling, and so friendly. his brother, Jesus, at Tradewinds on the beach was also great.

A mention also to Jocelyn, Georgina, Bernardo and Carmina at the kid's club. our kids aren't really into spending time at kids club while on holiday...but the time they did spend there they really enjoyed. everyone remembered their names and they went out of their way to make sure the kids were comfortable and having fun!

As many other reviewers have said, the beach has been pretty badly battered in the past few years. I find it very irritating when people blame this on the resort. Honestly, if you can't figure out that this erosion is due to weather and natural conditions, I don't know what to say. and the sandbags ARE their solution, for now. it was very easy to just step in between them and wade out as far as you would like and float in the waves. no water shoes needed for us.

Location...awesome! shopping on 5th avenue is fun and you don't feel like you're trapped in a resort.

We can't wait to come back!!

Room tip: oceanfront rooms are the best. we might consider a one bedroom next time with the kids....
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank sara l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente General at Panama Jack Resorts Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

Dear slaurie75,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions about your recent stay with us.
We are overjoyed to read how amazing your past holiday with us was and we are more than proud to read that our staff went above and beyond to provide you with a unique vacation experience.
Thank you for mentioning the attentiveness of our staff members, it will be our pleasure to share your kind comments with the members of our staff who you kindly mentioned.
We are already looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future to continue exceeding your expectations.

Sincerely,
Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Gran Porto Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2016

Excellent all-inclusive. Absolutely the best service! Very high quality food choices, with a very nice breakfast buffet. Great drinks menu. Conveniently located to 5th Avenue shopping. On-site tour guides: Carlos with Expedia/Local Expert was indispensable.

Room tip: Even the least expensive room (2 doubles) was very nice and large enough for 2 comfortably.
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PBandJ2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente General at Panama Jack Resorts Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

Dear PBandJ2003,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review about your recent stay in Gran Porto Resort with all of us.
We are truly happy to read that your past vacactions with us were amazing and that you fully enjoyed everything that Gran Porto Resort truly has to offer.
We are already looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future to continue exceeding your expectations.

Sincerely,
Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Gran Porto Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2016

A beautiful hotel situated right off of 5th avenue, you feel at home from the moment you step off the bus. Amazing staff.. with a special shout out to the entertainment staff Cesar and Rodrigo, who did a great job at keeping everyone entertained from morning until well into the evening with activities, games, and themed nights. Great for everyone.
The resort was pristine, Pool was great and the food was amazing. No complaints!

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente General at Panama Jack Resorts Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2016

Dear Tara M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review about your recent stay in Gran Porto Resort with all of us.
We are truly happy to read that your past holiday with us was great and we are very proud to know that our team provided you with a unique vacation experience.
Please rest assured that we will share your kind comments with Cesar and Rodrigo.
We are already looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future to continue exceeding your expectations.

Sincerely,
Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Gran Porto Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

The only thing more charming than the resort itself was the staff. The activity coordinators Cesar & Rodrigo left a lasting impression! They made everyday by the pool entertaining with tons of fun activities!

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Haley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente General at Panama Jack Resorts Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

Dear Haley M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review about your recent stay in Gran Porto Resort with all of us and for letting us know that your holiday was incredible!
Thank you for mentioning the attentiveness of our staff members. Please rest assured that we will share your kind comments with Cesar and Rodrigo.
We are already looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future to continue exceeding your expectations.

Sincerely,
Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Gran Porto Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews