We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mahekal Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Pueblito Luxury Condohotel(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Rosa Mirador Hotel(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
    Real Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Koox Hotel Banana(Playa del Carmen)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    Hotel Riviera del Sol(Playa del Carmen)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    La Divina by Aldea Thai(Playa del Carmen)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
      View Hotel
      Great 4.5/5
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Wifi
      • Free Parking
      Reviews (3 107)
      Filter reviews
      3 107 results
      Traveller rating
      2 039
      726
      191
      85
      66
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      2 039
      726
      191
      85
      66
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviewsshangri la caribehalf boardfuego restaurantpalapa stylegarden viewlas olasbreakfast and dinnerlas palapaspalapa roofocean frontping ponginfinity poolfifth avenuepalm treesthe wait staffcevichebug spray
      FilterAll languages
      Updating list...
      25 - 30 of 3 107 reviews
      A TripAdvisor Member
      12
      Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

      Stayed January for a second time. First time stayed at las palapas 2015, fabulous time. Now....The resort stunk like sewage, i dont want to hear its cenotes, it is not, it is sewage. It is constantly a bait and switch with the rooms—book an ocean view you get a pool View. They “lost” my reservation, im sure because it was booked on a chase ultimate rewards account (same thing happened in 2015). Next- Constantly trading of employees to who will help book your next room. Beware where they place you ask to see a map of the resort before escorted out. If you complain and ruin your arrival enough, it will sort out.
      One night, we Left out a of service exit which was the old las palapas entry. A guard asked me for my identificarion as proof of stay, cut to my drivers license being stolen by what looked like a resort staff member, dressed in mahekal security attire, who said they were making a copy to allow me to leave, and they never returned with my ID. They vanished.
      I immediately complained at the front desk and they wanted nothing to do with it. The desk staff started yelling at me , calling me a liar, then saying THEY would call cops. I called the embassy which was closed and went back to my room. security then turned up at my door an hour later asking questions if my ID was ever returned. Manager “eric” called me at the room and asked if the security guard said my license would be returned, which i reiterated that the man disappeared, then Eric said my license will be returned by 9 am the next day..imagine no call. I stopped at the desk at 5pm the following day and Eric actually made us walk him through where the event happened. Eric, the,manager, trying to doubt our story. He was the most unprofessional manager i have ever met and made us feel as if the hotel was aware of this big issue and could not help me try to get my drivers license returned. Eric discounted every moment of the previous night. It made us beyond uncomfortable, paranoid and unsafe the rest of our trip . Is there some collusion or complicity with the staff or is this behavior just out of their control? Not what we want to think of when in Mexico with the recent news and travel advisories. I was told my complaint was never filed with the front desk and i intended to discuss this with the embassy. Anyone with children i would be wary, what if your child runs away , conveniently there are no cameras. The Accommodations and food are great , pools are nice and otherwise the staff is friendly. If you don’t care about safety this is the place for you.

      Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
      2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 2 weeks ago

      We love Mahekal. This was our second spring break trip to the resort and it was everything we wanted it to be. Quaint, relaxing, and peaceful. The staff is extremely friendly and remembered us from day to day. We particularly enjoyed Angel who seemed to be waiting for us to arrive each morning for breakfast!

      • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
        • Location
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank tstreetdc
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

      The Mahekal Beach Resort is a unique resort place that is positioned in a great area. With it’s own private white sand beach, numerous pools, and prime location to the market of Playa del Carmen, this is an excellent spot to tackle all that this area has to offer. The individual huts are both comfortable and quaint, and the location allows the adventurous types to explore Tulum, the local cenotes and is a few hours from Chichen Itza. My kids enjoyed the hammocks and activities at the resort, and there was plenty to eat at the restaurants on the property, or walking a block or two off site. The venue has excellent service and plenty of security throughout the property.

      Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
      Thank Kevin B
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 2 weeks ago

      -The rooms were updated (you can tell they have existed for awhile but are totally updated...see pics) and clean
      -The style of the resort was so pretty
      -The service was great (it had been 13 years since I have been to mexico and I was surprised by the quick responsiveness of the staff...it was comparable to other cities more well known for high service)
      -Food was great...they had enough variation that we didn't have to repeat although the ceviche and guac were worth repeating
      -The ceramic place for kids was actually great for pre-teens/teens
      -We went to 3 of the 4 pools and each had their pros/cons but many options..especially along with ocean front
      -I was afraid of noise but since we were close to the beach the breeze helped and it didn't end up being a problem for us... you can hear the place next door on either side so if you like complete silence this place may be too close to the city for you
      -With that said this place was lower key than other resorts we have been to...and great for families and relaxing at beach/pool because of that
      -The beach seemed high but there was plenty of sand between our room and the beach...but some huts are not usable with the water as high as it is and you couldn't miss that as you walked down the beach...

      Room Tip: -Beach front is pretty -Middle area may be the most loud (but low key resort next to louder places) -back area away from beach seemed quiet
      • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Service
      Thank julied7777
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

      Stayed here for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon trip to Mexico. This was supposed to be a relaxing end to the trip but instead it turned out to be a horrible experience from start to finish.

      Our check in was quick but when we got to our first room, it was pretty dark and dingy. We could hear thumping music from the nearby club as well as construction work from the hotel behind. We were sitting on the balcony deciding if we should ask to change rooms and then a staff member wearing a face mask started to fumigate the garden in front of us. We started coughing and ran inside our room. Reported this to reception, the manager just said "the insecticide we use is organic so it's not going to cause you any harm" without any apology. We subsequently asked to move rooms.

      Room number 2 was a much smaller and directly in front of the pool and restaurant and we could still hear the club music. So we asked to change rooms again.

      Room 3 was better privacy wise but had the loudest noise from the club. We were so tired by this stage that we couldn't be bothered to speak to reception again. We stayed in this room until our last night even though the music was very loud non stop from noon until 1 am. Mahekal will say that they post the schedule of festivals on their website but we booked our room months in advance plus having read previous reviews, people have complained about the noise different times throughout the year.

      On our last night, we kept waking up as there were large ants falling from the palapa ceiling to our bed. These are not small ants, some of them are red ants. For the fourth time, we had to move at midnight to another room which was very musty and didn't smell good.

      The beach area is small and is not very relaxing. There are a lot of people not staying at the resort who are directly in front of the loungers hanging around all day.

      The food at breakfast was fine with a good selection however the buffets at Cocina were average. The service at the restaurants were good, most especially Abner at breakfast who came across as genuine. We booked the half board option and at the end of every "free included" meal, you get a bill to sign with a list of the suggested tip according to how much the "free meal" is for example we had one free dinner, we ordered a mango juice and a beer which was 200 pesos and the minimum suggested tip was 190 pesos based on the value of the meal. This made us feel uncomfortable and we just tipped the waiter directly with cash (with the amount that we thought was appropriate).

      Most loungers around the pool are reserved by people by 9 am. On our way to breakfast, all of the loungers already have towels by people who leave it there to reserve while they're having breakfast.

      The check out experience was just as dreadful which was handled by a lady called Erick who clearly couldn't be bothered. We greeted her with a smile and didn't even mention anything about our experience. As expected, we were given an incorrect bill. When I questioned this, Erick was sarcastic mentioning that we had "alcohol" but we were disputing the extra 200 pesos which was listed as a tip even though we never wrote this amount down. She didn't even ask how our stay was or if everything was ok(if you're working within the hospitality business the least you can do is smile as people leave or wish them a good journey home). To sum it all up, this was the worst hotel experience we've ever had and we've travelled to numerous destinations across the world. If you like to pay a lot of money to listen to loud bass thumping music all day and all night, then you might like this place!!

      Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
      2  Thank kittley21
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Karen S, Manager at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

      Dear kittley21-

      Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our resort. We understand you had to move a few times to different ocean front rooms and you were ultimately not satisfied. We are sorry the beach clubs "Easter Music event" disturbed you. We hope you will write a similar review to the town of Playa del Carmen about the noise as Mahekal Beach Resort and the surrounding resorts are not affiliated with these clubs.

      We are making signs to stop future guests from "reserving" the loungers. If future guests do this, we will remove their belongings and towels if they are not on the chairs within a reasonable time.

      Finally we are confused about your comments with the check out experience. "Erick" is actually a male and HE is the front desk manager. If you had the name wrong and it was indeed another female, then we will let Erick know that your check out experience was not pleasing.

      Again, please accept our sincere apologies for the trouble you experienced at Mahekal Beach Resort.

      Karen Smtih
      Sales Department

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews