We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Playacar Palace
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Baal Nah Kah(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Koox All 4 U Hotel & Hostel(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Hotel Hacienda del Caribe(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Popol Vuh(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Olive Hotel & Boutique(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Hotel Mimi del Mar(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel All Riviera(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
171
22
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
22
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdiamond conciergeluna loungepool conciergedavid rubiomayan restaurantitalian restaurantlobby barferry to cozumelchef's dinnerchef juanvacation plannersentertainment staffmo mo no hanaawe spakiddie sectionluggage handlerspool tile
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 198 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed at this property twice a year since 2006 and are looking very forward to our upcoming trip in a few weeks. I was going back through some pictures of previous trips and wanted to write a quick review of the hotel.

As many of the previous posters have stated the thing that makes this hotel so special and feel like home away from home is the staff. We have been very fortunate in our lives to be able to travel, but no place draws us back like the Playacar Palace - and it is because of the staff. Over the years there have been many amazing staff that we have gotten to know and spend time with outside of the resort.

In the buffet in the morning, Dionicio, Porfirio and Israel have always provided such exceptional service with great big smiles. Dionicio pours me a perfect cafe con leche every time! Talking with those guys are a great way to start our mornings on vacation.

We usually spend most of our time on the beach. So happy to see it is coming back from the webcam mounted on the hotel. Looks great and can't wait to be back on those comfy beds! We have always been so spoiled by the service the wait staff have provided. Perla and Silvia (and others!) take such great care of us keeping us hydrated and bringing the great fish tacos to us on the beach. We have really enjoyed the conversations that we have had over the years.

Late afternoons, we usually head to the pool and the swim up bar where bartenders Carmen, Benito and Francisco keep us entertained with their lively antics and perfect cuba libres.

Always before we go to dinner, we will make a pit stop at the lobby bar. A Don Julio and a slice of orange is ready and waiting for us nicely chilled by super bartender Francisco. He makes a killer margarita too.

We usually eat either at MoMoNoHaNa or La Terreza (now Boccelli's) and recently the specialty restaurant Lahna. My husband loves the Italian restaurant and Pedro always provides exemplary service. Mario at the Hibachi table is very entertaining, has to be hard to keep up that energy doing that presentation over and over -- but he is always on point. The food has kept improving year after year and that credit goes to the great team behind the scenes. We always love to chat with Chef Oscar and Sous Chef Juandavid. These guys are just exceptional.

At 209 rooms with the majority of them being ocean front - it is the perfect size for us. The proximity to 5th avenue is perfect for our wanderings after dinner to work off all of the great food we had for dinner.

The AWE Spa is everything everyone says it is. It is beautiful, peaceful, relaxing.

When you hear someone say, "It is my pleasure", it truly feels genuine here. GM David Rubio should be very happy with the exceptional team he has.

Can't wait to get back and see the updates!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_RivieraZone, Gerente at Playacar Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Laura S,

First and foremost thank you for your loyalty, there is nothing more rewarding than reading your amazing thorough review describing the many experiences encountered on site.We are ecstatic to have accommodated you once more at your home away from home.
We seek to create awe-inspired experiences for you, our valued guests, hence we are pleased to learn that this was achieved through several of our facilities and especially the service. Be assured that the team members to have positively impacted your vacation will be most definitely commended for their exceptional services extended, definitely as you mentioned, I am extremely happy to be part of this amazing team that I call "Family"

We all excitedly awaits for your return.

Cordially,

David Rubio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a great family vacation for four at the Playacar Palace. Check in was very smooth and the individuals at the guest services area were always very helpful. We used our resort credits for tours that we would have otherwise paid for - yes, you have to pay 16% for tax, but the overall cost savings of not paying for the entire tour was beneficial. Ms Gavendano was very helpful in explaining the tours and opportunities and how we could get the most out of our credits. The spa experience was amazing. When we weren't out and about, the pool staff was extremely accommodating. We had amazing service from Josefina most days. We were also in Herdin's area one morning and he was spot on making sure we had everything we needed. I enjoyed the close set-up of the hotel that allowed the kids to be in the pool while we still had a view of and good enjoy the sounds of the ocean - it was very windy the week we were there so crashing waves were common. The morning towel on the chair game is not absent at this resort, but we didn't have a problem getting a couple of chairs within a reasonable time when we weren't at the pool right away in the morning. If there was a way to clear out chairs when they have not been used within the hour, that would be an added bonus. The resort was very accommodating in upgrading our room without asking in order for each of our boys to have a cot instead of sharing a bed - which also gave us an ocean view room. Food was good. If I had to pick a couple of drawbacks - the evening shows were mediocre (but Ivonne was a SUPER hostess in the lobby area in the evening) and I missed the towel animals that usually come with room cleaning. Both very minor in an overall great experience. The one disappointment I would say is that the gentleman in the hotel gift shop was quite dishonest about what we would need for the Mayan Adventure in order to try to make a sale - we did not need water shoes - NO sunscreen was the rule - and we did not need repellant for the Mayan Snorkeling / Cenotes adventures - perhaps some of the others did, but our tour which included three different snorkeling stops did not.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyFriendW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_RivieraZone, Gerente at Playacar Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear LadyFriendW,

We are appreciative of your mentions made of our relaxing Spa, consistent services, and fantastic staff.
At Playacar Palace, our goal is to extend first class service to our guests, hence be assured that the team members to have positively impacted your vacation will be most definitely commended for their exceptional services extended. Regarding the nightly shows our team duly notes your concerns and will assiduously work towards finding resolutions in order to improve.
Thank you for having made us your getaway accommodation for this family vacation.

We would love the opportunity to host you for future spectacular vacations.

Cordially,

David Rubio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I can not speak highly enough about this hotel. The quality of the food and beverage was outstanding but what made it for us were the staff, Everyone was polite caring and constantly smiling. We were travelling with 2 young children and everyone went out of their way to make sure we were looked after. Reina and Josifina by the pool constantly topping us up with drinks throughout the day. The 2 wonderful girls in the kids club made our children so welcome. The restaurant staff in the buffet went the extra mile to make sure we were comfortable. I honestly can not speak highly enough about the superb service we received. We will definitely be back. Thank you for making our holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veronicac c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_RivieraZone, Gerente at Playacar Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear veronicac c,

It is certainly a pleasure to know the service was outstanding and amazing during your visit to Playacar Palace. Thank you so much for your kind words, we are thrilled to be made aware that such an amazing time was attained with us as a result of the fabulous service extended by our team for you and your little ones.Thank you so much for making us part of your family vacations.

We all look forward to your next visit.

Cordially,

David Rubio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As a Palace member, our family knows what to expect when we go to different Palace resorts (big vs small). We tend to migrate to smaller resorts as we feel you get better service and Playacar Palace did not disappoint. As this was our first visit here, I wanted to give an overview.

Pros: the staff really goes above and beyond to ensure that you are well taken care of. Our Diamond concierge, Paola, and her co-worker Constanza made sure that our trip ran smoothly. They checked in with us at least once a day.

The luggage was well taken care of by Manuel, Carlin, Marco, Leo, and Wendy with security.

The bar manager, Laura, and sommelier, Carlos, helped put together several tastings that my wife and I both very much enjoyed.

The pool concierge, Ubel, made sure we stayed in the shade as much as we wanted and was definitely missed on his day off! Matija, Fania, and Cain did a great job keeping all of us entertained at the pool and emceeing the nightly shows. Sylvia, Josephina, Reyna, and Perla all did a great job keeping us fed and with drinks in hand at the pool.

The nightly shows were all good with the "sand art" show being our favorite. Paulina and Yvonne did a great job serving us every night.

Overall, the restaurants were very good, with the Italian a la carte and Teppanyaki being our favorites for dinner. The breakfast buffet was good with our family visiting Rita at the crepe station everyday. Dionicio makes the best lattes (according to our kids!). Carmen served us some great Mayan cuisine during our family's private dinner. Porfirio, Erick, and Yessenia all did nice jobs taking care of us in the restaurants, as well.

For a resort this size the spa was surprisingly nice. Rivai was attentive and professional. Nancy did a nice job with my service. I wrote reviews for all others on the electronic review form after each service.


Cons: If you have teenagers that are not easily amused then you may want to consider other Palace resorts. Since our kids don't have to have arcades, discos, etc to have fun we knew this would not be an issue for us.

The pool is small, but for the size of the resort did not ever feel overly crowded.

The beach is non-existent. There is a ton of seaweed that washes ashore daily and they really do a lot of work to get it removed, but from pictures I have seen from several years ago the beach has really eroded away.

The grounds are pretty small and there are only 3 elevators. 1 elevator did not work the entire week and another only worked about half of the week. We did mention this.

Our family is looking forward to our next trip here!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_RivieraZone, Gerente at Playacar Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear David K,

Thank you very much for choosing Playacar Palace as a destination on your recent trip to México. It was a pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome you to stay with us and pamper you on your well-deserved vacation. We are truly happy to come to know by your fantastic comments, that you had an excellent vacation experience in our resort, enjoying fully from the wonderful facilities such as the Spa, delicious food, and above all, with the excellent and attentive service given by our fabulous staff, which make you feel at home away from home.

Once again, thank you for choosing Playacar Palace. We will be delighted to have you back for many more holidays with us.

Sincerely,


D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The all-inclusive resort was very nice. The property is relatively small and intimate but still plenty of dining options and plenty of things to do. There are 7-8 restaurants with many good choices. Overall, food was very good and fairly high quality (better than many of the all-inclusive places I've been). Alcohol choices were about average (wine choices maybe slightly lower).

The hotel is also very close to 5th Ave (where there's lots of shopping etc. and has a lot of local flavor (if you can duck and dodge some of the shop owners that are #pushy)

I really enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaldEagleWings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_RivieraZone, Gerente at Playacar Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear BaldEagleWings,

Thank you so much for providing your candid feedback about your overall experience with the Tripadvisor community and for letting us host you during your recent trip to Playa del Carmen. We are truly delighted to read that you had a wonderful experience at our resort and enjoy everything that we have to offer, like the delicious food and beautiful surroundings.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

David Rubio
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews